Skip to main content

Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 21928Assets $362M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 12, 2026

Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. advertises 0.75% APY on its Statement Savings account. The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $5,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.65%.

That is 0.37 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #340 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #252.

Estimate your earnings·What Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. actually pays

Key facts

Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.75% · Statement Savings · needs at least $5,000
Minimum to open$0 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.37 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.02% · 9 months · 9 Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 9 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.21% · Money Market Checking · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Checking
Against the national average0.58 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. bank facts
FDIC certificate21928 · Bismarck, ND
Websitewww.kirkwoodbank.com
Branches4 branches in ND
AvailabilityAvailable in ND
Rates

Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.21% APY
Money Market Checking
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.85% APY on balances $0.01 - $2,499.99
0.95% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
1.11% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.21% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.75% APY
Statement Savings
Needs at least $5,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.65% APY on balances $0.01 - $4,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $5,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
4.02% APY
Highest CD · 9 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

IRA

3.51% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.34%$50091 Day CD
6 months3.28%$500182 Day CD
9 months4.02%$5009 Month CD
12 months3.45%$50012 Month CD
18 months3.31%$2,50018 Month CD
30 months3.00%$2,50030 Month CD
36 months3.00%$2,50036 Month CD
48 months3.00%$2,50048 Month CD
60 months3.00%$2,50060 Month CD
IRA CDs
18 months3.51%$1,00018 Month IRA CD
30 months3.00%$1,00030 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co.

All calculations are based on APY.

Statement Savings0.65% - 0.75% APY
$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.65% ($0.01 - $4,999.99), 0.75% ($5,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$277.40(1.9%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,277.40

Effective APY
0.74%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.33%
Q1 2026 ·
0.75% APY
As observed Sep 12, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $5,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.65%.

In Q1 2026, Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. paid a higher average rate than 54% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$324M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
23.1%
Q1 2026
$362M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co., avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Statement Savings0.75%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market Checking1.21%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months3.34%$500not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months3.28%$500not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months4.02%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.45%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.31%$2,500not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.00%$2,500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.00%$2,500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.00%$2,500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.00%$2,500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
18 Month IRA CD18 months3.51%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month IRA CD30 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in ND
Footprint4 branches in ND
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.75% (observed through Sep 12, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
9 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Checking
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 23, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.75% APY Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,075 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,747 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co.?

HeadquartersBismarck, ND
Founded1975
Scale$362M assets · $324M deposits, $249M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 21928

Financial detail is in What Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co.

Is Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. FDIC insured?

Yes. Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. is FDIC insured under certificate 21928, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co.?

Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. requires no minimum deposit to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.75% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.75% needs a balance of at least $5,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.65%. Rates are as observed on Sep 12, 2026.

Does Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. have branches?

Yes. Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co. against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co.1.21%2.33%$2,5004 branches in ND
Fairview State Banking Company0.75%1.49%not stated1 branch in IL
Farmers and Merchants Union Bank2.47%2.33%$5013 branches in WI
Farmers State Bank3.03%1.60%not stated1 branch in IA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Kirkwood Bank & Trust Co.'s.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates