Skip to main content

Chelsea Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 15427Assets $198M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 4, 2026

Chelsea Savings Bank advertises 0.50% APY on its Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #196 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #162.

Estimate your earnings·What Chelsea Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Chelsea Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.50% · Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Savings
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.53% · 15 months · 15 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 15 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.27% · Prime Money Market · needs at least $250,000.01
Minimum to open$1,000 · Prime Money Market
Against the national average1.64 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Chelsea Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate15427 · Belle Plaine, IA
Websitewww.chelseasavingsbank.com
Branches5 branches in IA
AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Rates

Chelsea Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

2.52% APY
Silver & Gold Christmas Club
Club Savings
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026
Up to2.27% APY
Prime Money Market
Needs at least $250,000.01
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $20,000 - $75,000
0.75% APY on balances $75,000.01 - $150,000
1.26% APY on balances $150,000.01 - $250,000
2.27% APY on balances $250,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026
Up to1.00% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $50,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026
0.50% APY
Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026
0.50% APY
Child Savings
Youth Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026
3.53% APY
Highest CD · 15 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026

IRA

2.52% APY
IRA
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 4, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Chelsea Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months0.75%$1,0003 Month CD
3 months0.85%$20,0003 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)
6 months1.61%$20,0006 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)
6 months1.51%$1,0006 Month CD
12 months2.77%$1,00012 Month CD
12 months2.87%$20,00012 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)
15 months3.53%$1,00015 Month CD Special
18 months2.01%$1,00018 Month CD
18 months2.11%$20,00018 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)
24 months2.26%$1,00024 Month CD
24 months2.36%$20,00024 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)
36 months2.26%$1,00036 Month CD
36 months2.36%$20,00036 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)
48 months2.52%$1,00048 Month CD
48 months2.62%$20,00048 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)
60 months3.02%$1,00060 Month CD
60 months3.12%$20,00060 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Chelsea Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$969.40(6.5%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,969.40

Effective APY
2.52%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Chelsea Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.98%
Q1 2026 ·
0.50% APY
As observed Sep 4, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Chelsea Savings Bank paid a higher average rate than 32% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$174M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
18.6%
Q1 2026
$198M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Chelsea Savings Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Silver & Gold Christmas Club2.52%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Health Savings Account1.00%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTierednot enough history
Savings0.50%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Child Savings0.50%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Prime Money Market2.27%$1,000$20,000Nonenot statednot statedTierednot enough history
IRA
IRA2.52%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 Month CD3 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)3 months0.85%$20,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)6 months1.61%$20,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months1.51%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months2.77%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)12 months2.87%$20,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD Special15 months3.53%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months2.01%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)18 months2.11%$20,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months2.26%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)24 months2.36%$20,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months2.26%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)36 months2.36%$20,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months2.52%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)48 months2.62%$20,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.02%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD ($20,000 Minimum)60 months3.12%$20,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Footprint5 branches in IA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Chelsea Savings Bank behaves over time

Rate last changed
Sep 4, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.50% APY Chelsea Savings Bank advertises on Savings grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,723 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Chelsea Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Chelsea Savings Bank?

HeadquartersBelle Plaine, IA
Founded1936
Scale$198M assets · $174M deposits, $142M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 15427

Financial detail is in What Chelsea Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Chelsea Savings Bank

Is Chelsea Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Chelsea Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 15427, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Chelsea Savings Bank?

Chelsea Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 4, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Chelsea Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Chelsea Savings Bank operates 5 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Chelsea Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Chelsea Savings Bank2.52%1.98%not stated5 branches in IA
Artisans' Bank2.50%2.02%$5,00013 branches in DE
Centreville Bank2.50%2.74%$10,00023 branches in CT, RI
Farm Bureau Bank FSB2.50%3.27%$25,0002 branches in NV, TX

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Chelsea Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates