The First National Bank of Peterstown savings and CD rates
The First National Bank of Peterstown advertises 0.03% APY on its Savings account. That is 0.35 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #1524 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1466.
Estimate your earnings·What The First National Bank of Peterstown actually pays
The First National Bank of Peterstown at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.03% · Savings |
| Minimum to open | $25 · Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.35 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 1.00% · 60 months · 60 Month CD |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · 60 months CD |
| Against the national average | 0.36 percentage points below the 1.36% FDIC 60-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 6787 · Peterstown, WV |
|---|---|
| Website | www.fnbp.com |
| Branches | 2 branches in VA, WV |
| Availability | Available in VA, WV |
The First National Bank of Peterstown savings and CD rates
Personal
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
The First National Bank of Peterstown CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 0.40% | $2,500 | 3 Month CD |
| 6 months | 0.60% | $2,500 | 6 Month CD |
| 12 months | 0.75% | $2,500 | 12 Month CD |
| 18 months | 0.75% | $2,500 | 18 Month CD |
| 24 months | 0.85% | $2,500 | 24 Month CD |
| 48 months | 1.00% | $2,500 | 48 Month CD |
| 60 months | 1.00% | $2,500 | 60 Month CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 18 months | 0.85% | $500 | 18 Month IRA |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for The First National Bank of Peterstown
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$11.20(0.1%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,011.20
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What The First National Bank of Peterstown pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q2 2026, The First National Bank of Peterstown paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 5% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- The First National Bank of Peterstown, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Savings | 0.03% | $25 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 3 Month CD | 3 months | 0.40% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD | 6 months | 0.60% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 0.75% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 0.75% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 0.85% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month CD | 48 months | 1.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month CD | 60 months | 1.00% | $2,500 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 18 Month IRA | 18 months | 0.85% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in VA, WV |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 2 branches in VA, WV |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How The First National Bank of Peterstown behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.03% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 60 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 27, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.03% APY The First National Bank of Peterstown advertises on Savings grows to $10,003 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,674 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
The First National Bank of Peterstown CD rates over time
Who is The First National Bank of Peterstown?
| Headquarters | Peterstown, WV |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1910 |
| Scale | $85M assets · $74M deposits, $40M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 6787 |
Financial detail is in What The First National Bank of Peterstown pays on deposits above.
Common questions about The First National Bank of Peterstown
Is The First National Bank of Peterstown FDIC insured?
Yes. The First National Bank of Peterstown is FDIC insured under certificate 6787, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at The First National Bank of Peterstown?
The First National Bank of Peterstown requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does The First National Bank of Peterstown have branches?
Yes. The First National Bank of Peterstown operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
The First National Bank of Peterstown against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The First National Bank of Peterstown | 0.03% | 0.22% | $25 | 2 branches in VA, WV |
| Farmers and Merchants Bank | 2.66% | 2.03% | $1,500 | 4 branches in IN |
| Farmers State Bank | 3.45% | 0.64% | $25 | 11 branches in MT |
| First Federal Savings Bank | 0.15% | not stated | $50 | 6 branches in IN |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The First National Bank of Peterstown's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.