Skip to main content

Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 14056Assets $343M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 10, 2026

Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair advertises 0.20% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.18 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #406 of 679 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #348.

Estimate your earnings·What Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair actually pays

Key facts

Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.20% · Statement Savings
Minimum to open$200 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.18 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.15% · 5 months · 5 Month CD (New Money)
Minimum to open$500 · 5 months CD
Against the national average2.74 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY3.51% · Premium MMDA · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$50,000 · Premium MMDA
Against the national average2.88 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair bank facts
FDIC certificate14056 · Saint Clair, MO
Websitewww.fmb4banking.bank
Branches4 branches in MO
AvailabilityAvailable in MO
Rates

Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

3.51% APY
Premium MMDA
Needs at least $250,000
$50,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.40% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.45% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
3.51% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 10, 2026
Up to0.61% APY
Lazy River Kids Club Savings
Youth Savings
On balances up to $5,000 · 0.20% above
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.61% APY on balances $25 - $5,000
0.20% APY on balances $5,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 10, 2026
Up to0.30% APY
MMDA Regular & Business
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.11% APY on balances $500 - $2,499.99
0.15% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 10, 2026
0.20% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 10, 2026
0.20% APY
Statement Savings
$200 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 10, 2026
4.15% APY
Highest CD · 5 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 10, 2026

IRA

3.80% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 10, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 59 savings accounts from 57 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
4 months4.00%$5004 Month CD
5 months4.15%$5005 Month CD (New Money)
6 months3.51%$5006 Month CD
7 months3.71%$5007 Month CD
12 months3.80%$5001 Year CD
18 months1.50%$50018 Month CD
19 months3.80%$50019 Month CD
24 months3.80%$5002 Year CD
36 months2.50%$5003 Year CD
48 months2.50%$5004 Year CD
60 months2.50%$5005 Year CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.80%$500IRA 12 Month CD
18 months1.50%$500IRA 18 Month CD
24 months3.80%$500IRA 24 Month CD
36 months2.50%$500IRA 36 Month CD
60 months2.50%$500IRA 60 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.61% ($25 - $5,000), 0.20% ($5,000.01+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$93.40(0.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,093.40

Effective APY
0.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.04%
Q1 2026 ·
0.20% APY
As observed Sep 10, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair paid a higher average rate than 36% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$302M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
20.5%
Q1 2026
$343M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Lazy River Kids Club Savings0.61%$25$25$5,000No Monthly Maintenance Feenot statedTiered
Health Savings Account0.20%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Statement Savings0.20%$200$0NoneNo Monthly Maintenance Fee with a $200 Minimum Average Balancenot statedOne rate
Premium MMDA3.51%$50,000$50,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
MMDA Regular & Business0.30%$2,500$500NoneNo monthly maintenance fee with a $2500 minimum average balancenot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
4 Month CD4 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
5 Month CD (New Money)5 months4.15%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.51%$500not statednot stated
7 Month CD7 months3.71%$500not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.80%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.50%$500not statednot stated
19 Month CD19 months3.80%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months3.80%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
IRA 12 Month CD12 months3.80%$500not statednot stated
IRA 18 Month CD18 months1.50%$500not statednot stated
IRA 24 Month CD24 months3.80%$500not statednot stated
IRA 36 Month CD36 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
IRA 60 Month CD60 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MO
Footprint4 branches in MO
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.20% (observed through Sep 10, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
5 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premium MMDA
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 31, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.20% APY Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,020 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,694 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair?

HeadquartersSaint Clair, MO
Founded1913
Scale$343M assets · $302M deposits, $240M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 14056

Financial detail is in What Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair

Is Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair FDIC insured?

Yes. Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair is FDIC insured under certificate 14056, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair?

Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair requires a minimum deposit of $200 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 10, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair have branches?

Yes. Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair3.51%2.04%$50,0004 branches in MO
Alma Bank0.60%2.98%$10,00013 branches in NJ, NY
Chelsea State Bank1.56%1.72%$14 branches in MI
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank2.48%2.35%$25,00018 branches in MA, RI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Farmers and Merchants Bank of St. Clair's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates