Skip to main content

Farmers State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 9295Assets $39M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Farmers State Bank advertises 0.75% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.37 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #244 of 679 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #182.

Estimate your earnings·What Farmers State Bank actually pays

Key facts

Farmers State Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.75% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.37 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.55% · 12 months · 12 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 12 months CD
Against the national average1.84 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.01% · Money Market Account · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Account
Against the national average1.38 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Farmers State Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate9295 · Lake View, IA
Websitewww.fsblv.com
Branches1 branch in IA
AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Rates

Farmers State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.01% APY
Money Market Account
Needs at least $250,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.75% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.90% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.01% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.75% APY
Passbook Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.55% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

3.03% APY
IRA Savings
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 59 savings accounts from 57 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Farmers State Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months3.53%$1,000182 Day CD
12 months3.55%$1,00012 Month CD
24 months3.03%$1,00024 Month CD
36 months3.03%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months3.03%$1,00048 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Farmers State Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Passbook Savings0.75% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$282.10(2.0%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,282.10

Effective APY
0.75%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Farmers State Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.60%
Q1 2026 ·
0.75% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Farmers State Bank paid a higher average rate than 14% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$33M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
18.5%
Q1 2026
$39M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Farmers State Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Passbook Savings0.75%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Account2.01%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings3.03%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
182 Day CD6 months3.53%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.55%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.03%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.03%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.03%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Footprint1 branch in IA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Farmers State Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.75% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Passbook Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
12 months CD
Up 0.26 percentage points from 7 days ago.
Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 2, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.75% APY Farmers State Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,075 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,747 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Farmers State Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Farmers State Bank?

HeadquartersLake View, IA
Founded1914
Scale$39M assets · $33M deposits, $27M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 9295

Financial detail is in What Farmers State Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Farmers State Bank

Is Farmers State Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Farmers State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 9295, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Farmers State Bank?

Farmers State Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Farmers State Bank have branches?

Yes. Farmers State Bank operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Farmers State Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Farmers State Bank3.03%1.60%not stated1 branch in IA
Fairview State Banking Company0.75%1.49%not stated1 branch in IL
Farmers and Merchants Union Bank2.47%2.33%$5013 branches in WI
Ashton State Bank2.37%2.13%not stated1 branch in IA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Farmers State Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates