Skip to main content

Union Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 18190Assets $3.3B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 26, 2026

Union Savings Bank advertises up to 0.75% APY on its Access Savings account. The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $750,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.03%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.03% overall, about $3 in a year, which is 0.34 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #726 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #2119.

Estimate your earnings·What Union Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Union Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.75% · Access Savings · needs at least $750,000
Minimum to open$300 · Access Savings
Against the national average0.38 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY0.60% · 60 months · 60 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 60 months CD
Against the national average0.78 percentage points below the 1.38% FDIC 60-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.51% · Boost Money Market Account · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$5,000 · Boost Money Market Account
Against the national average0.88 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Union Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate18190 · Danbury, CT
Websitewww.unionsavings.com
Branches26 branches in CT
AvailabilityAvailable in CT
Rates

Union Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to5.12% APY
GoalGetter Savings (with GoalGetter Checking)
Youth Savings
On balances up to $2,000 · 1.01% above
$5 minimum

How the rate applies

5.12% APY on balances $0 - $2,000
1.01% APY on balances $2,000.01+
Blended APY of 1.01% - 5.12% on balances over $2,000.
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
Up to1.51% APY
Boost Money Market Account
Needs at least $250,000
$5,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $50,000 - $249,999.99
1.51% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
Up to0.75% APY
Access Savings
Needs at least $750,000
$300 minimum

How the rate applies

0.03% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $250,000 - $749,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $750,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
0.15% APY
Young Savers
Youth Savings
Needs at least $5,000
$5 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $4,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $5,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
Up to0.07% APY
Personal Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.03% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
0.05% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.07% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
Up to0.05% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $25,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.03% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.05% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
0.03% APY
Essential Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
0.03% APY
Club Savings Account
Club Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
0.03% APY
GoalGetter Savings (no GoalGetter Checking)
Youth Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
0.60% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026

IRA

0.60% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Union Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months0.10%$1,00091 Day CD
6 months0.25%$1,0006 Month CD
9 months0.30%$1,0009 Month CD
12 months0.35%$1,00012 Month CD
18 months0.45%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months0.50%$1,00024 Month CD
36 months0.50%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months0.55%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months0.60%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
3 months0.10%$1,00091 Day Retirement CD
6 months0.20%$1,0006 Month Retirement CD
9 months0.17%$1,0009 Month Retirement CD
12 months0.25%$1,00012 Month Retirement CD
18 months0.35%$1,00018 Month Retirement CD
24 months0.40%$1,00024 Month Retirement CD
36 months0.45%$1,00036 Month Retirement CD
48 months0.55%$1,00048 Month Retirement CD
60 months0.60%$1,00060 Month Retirement CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Union Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 5.12% ($0 - $2,000), 1.01% ($2,000.01+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$404.60(2.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,404.60

Effective APY
1.07%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Union Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.68%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to0.75% APY
As observed Sep 26, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $750,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.03%.

In Q2 2026, Union Savings Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 21% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.90%
Q2 2026 ·
$2.5B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
27.9%
Q2 2026
$3.3B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Union Savings Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
GoalGetter Savings (with GoalGetter Checking)5.12%$5$0$2,000not statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedTiered
Access Savings0.75%$300$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Young Savers0.15%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Health Savings Account0.05%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Essential Savings0.03%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Club Savings Account0.03%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
GoalGetter Savings (no GoalGetter Checking)0.03%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Boost Money Market Account1.51%$5,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Personal Money Market0.07%$500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months0.10%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months0.25%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months0.30%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months0.35%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months0.45%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months0.50%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months0.50%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months0.55%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months0.60%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
91 Day Retirement CD3 months0.10%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month Retirement CD6 months0.20%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month Retirement CD9 months0.17%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month Retirement CD12 months0.25%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month Retirement CD18 months0.35%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month Retirement CD24 months0.40%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month Retirement CD36 months0.45%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month Retirement CD48 months0.55%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month Retirement CD60 months0.60%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CT
Footprint26 branches in CT
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Union Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Access Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.75% (observed through Sep 26, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Access Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
60 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Boost Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 0.75% APY Union Savings Bank advertises on Access Savings grows to $10,075 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,744 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Union Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Union Savings Bank?

HeadquartersDanbury, CT
Founded1866
Scale$3.3B assets · $2.5B deposits, $1.8B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 18190
Charter stateConnecticut · one of 27 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size410th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 65% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Union Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Union Savings Bank

Is Union Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Union Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 18190, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Union Savings Bank?

Union Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $300 to open its Access Savings account, as observed on Sep 26, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.75% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $750,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.03%. Rates are as observed on Sep 26, 2026.

Does Union Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Union Savings Bank operates 26 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Union Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Union Savings Bank0.75%0.68%$30026 branches in CT
Commercial Bank0.75%0.72%$258 branches in KS
Fairview State Banking Company0.75%not statednot stated1 branch in IL
Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg0.75%1.99%$50025 branches in MD, PA

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Union Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Connecticut, nearest to Union Savings Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Connecticut.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates