Skip to main content

Citizens Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 13055Assets $1.2B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Citizens Bank advertises 0.03% APY on its Advantage Savings account. That is 0.35 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #597 of 645 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #566.

Estimate your earnings·What Citizens Bank actually pays

Key facts

Citizens Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.03% · Advantage Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Advantage Savings
Against the national average0.35 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 14 months · 14 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 14 months CD
Citizens Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate13055 · Mukwonago, WI
Websitewww.citizensbankwi.bank
Branches11 branches in WI
AvailabilityAvailable in WI
Rates

Citizens Bank savings and CD rates

Personal

Up to1.50% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $100,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $0.01 - $24,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.03% APY
Ca$h Savings Club
Youth Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.03% APY
Advantage Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 14 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

4.00% APY
Highest CD · 26 months
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Citizens Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
6-12 months0.40%$250Flexible Add-On CD
7 months3.80%$1,0007 Month CD Special
12 months0.60%$1,0001 Year CD
14 months4.00%$1,00014 Month CD Special
24 months0.70%$1,0002 Year CD
26 months4.00%$1,00026 Month CD Special
36 months1.06%$1,0003 Year CD
48 months1.15%$1,0004 Year CD
60 months1.25%$1,0005 Year CD
IRA CDs
6 months0.75%$1006 Month IRA CD
7 months3.80%$1007 Month IRA CD Special
12 months1.00%$1001 Year IRA CD
14 months4.00%$10014 Month IRA CD Special
24 months1.10%$1002 Year IRA CD
26 months4.00%$10026 Month IRA CD Special
36 months1.40%$1003 Year IRA CD
48 months1.50%$1004 Year IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Citizens Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.20% ($0.01 - $24,999.99), 1.00% ($25,000 - $99,999.99), 1.50% ($100,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$74.70(0.5%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,074.70

Effective APY
0.20%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Citizens Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.15%
Q1 2026 ·
0.03% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Citizens Bank paid a higher average rate than 42% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$993M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
24.1%
Q1 2026
$1.2B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Citizens Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Health Savings Account1.50%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Ca$h Savings Club0.03%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Advantage Savings0.03%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
Flexible Add-On CD6-12 months0.40%$250not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months3.80%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months0.60%$1,000not statednot stated
14 Month CD Special14 months4.00%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months0.70%$1,000not statednot stated
26 Month CD Special26 months4.00%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months1.06%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months1.15%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months1.25%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
6 Month IRA CD6 months0.75%$100not statednot stated
7 Month IRA CD Special7 months3.80%$100not statednot stated
1 Year IRA CD12 months1.00%$100not statednot stated
14 Month IRA CD Special14 months4.00%$100not statednot stated
2 Year IRA CD24 months1.10%$100not statednot stated
26 Month IRA CD Special26 months4.00%$100not statednot stated
3 Year IRA CD36 months1.40%$100not statednot stated
4 Year IRA CD48 months1.50%$100not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in WI
Footprint11 branches in WI
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Citizens Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Advantage Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.03% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Rate last changed
Sep 6, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.03% APY Citizens Bank advertises on Advantage Savings grows to $10,003 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,678 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Citizens Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Citizens Bank?

HeadquartersMukwonago, WI
Founded1892
Scale$1.2B assets · $993M deposits, $753M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 13055

Financial detail is in What Citizens Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Citizens Bank

Is Citizens Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Citizens Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 13055, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Citizens Bank?

Citizens Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Advantage Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Citizens Bank have branches?

Yes. Citizens Bank operates 11 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Citizens Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Citizens Bank1.50%2.15%$1,00011 branches in WI
American Bank1.50%2.98%$11 branch in PA
Dundee Bank3.50%3.48%$50,0004 branches in NE
Cape Ann Savings Bank2.27%2.34%$15,0004 branches in MA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Citizens Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates