American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston savings and CD rates
American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston advertises up to 1.66% APY on its Personal Savings account. The 1.66% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.30%.
On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.30% overall, about $30 in a year, which is 0.08 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #196 of 645 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #254.
Estimate your earnings·What American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston actually pays
American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | Up to 1.66% · Personal Savings · needs at least $1,000,000 |
| Minimum to open | $100 · Personal Savings |
| Against the national average | 1.28 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.56% · 11 months · 11 Month CD Special |
| Minimum to open | $500 · 11 months CD |
| Against the national average | 1.85 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 15444 · Williston, ND |
|---|---|
| Website | www.asbt.com |
| Branches | 2 branches in ND |
| Availability | Available in ND |
American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston savings and CD rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Business
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 1.65% | $500 | 3 Month CD |
| 4 months | 3.23% | $500 | 4 Month CD Special |
| 6 months | 1.65% | $500 | 6 Month CD |
| 7 months | 3.37% | $500 | 7 Month CD Special |
| 11 months | 3.56% | $500 | 11 Month CD Special |
| 12 months | 1.90% | $500 | 12 Month CD |
| 18 months | 1.80% | $500 | 18 Month CD |
| 23 months | 3.25% | $500 | 23 Month CD Special |
| 24 months | 1.85% | $500 | 24 Month CD |
| 30 months | 2.05% | $500 | 30 Month CD |
| 36 months | 2.10% | $500 | 36 Month CD |
| 48 months | 2.20% | $500 | 48 Month CD |
| 60 months | 2.40% | $500 | 60 Month CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 12 months | 2.90% | $50 | 12 Month IRA |
| 24 months | 2.80% | $50 | 24 Month IRA |
| 36 months | 2.80% | $50 | 36 Month IRA |
| 48 months | 2.80% | $50 | 48 Month IRA |
| 60 months | 2.80% | $50 | 60 Month IRA |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston
All calculations are based on APY.
Tiered rates: 0.30% to 1.71% APY across 4 balance tiers.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$112.20(0.8%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,112.20
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 1.66% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.30%.
In Q1 2026, American ST B&T Company Williston paid a higher average rate than 19% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- American ST B&T Company Williston, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Personal Savings | 1.66% | $100 | $100 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Youth Savings | 1.26% | $5 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Health Savings Account | 0.60% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Business | ||||||||
| Business Money Market | 1.71% | not stated | $1,000 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Business Savings | 1.66% | not stated | $500 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 3 Month CD | 3 months | 1.65% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Month CD Special | 4 months | 3.23% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD | 6 months | 1.65% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 7 Month CD Special | 7 months | 3.37% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 11 Month CD Special | 11 months | 3.56% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 1.90% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 1.80% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 23 Month CD Special | 23 months | 3.25% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 1.85% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Month CD | 30 months | 2.05% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month CD | 36 months | 2.10% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month CD | 48 months | 2.20% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month CD | 60 months | 2.40% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 12 Month IRA | 12 months | 2.90% | $50 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month IRA | 24 months | 2.80% | $50 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month IRA | 36 months | 2.80% | $50 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month IRA | 48 months | 2.80% | $50 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month IRA | 60 months | 2.80% | $50 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in ND |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 2 branches in ND |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Personal Savings rate in the last 12 months was 1.66% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Rate last changed
- Sep 5, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 1.66% APY American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston advertises on Personal Savings grows to $10,166 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,836 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston CD rates over time
Who is American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston?
| Headquarters | Williston, ND |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1936 |
| Scale | $661M assets · $584M deposits, $427M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 15444 |
Financial detail is in What American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston pays on deposits above.
Common questions about American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston
Is American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston FDIC insured?
Yes. American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston is FDIC insured under certificate 15444, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston?
American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Personal Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 1.66% apply to my whole balance?
The 1.66% needs a balance of at least $1,000,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.30%. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.
Does American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston have branches?
Yes. American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston | 1.71% | 1.71% | not stated | 2 branches in ND |
| Earlham Savings Bank | 3.00% | 2.27% | $2,500 | 9 branches in IA |
| Cape Ann Savings Bank | 2.27% | 2.34% | $15,000 | 4 branches in MA |
| American Bank | 1.50% | 2.98% | $1 | 1 branch in PA |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.