Skip to main content

BMO Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 16571Assets $255.0B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 29, 2026

BMO Bank advertises 0.01% APY on its Savings Builder account. That is 0.36 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #2363 of 2413 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #2298.

Estimate your earnings·What BMO Bank actually pays

Key facts

BMO Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.01% · Savings Builder
Minimum to open$25 · Savings Builder
Against the national average0.36 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.35% · 59 months · 59 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 59 months CD
Against the national average1.97 percentage points above the 1.38% FDIC 60-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.76% · Growth Money Market · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$25 · Growth Money Market
Against the national average2.13 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
BMO Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate16571 · Chicago, IL
Websitewww.bmo.com
Branches987 branches across 23 states
AvailabilityAvailable in 23 states
Rates

BMO Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Up to2.76% APY
Growth Money Market
Needs at least $250,000
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $4,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $5,000 - $24,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.45% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.24% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
0.01% APY
Savings Builder
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
3.35% APY
Highest CD · 59 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.

BMO Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months0.05%$1,000Standard CD 3 Month
6 months0.05%$1,000Standard CD 6 Month
9 months0.05%$1,000Standard CD 9 Month
12 months0.75%$1,000Standard CD 12 Month
13 months3.00%$1,00013 Month CD Special
18 months0.75%$1,000Standard CD 18 Month
24 months0.75%$1,000Standard CD 24 Month
25 months3.10%$1,00025 Month CD Special
30 months0.75%$1,000Standard CD 30 Month
35 months3.15%$1,00035 Month CD Special
36 months0.75%$1,000Standard CD 36 Month
45 months3.25%$1,00045 Month CD Special
48 months0.75%$1,000Standard CD 48 Month
59 months3.35%$1,00059 Month CD Special
60 months0.75%$1,000Standard CD 60 Month

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for BMO Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Savings Builder0.01% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$3.70(0.0%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,003.70

Effective APY
0.01%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What BMO Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.61%
Q2 2026 ·
0.01% APY
As observed Sep 29, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, BMO Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 56% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.29%
Q2 2026 ·
$194.1B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
23.6%
Q2 2026
$255.0B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • BMO Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Savings Builder0.01%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Growth Money Market2.76%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedTierednot enough history

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Standard CD 3 Month3 months0.05%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 6 Month6 months0.05%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 9 Month9 months0.05%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 12 Month12 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD Special13 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 18 Month18 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 24 Month24 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
25 Month CD Special25 months3.10%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 30 Month30 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
35 Month CD Special35 months3.15%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 36 Month36 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
45 Month CD Special45 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 48 Month48 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
59 Month CD Special59 months3.35%$1,000not statednot stated
Standard CD 60 Month60 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in 23 states
Footprint987 branches across 23 states
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How BMO Bank behaves over time

$10,000 at the 0.01% APY BMO Bank advertises on Savings Builder grows to $10,001 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,672 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

BMO Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is BMO Bank?

HeadquartersChicago, IL
Founded1947
Scale$255.0B assets · $194.1B deposits, $148.4B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 16571
AffiliationBMO Bank has an online brand in BMO Alto
Affiliated institutionBMO Alto
Charter stateIllinois · one of 325 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size18th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 12% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What BMO Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about BMO Bank

Is BMO Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. BMO Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 16571, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at BMO Bank?

BMO Bank requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Savings Builder account, as observed on Sep 29, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does BMO Bank have branches?

Yes. BMO Bank operates 987 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

BMO Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
BMO Bank0.01%1.61%$25987 branches across 23 states
American Bank and Trust Company, National Association0.01%2.05%$258 branches in IA, IL
Chase Bank0.01%0.85%$05,394 branches across 49 states
Farmers & Merchants Bank & Trust0.01%0.85%$503 branches in WI

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to BMO Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Illinois, nearest to BMO Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Illinois.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates