Skip to main content

Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 8405Assets $2.3B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg advertises up to 0.75% APY on its Money Management Account. The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.05%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.05% overall, about $5 in a year, which is 0.33 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

What Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg actually pays

Key facts

Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.75% · Money Management Account · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$500 · Money Management Account
Against the national average0.37 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY2.35% · 60 months · 60-Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 60 months CD
Against the national average0.99 percentage points above the 1.36% FDIC 60-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.75% · Money Management Account · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$500 · Money Management Account
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg bank facts
FDIC certificate8405 · Chambersburg, PA
Websitefmtrust.bank
Branches25 branches in MD, PA
AvailabilityAvailable in MD, PA
Rates

Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.75% APY
Money Management Account
Needs at least $250,000
$500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.35% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
2.35% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

0.05% APY
IRA Savings Account
$250 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 138 money market accounts from 123 banks in the Banksparency money market index, the median advertised rate is 1.00%, and one account in ten advertises 3.23% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
24 months1.90%$5,00024-Month CD
36 months2.10%$1,00036-Month CD
60 months2.35%$1,00060-Month CD

What Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.79%
Q1 2026 ·
Up to0.75% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.05%.

In Q1 2026, Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg paid a higher average rate than 22% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$1.9B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
17.6%
Q1 2026
$2.3B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Money Management Account0.75%$500$0NoneA monthly fee of $12.00 will be imposed every statement cycle if the minimum daily ledger balance in the account falls below $1,500.00 during the statement cycle.not statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings Account0.05%$250$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
24-Month CD24 months1.90%$5,000not statednot stated
36-Month CD36 months2.10%$1,000not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months2.35%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MD, PA
Footprint25 branches in MD, PA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg behaves over time

Money Management Account
The same as 7 days ago.
60 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 2, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.75% APY Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg advertises on Money Management Account grows to $10,075 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,747 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg?

HeadquartersChambersburg, PA
Founded1906
Scale$2.3B assets · $1.9B deposits, $1.6B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 8405

Financial detail is in What Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg

Is Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg FDIC insured?

Yes. Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg is FDIC insured under certificate 8405, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg?

Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg requires a minimum deposit of $500 to open its Money Management Account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.75% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.05%. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.

Does Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg have branches?

Yes. Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg operates 25 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates