Skip to main content

First National Bank of Scotia savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 11501Assets $719M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

First National Bank of Scotia advertises 0.25% APY on its Young Savers account. That is 0.12 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1249 of 2413 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1076.

Estimate your earnings·What First National Bank of Scotia actually pays

Key facts

First National Bank of Scotia at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.25% · Young Savers
Minimum to open$5 · Young Savers
Against the national average0.12 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.75% · 9 months · Relationship / New Money Special 9 Month CD
Minimum to open$2,500 · 9 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.31% · Tiered Money Market Account · needs at least $1,500,000
Minimum to open$10,000 · Tiered Money Market Account
Against the national average1.68 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
First National Bank of Scotia bank facts
FDIC certificate11501 · Scotia, NY
Websitewww.firstscotia.com
Branches10 branches in NY
AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Rates

First National Bank of Scotia savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.31% APY
Tiered Money Market Account
Needs at least $1,500,000
$10,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.85% APY on balances $2,500 - $99,999
1.21% APY on balances $100,000 - $499,999
1.83% APY on balances $500,000 - $1,499,999
2.31% APY on balances $1,500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.61% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $10,000

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0 - $499.99
0.23% APY on balances $500 - $2,499
0.40% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999
0.61% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.25% APY
Young Savers
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.20% APY
Day of Deposit Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.10% APY
Club Accounts
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 9 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

IRA

3.75% APY
Highest CD · 9 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First National Bank of Scotia CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
1 months0.80%$2,50030 Day Certificate
3-5 months0.80%$2,50090 Day Certificate
6-11 months2.76%$2,500180 Day Certificate
9 months3.75%$2,500Relationship / New Money Special 9 Month CD
12-17 months2.82%$5001 Year Certificate
24 months2.85%$50024 Month Certificate
36 months2.90%$50036 Month Certificate
48 months2.94%$50048 Month Certificate
60 months2.97%$50060 Month Certificate
IRA CDs
9 months3.75%$2,500Relationship / New Money Special 9 Month IRA CD
12 months1.03%$501 Year Variable Rate IRA Savings
12-17 months2.82%$5001 Year IRA Certificate
24 months2.85%$50024 Month IRA Certificate
36 months2.90%$50036 Month IRA Certificate
48 months2.94%$50048 Month IRA Certificate
60 months2.97%$50060 Month IRA Certificate

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First National Bank of Scotia

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.15% to 0.61% APY across 4 balance tiers.
0.15% APY on balances $0 - $499.99
0.23% APY on balances $500 - $2,499
0.40% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999
0.61% APY on balances $10,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$187.00(1.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,187.00

Effective APY
0.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First National Bank of Scotia pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.14%
Q2 2026 ·
0.25% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, First National Bank of Scotia paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 38% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.29%
Q2 2026 ·
$632M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
28.6%
Q2 2026
$719M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • First National Bank of Scotia, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Health Savings Account0.61%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Young Savers0.25%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Day of Deposit Savings0.20%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Club Accounts0.10%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Tiered Money Market Account2.31%$10,000$2,500Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
30 Day Certificate1 months0.80%$2,500not statednot stated
90 Day Certificate3-5 months0.80%$2,500not statednot stated
180 Day Certificate6-11 months2.76%$2,500not statednot stated
Relationship / New Money Special 9 Month CD9 months3.75%$2,500not statednot stated
1 Year Certificate12-17 months2.82%$500not statednot stated
24 Month Certificate24 months2.85%$500not statednot stated
36 Month Certificate36 months2.90%$500not statednot stated
48 Month Certificate48 months2.94%$500not statednot stated
60 Month Certificate60 months2.97%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
Relationship / New Money Special 9 Month IRA CD9 months3.75%$2,500not statednot stated
1 Year Variable Rate IRA Savings12 months1.03%$50not statednot stated
1 Year IRA Certificate12-17 months2.82%$500not statednot stated
24 Month IRA Certificate24 months2.85%$500not statednot stated
36 Month IRA Certificate36 months2.90%$500not statednot stated
48 Month IRA Certificate48 months2.94%$500not statednot stated
60 Month IRA Certificate60 months2.97%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Footprint10 branches in NY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First National Bank of Scotia behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Young Savers rate in the last 12 months was 0.25% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

$10,000 at the 0.25% APY First National Bank of Scotia advertises on Young Savers grows to $10,025 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,695 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First National Bank of Scotia CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is First National Bank of Scotia?

HeadquartersScotia, NY
Founded1923
Scale$719M assets · $632M deposits, $451M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 11501
Charter stateNew York · one of 107 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size1,310th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 44% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What First National Bank of Scotia pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First National Bank of Scotia

Is First National Bank of Scotia FDIC insured?

Yes. First National Bank of Scotia is FDIC insured under certificate 11501, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First National Bank of Scotia?

First National Bank of Scotia requires a minimum deposit of $5 to open its Young Savers account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First National Bank of Scotia have branches?

Yes. First National Bank of Scotia operates 10 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First National Bank of Scotia against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
First National Bank of Scotia0.25%1.14%$510 branches in NY
Adrian Bank0.25%1.02%$1003 branches in MO
Alliance Community Bank0.25%0.56%$1006 branches in IL
Anderson Brothers Bank0.25%2.57%$5027 branches in SC

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to First National Bank of Scotia's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in New York, nearest to First National Bank of Scotia in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in New York.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates