Skip to main content

The First National Bank of Groton savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 7085Assets $204M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

The First National Bank of Groton advertises 0.75% APY on its First Choice Savings account. The 0.75% applies to balances up to $20,000. A larger balance earns 0.10% on the whole amount.

A checking account at the bank is required. Direct deposit is required. That is 0.37 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #382 of 1133 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #284. The advertised rate has not changed in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What The First National Bank of Groton actually pays

Key facts

The First National Bank of Groton at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.75% · First Choice Savings · up to $20,000 only · checking account required · requires direct deposit
Minimum to open$0 · First Choice Savings
Against the national average0.37 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.25% · 4 months · 4 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$2,500 · 4 months CD
Against the national average2.11 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.30% · Money Market Investment Account · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Money Market Investment Account
Against the national average0.33 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The First National Bank of Groton bank facts
FDIC certificate7085 · Groton, NY
Websitewww.grotonbank.com
Branches2 branches in NY
AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Rates

The First National Bank of Groton savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

0.75% APY
First Choice Savings
On balances up to $20,000 · 0.10% above
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.75% APY on balances $0 - $20,000
Applies to the portion of the balance up to $20,000, and only in a month the linked First Choice Interest or First Choice Cash Back checking qualifications are met.
0.10% APY on balances $20,000+
Marginal rate. It applies only to the portion of the balance above $20,000, and only in a month the linked First Choice Interest or First Choice Cash Back checking qualifications are met. The blended annual percentage yield of the whole account falls as the balance grows above that threshold.
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.30% APY
Money Market Investment Account
Needs at least $250,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $50,000 - $249,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
Club Savings
Club Savings
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
Youth Savings
Youth Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
Basic Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.25% APY
Highest CD · 4 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

0.55% APY
Variable IRA
$250 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The First National Bank of Groton CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
1 months0.35%$1,0001 Month CD
3 months0.45%$1,0003 Month CD
4 months3.25%$2,5004 Month CD Special
6 months0.55%$1,0006 Month CD
7 months3.00%$2,5007 Month CD Special
12 months0.50%$500Starter CD (1 year)
12 months0.70%$10,0001 Year CD - Renewal Once
12 months0.65%$1,00012 Month CD
13 months2.75%$2,50013 Month CD Special
18 months0.70%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months0.80%$1,00024 Month CD
30 months0.90%$1,00030 Month CD
36 months1.00%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months1.06%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months1.11%$1,00060 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The First National Bank of Groton

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.75% ($0 - $20,000), 0.10% ($20,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$282.10(2.0%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,282.10

Effective APY
0.75%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The First National Bank of Groton pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.25%
Q2 2026 ·
0.75% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.75% applies to balances up to $20,000. A larger balance earns 0.10% on the whole amount.

In Q2 2026, The First National Bank of Groton paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 6% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

0.97%
Q2 2026 ·
$175M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
30.8%
Q2 2026
$204M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The First National Bank of Groton, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
First Choice Savings0.75%$0$0$20,000not statedDirect deposit · Checking accountTiered
Club Savings0.05%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Youth Savings0.05%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Basic Savings0.05%$0$0None$3 quarterly service charge, avoided by a $50 daily balancenot statedOne rate
Money Market Investment Account0.30%$1,000$1,000None$5 monthly service charge, avoided by a $1,000 daily balancenot statedTiered
IRA
Variable IRA0.55%$250$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
1 Month CD1 months0.35%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Month CD3 months0.45%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Month CD Special4 months3.25%$2,500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months0.55%$1,000not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months3.00%$2,500not statednot stated
Starter CD (1 year)12 months0.50%$500not statednot stated
1 Year CD - Renewal Once12 months0.70%$10,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months0.65%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD Special13 months2.75%$2,500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months0.70%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months0.80%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months0.90%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.00%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months1.06%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months1.11%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Footprint2 branches in NY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The First National Bank of Groton behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised First Choice Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.75% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

The First National Bank of Groton has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

First Choice Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
4 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Investment Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 25, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.75% APY The First National Bank of Groton advertises on First Choice Savings grows to $10,075 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,747 does today. The top rate requires direct deposit. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The First National Bank of Groton CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The First National Bank of Groton?

HeadquartersGroton, NY
Founded1865
Scale$204M assets · $175M deposits, $121M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 7085

Financial detail is in What The First National Bank of Groton pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The First National Bank of Groton

Is The First National Bank of Groton FDIC insured?

Yes. The First National Bank of Groton is FDIC insured under certificate 7085, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The First National Bank of Groton?

The First National Bank of Groton requires no minimum deposit to open its First Choice Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.75% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.75% applies to balances up to $20,000. A larger balance earns 0.10% on the whole amount. A checking account at the bank is required. Direct deposit is required.

Does The First National Bank of Groton have branches?

Yes. The First National Bank of Groton operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The First National Bank of Groton against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The First National Bank of Groton0.75%0.25%$02 branches in NY
Fairview State Banking Company0.75%not statednot stated1 branch in IL
Farmers and Merchants Union Bank2.47%1.03%$5013 branches in WI
Farmers State Bank3.03%1.51%not stated1 branch in IA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The First National Bank of Groton's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates