Skip to main content

UniBank for Savings CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 90290Assets $2.9B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

UniBank for Savings advertises up to 1.60% APY on its Tiered Rate Money Market Account. The 1.60% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 1.00% overall, about $100 in a year, which is 0.62 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

What UniBank for Savings actually pays

Key facts

UniBank for Savings at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 1.60% · Tiered Rate Money Market Account · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$10 · Tiered Rate Money Market Account
Against the national average1.22 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.85% · 8 months · 8 Month Certificate
Minimum to opennot stated · 8 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.60% · Tiered Rate Money Market Account · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$10 · Tiered Rate Money Market Account
Against the national average0.97 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
UniBank for Savings bank facts
FDIC certificate90290 · Whitinsville, MA
Websitewww.unibank.com
Branches15 branches in MA
AvailabilityAvailable in MA
Rates

UniBank for Savings CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.60% APY
Tiered Rate Money Market Account
Needs at least $100,000
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $10 - $2,499.99
1.00% APY on balances $2,500 - $49,999.99
1.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.60% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.85% APY
Highest CD · 8 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

3.85% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 170 money market accounts from 150 banks in the Banksparency money market index, the median advertised rate is 1.00%, and one account in ten advertises 3.04% or more. See the highest savings rates.

UniBank for Savings CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.30%not stated91 Day Certificate
6 months3.50%not stated6 Month Certificate
8 months3.85%not stated8 Month Certificate
12 months1.00%not stated1 Year UniStep CD
12 months3.00%$5001 Year CD
14 months3.50%not stated14 Month CD
24 months1.25%not stated2 Year UniStep CD
24 months2.65%not stated2 Year CD
36 months1.25%not stated3 Year UniStep CD
36 months3.00%not stated3 Year CD
48 months2.50%not stated4 Year CD
60 months2.75%not stated5 Year CD
IRA CDs
6 months3.85%not stated6 Month IRA CD
12 months3.25%not stated1 Year IRA CD
20 months3.10%not stated20 Month IRA CD
24 months3.00%not stated2 Year IRA CD
36 months3.00%not stated3 Year IRA CD
48 months3.00%not stated4 Year IRA CD
60 months3.00%not stated5 Year IRA CD

What UniBank for Savings pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.64%
Q1 2026 ·
Up to1.60% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 1.60% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

In Q1 2026, UniBank for Savings paid a higher average rate than 16% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$2.4B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
12.6%
Q1 2026
$2.9B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • UniBank for Savings, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Tiered Rate Money Market Account1.60%$10$10NoneA service charge of $5.00 will be imposed every statement cycle if the balance in the account falls below $2,500.00 any day of the statement cyclenot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day Certificate3 months3.30%not statednot statednot stated
6 Month Certificate6 months3.50%not statednot statednot stated
8 Month Certificate8 months3.85%not statednot statednot stated
1 Year UniStep CD12 months1.00%not statednot statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.00%$500not statednot stated
14 Month CD14 months3.50%not statednot statednot stated
2 Year UniStep CD24 months1.25%not statednot statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months2.65%not statednot statednot stated
3 Year UniStep CD36 months1.25%not statednot statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.50%not statednot statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.75%not statednot statednot stated
IRA CDs
6 Month IRA CD6 months3.85%not statednot statednot stated
1 Year IRA CD12 months3.25%not statednot statednot stated
20 Month IRA CD20 months3.10%not statednot statednot stated
2 Year IRA CD24 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
3 Year IRA CD36 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
4 Year IRA CD48 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
5 Year IRA CD60 months3.00%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MA
Footprint15 branches in MA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How UniBank for Savings behaves over time

Tiered Rate Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.
8 months CD
Up 0.20 percentage points from 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 1.60% APY UniBank for Savings advertises on Tiered Rate Money Market Account grows to $10,160 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,830 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

UniBank for Savings CD rates over time

Identity

Who is UniBank for Savings?

HeadquartersWhitinsville, MA
Founded1870
Scale$2.9B assets · $2.4B deposits, $2.1B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 90290

Financial detail is in What UniBank for Savings pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about UniBank for Savings

Is UniBank for Savings FDIC insured?

Yes. UniBank for Savings is FDIC insured under certificate 90290, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at UniBank for Savings?

UniBank for Savings requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its Tiered Rate Money Market Account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 1.60% apply to my whole balance?

The 1.60% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.

Does UniBank for Savings have branches?

Yes. UniBank for Savings operates 15 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates