Skip to main content

The Bank of Elk River savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 1607Assets $719M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

The Bank of Elk River advertises 0.20% APY on its Everyday Savings account. The 0.20% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

That is 0.18 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #922 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #818.

Estimate your earnings·What The Bank of Elk River actually pays

Key facts

The Bank of Elk River at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.20% · Everyday Savings · needs at least $10,000
Minimum to open$25 · Everyday Savings
Against the national average0.18 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.91% · 15 months · 15 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$200 · 15 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.80% · Momentum Money Market · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$25 · Momentum Money Market
Against the national average2.17 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The Bank of Elk River bank facts
FDIC certificate1607 · Elk River, MN
Websitewww.thebankofelkriver.com
Branches4 branches in MN
AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Rates

The Bank of Elk River savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.80% APY
Momentum Money Market
Needs at least $250,000
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
2.00% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.70% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.80% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
2.02% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $10,000

How the rate applies

1.36% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
1.66% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
2.02% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.20% APY
Everyday Savings
Needs at least $10,000
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.15% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.91% APY
Highest CD · 15 months
$200 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

3.91% APY
Highest CD · 15 months
$200 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Business

Up to2.63% APY
Summit Business Money Market
Needs at least $250,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
1.01% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
1.76% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.12% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.63% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.15% APY
Ascend Business Savings
Needs at least $10,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.10% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Bank of Elk River CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months2.02%$20091 Day CD
5 months3.69%$2005 Month CD Special
6 months2.77%$200182 Day CD
12 months3.03%$20012 Month CD
15 months3.91%$20015 Month CD Special
18 months3.03%$2,50018 Month Added Advantage CD
24 months3.14%$20024 Month CD
30 months3.08%$2,50030 Month Added Advantage CD
33 months3.60%$20033 Month CD Special
36 months3.19%$20036 Month CD
48 months3.24%$20048 Month CD
60 months3.29%$20060 Month CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.03%$20012 Month IRA CD
15 months3.91%$20015 Month IRA CD Special
18 months3.03%$2,50018 Month Added Advantage IRA CD
24 months3.14%$20024 Month IRA CD
30 months3.08%$2,50030 Month Added Advantage IRA CD
36 months3.19%$20036 Month IRA CD
48 months3.24%$20048 Month IRA CD
60 months3.29%$20060 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Bank of Elk River

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.25% to 2.63% APY across 5 balance tiers.
0.25% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
1.01% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
1.76% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.12% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.63% APY on balances $250,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$93.40(0.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,093.40

Effective APY
0.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Bank of Elk River pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.95%
Q2 2026 ·
0.20% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.20% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

In Q2 2026, The Bank of Elk River paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 69% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.96%
Q2 2026 ·
$661M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
23.7%
Q2 2026
$719M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Bank of Elk River, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account2.02%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Everyday Savings0.20%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Momentum Money Market2.80%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Summit Business Money Market2.63%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Ascend Business Savings0.15%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months2.02%$200not statednot stated
5 Month CD Special5 months3.69%$200not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months2.77%$200not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.03%$200not statednot stated
15 Month CD Special15 months3.91%$200not statednot stated
18 Month Added Advantage CD18 months3.03%$2,500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.14%$200not statednot stated
30 Month Added Advantage CD30 months3.08%$2,500not statednot stated
33 Month CD Special33 months3.60%$200not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.19%$200not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.24%$200not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.29%$200not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month IRA CD12 months3.03%$200not statednot stated
15 Month IRA CD Special15 months3.91%$200not statednot stated
18 Month Added Advantage IRA CD18 months3.03%$2,500not statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months3.14%$200not statednot stated
30 Month Added Advantage IRA CD30 months3.08%$2,500not statednot stated
36 Month IRA CD36 months3.19%$200not statednot stated
48 Month IRA CD48 months3.24%$200not statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months3.29%$200not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Footprint4 branches in MN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Bank of Elk River behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Everyday Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.20% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Everyday Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
15 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Momentum Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 26, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.20% APY The Bank of Elk River advertises on Everyday Savings grows to $10,020 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,691 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Bank of Elk River CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The Bank of Elk River?

HeadquartersElk River, MN
Founded1885
Scale$719M assets · $661M deposits, $505M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 1607

Financial detail is in What The Bank of Elk River pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Bank of Elk River

Is The Bank of Elk River FDIC insured?

Yes. The Bank of Elk River is FDIC insured under certificate 1607, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Bank of Elk River?

The Bank of Elk River requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Everyday Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.20% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.20% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does The Bank of Elk River have branches?

Yes. The Bank of Elk River operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Bank of Elk River against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Bank of Elk River2.80%1.95%$254 branches in MN
Connecticut Community Bank, National Association3.05%1.95%$2,50010 branches in CT
Peoples Bank of Kankakee County2.75%1.31%$25,0003 branches in IL
Gateway Bank2.58%2.10%$10,0002 branches in MN

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Bank of Elk River's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates