Citibank savings and CD rates
Citibank advertises 2.80% APY on its Citi Accelerate Savings account. That is 2.42 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #195 of 1133 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #130. It was #102 three months ago. The bank has cut this rate 5 times in the last 12 months.
Citibank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 2.80% · Citi Accelerate Savings |
| Minimum to open | $0 · Citi Accelerate Savings |
| Against the national average | 2.42 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.15% · 12 months · 1-Year CD |
| Minimum to open | $500 · 12 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.44 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 7213 · Sioux Falls, SD |
|---|---|
| Website | www.citi.com |
| Branches | 955 branches across 14 states |
| Availability | Available in 43 states |
Citibank savings and CD rates
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Citibank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 months | 0.05% | $500 | 3-Month CD |
| 4 months | 2.00% | $500 | 4-Month CD |
| 5 months | 3.00% | $500 | 5-Month CD |
| 6 months | 3.00% | $500 | 6-Month CD |
| 7 months | 4.15% | $500 | 7-Month CD |
| 8 months | 3.00% | $500 | 8-Month CD |
| 9 months | 2.00% | $500 | 9-Month CD |
| 10 months | 0.05% | $500 | 10-Month CD |
| 11 months | 0.05% | $500 | 11-Month CD |
| 12 months | 0.05% | $500 | 12-Month No-Penalty CD |
| 12 months | 4.15% | $500 | 1-Year CD |
| 13 months | 2.00% | $500 | 13-Month CD |
| 14 months | 0.10% | $500 | 14-Month CD |
| 15 months | 2.50% | $500 | 15-Month CD |
| 18 months | 2.00% | $500 | 18-Month CD |
| 24 months | 3.80% | $500 | 2-Year CD |
| 30 months | 0.10% | $500 | 30-Month Step-Up CD |
| 30 months | 1.01% | $500 | 30-Month CD |
| 36 months | 2.00% | $500 | 3-Year CD |
| 48 months | 2.00% | $500 | 4-Year CD |
| 60 months | 2.00% | $500 | 5-Year CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Citibank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$1,080.90(7.2%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$15,080.90
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Citibank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q2 2026, Citibank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 76% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- Citibank, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
How these figures are computed
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citi Accelerate Savings | 2.80% | $0 | $0 | None | $4.50. Waived for average monthly balances > $500 | None | One rate | |
| Citi® Savings Account | 0.03% | $0 | $0 | None | $4.50. Waived for average monthly balances > $500 | None | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3-Month CD | 3 months | 0.05% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 4-Month CD | 4 months | 2.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5-Month CD | 5 months | 3.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6-Month CD | 6 months | 3.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 7-Month CD | 7 months | 4.15% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 8-Month CD | 8 months | 3.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 9-Month CD | 9 months | 2.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 10-Month CD | 10 months | 0.05% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 11-Month CD | 11 months | 0.05% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12-Month No-Penalty CD | 12 months | 0.05% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 1-Year CD | 12 months | 4.15% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 13-Month CD | 13 months | 2.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 14-Month CD | 14 months | 0.10% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 15-Month CD | 15 months | 2.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-Month CD | 18 months | 2.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 2-Year CD | 24 months | 3.80% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 30-Month Step-Up CD | 30 months | 0.10% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 30-Month CD | 30 months | 1.01% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 3-Year CD | 36 months | 2.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 4-Year CD | 48 months | 2.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5-Year CD | 60 months | 2.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in 43 states |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 955 branches across 14 states |
| App Store rating | 4.9 out of 5 |
| Google Play rating | 4.8 out of 5 |
| Zelle | Available, daily limit $2,500 |
| Eligibility | Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Florida (select parts), Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois (select parts), Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia (partial), Washington (partial), Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming. |
How Citibank behaves over time
- 12-month high
- 3.50%
- 12-month low
- 2.80%
- Advertised now
- 2.80%
- 0.70 percentage points below the 12-month high
- Observed cuts, 12 months
- 5
- In a window with 3 Federal Reserve cuts
The advertised Citi Accelerate Savings rate, observed through Sep 12, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
Recent rate changes, as observed
- Obs. Aug 25, 20267-Month CDRaise:3.75%to4.00%
- Obs. Aug 25, 20261-Year CDRaise:4.00%to4.15%
- Obs. Aug 11, 2026Citi Accelerate SavingsCut:3.00%to2.80%
- Obs. Jul 8, 20267-Month CDRaise:3.50%to3.75%
- Obs. Jun 23, 20265-Month CDRaise:2.00%to3.00%
- Citi Accelerate Savings
- Down 0.20 percentage points from 90 days ago.
- 12 months CD
- Up 0.15 percentage points from 30 days ago.
At the top advertised rates we observed for Citibank's Citi Accelerate Savings, $10,000 would have grown to about $10,316 over the past year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). So it buys as much as $9,980 did a year ago. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
- Citi Accelerate Savings APY
- Banksparency savings index
- Consumer price index, year over year
- Fed rate cut
Citibank CD rates over time
Who is Citibank?
| Headquarters | Sioux Falls, SD |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1812 |
| Scale | $1.98T assets · $1.55T deposits, $1.37T of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 7213 |
| BBB rating | D- · Not BBB Accredited |
| Affiliation | Subsidiary of Citigroup (NYSE: C) |
Financial detail is in What Citibank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Citibank
Is Citibank FDIC insured?
Yes. Citibank is FDIC insured under certificate 7213, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Citibank?
Citibank requires no minimum deposit to open its Citi Accelerate Savings account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does Citibank have branches?
Yes. Citibank operates 955 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Citibank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citibank | 2.80% | 2.19% | $0 | 955 branches across 14 states |
| Citizens Access™ | 2.80% | 2.05% | $0 | not stated |
| Gate City Bank | 2.80% | 0.91% | $50,000 | 46 branches in MN, ND |
| FirstBank of Nebraska | 2.78% | 1.88% | $2,500 | 4 branches in NE |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Citibank's.
Compare Citibank with another bank
Each link opens a full comparison page, with the two banks side by side and their current savings rates.
- Citibank vs CIT Bank
- Citibank vs Barclays
Citibank last changed its rate on August 11, 2026, down 20 basis points. Marcus by Goldman Sachs last changed on June 3, 2026, down 10 basis points.
Citibank vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs- Citibank vs SoFi Bank
Axos Bank last changed on February 2, 2026, down 10 basis points. Citibank last changed on August 11, 2026, down 20 basis points.
Citibank vs Axos Bank- Citibank vs American Express
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.