Skip to main content

BankUnited, National Association savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 58979Assets $35.3B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 11, 2026

BankUnited, National Association advertises 2.10% APY on its High Yield Savings Account. That is 1.72 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #199 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #143.

Estimate your earnings·What BankUnited, National Association actually pays

Key facts

BankUnited, National Association at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY2.10% · High Yield Savings Account
Minimum to open$50 · High Yield Savings Account
Against the national average1.72 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.95% · 12 months · 12 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 12 months CD
Against the national average2.24 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY3.50% · Promotional Money Market Account
Minimum to open$2,500 · Promotional Money Market Account
Against the national average2.87 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
BankUnited, National Association bank facts
FDIC certificate58979 · Miami Lakes, FL
Websitewww.bankunited.com
Branches57 branches in FL, GA, NY, TX
AvailabilityAvailable in FL, GA, NY, TX
Rates

BankUnited, National Association savings, CD and money market rates

3.50% APY
Promotional Money Market Account
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
2.10% APY
High Yield Savings Account
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
3.95% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

BankUnited, National Association CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months3.75%$1,0006 Month CD
9 months3.80%$1,0009 Month CD
12 months3.95%$1,00012 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for BankUnited, National Association

All calculations are based on APY.

High Yield Savings Account2.10% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$803.50(5.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,803.50

Effective APY
2.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What BankUnited, National Association pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.92%
Q1 2026 ·
2.10% APY
As observed Sep 11, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, BankUnited, National Association paid a higher average rate than 83% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$29.6B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
30.9%
Q1 2026
$35.3B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • BankUnited, National Association, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
High Yield Savings Account2.10%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Promotional Money Market Account3.50%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6 Month CD6 months3.75%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months3.80%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.95%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in FL, GA, NY, TX
Footprint57 branches in FL, GA, NY, TX
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How BankUnited, National Association behaves over time

$10,000 at the 2.10% APY BankUnited, National Association advertises on High Yield Savings Account grows to $10,210 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,878 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

BankUnited, National Association CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is BankUnited, National Association?

HeadquartersMiami Lakes, FL
Founded2009
Scale$35.3B assets · $29.6B deposits, $20.4B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 58979

Financial detail is in What BankUnited, National Association pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about BankUnited, National Association

Is BankUnited, National Association FDIC insured?

Yes. BankUnited, National Association is FDIC insured under certificate 58979, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at BankUnited, National Association?

BankUnited, National Association requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its High Yield Savings Account, as observed on Sep 11, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does BankUnited, National Association have branches?

Yes. BankUnited, National Association operates 57 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

BankUnited, National Association against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
BankUnited, National Association3.50%2.92%$2,50057 branches in FL, GA, NY, TX
Coleman County State Bank3.04%2.07%$1007 branches in TX
First Bankers Trust Company, National Association2.02%1.88%$509 branches in IL
Laona State Bank2.02%2.05%$1,0007 branches in WI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to BankUnited, National Association's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates