Skip to main content

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company savings and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 11063Assets $235.5B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 4, 2026

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company advertises 0.10% APY on its Online Savings Account. That is 0.28 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #303 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #279. It was #169 three months ago. The advertised rate has not changed in the 26 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company actually pays

Key facts

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Online Savings Account
Minimum to open$50 · Online Savings Account
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY0.15% · Money Market Account
Minimum to open$500 · Money Market Account
Against the national average0.48 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company bank facts
FDIC certificate11063 · Raleigh, NC
Websitewww.firstcitizens.com
Branches519 branches across 23 states
AvailabilityNationally available
Rates

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company savings and money market rates

0.15% APY
Money Market Account
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026
0.10% APY
Online Savings Account
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company

All calculations are based on APY.

Online Savings Account0.10% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.69%
Q1 2026 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 4, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company paid a higher average rate than 73% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$171.4B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
25.8%
Q1 2026
$235.5B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Online Savings Account0.10%$50$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
Money Market Account0.15%$500$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityNationally available
Footprint519 branches across 23 states
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Online Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 4, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 26 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Online Savings Account
The same as 90 days ago.
Money Market Account
The same as 90 days ago.
Rate last changed
Mar 31, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company advertises on Online Savings Account grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,685 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Identity

Who is First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company?

HeadquartersRaleigh, NC
Founded2000
Scale$235.5B assets · $171.4B deposits, $127.2B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 11063
BBB ratingA+ · Not BBB Accredited (Information provided is for First Citizens Bank & Trust Company)
Affiliated institutionCIT Bank

Financial detail is in What First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company

Is First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company FDIC insured?

Yes. First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company is FDIC insured under certificate 11063, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company?

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Online Savings Account, as observed on Sep 4, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company have branches?

Yes. First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company operates 519 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company0.15%2.69%$500519 branches across 23 states
Andover State Bank0.55%2.62%not stated2 branches in KS
Center National Bank1.74%1.37%not stated3 branches in MN
Fifth District Savings Bank0.60%2.05%$507 branches in LA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates