CIT Bank vs. Wealthfront
CIT Bank's Platinum Savings pays 3.75% APY while Wealthfront's Cash Account pays 3.95% APY.
See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.
The Bottom Line
Who pays more interest on $10,000? CIT Bank pays $29 more than Wealthfront annually ($375 vs $346).
Choose CIT Bank if getting the best rate matters most, BBB rating matters to you, or you want Zelle for quick transfers.
| Metric | CIT BankPlatinum Savings Sep 4, 2026 | WealthfrontCash Account Sep 4, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 0.25% - 3.75% | 3.30% - 3.95% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$188 $10,000+$375 $25,000+$938 | $5,000+$173 $10,000+$346 $25,000+$866 |
Min. Deposit | $100 | $0 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
Terms | This is a tiered savings account, where the stated APY requires meeting the $5,000 balance requirement. Lower balances earn a lower APY. | Wealthfront is not a bank but a financial services company. It is FDIC-insured through its many partner banks. New clients get the stated APY for 3 months, after which a lower APY applies. See terms at Wealthfront. |
| Features | FDIC InsuredMod. MinimumGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppZelle® SupportedDaily CompoundingStable Rate | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDaily Compounding |
Prefer In-Person Banking?
Both of these institutions are online-only. If you need in-branch access, check out our list of savings accounts with brick-and-mortar locations.
Comparison Analysis
Comparing CIT Bank vs. Wealthfront
Executive Summary
Wealthfront offers a Cash Account with a competitive APY of 3.95%, making it the top choice for savers looking for simplicity and no direct deposit requirements. This account is available to new clients for a limited time at this promotional rate, reverting to a lower base APY after three months. In comparison, CIT Bank's Platinum Savings account provides a slightly lower APY of 3.75%, but it requires a minimum balance of $5,000 to earn this rate. CIT Bank also offers a Savings Connect account with an APY of 3.65%, but the Platinum Savings remains the standout option for higher yields.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why CIT Bank?
- Offers 2 different high-yield savings options
- Fast transfers via Zelle®
Why Wealthfront?
- Higher potential APY (3.95% vs 3.65%-3.75%) for a duration of 3 months
Key Feature Differences
Better Returns at $10,000
CIT BankCIT Bank's Platinum Savings earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $375 vs $346/yr).
Better Returns at $25,000
CIT BankCIT Bank's Platinum Savings pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $938 vs $866/yr).
Better for Simplicity
WealthfrontWealthfront's Cash Account offers 3.95% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Shared Benefits
Over a 1-year period, CIT Bank's Platinum Savings pays $29 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Wealthfront's Cash Account.
*This comparison accounts for Wealthfront's introductory promotional rate, yet CIT Bank's standard rate still yields a higher 1-year return.
Non-sponsored link to official site
Non-sponsored link to official site
Top Market Contenders
CIT Bank vs. Wealthfront Savings Calculator
You earn $27.5 more with CIT Bank than Wealthfront on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.
*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.
CIT Bank
Platinum Savings
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$375.00(3.6%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,375.00
Wealthfront
Cash Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$347.50(3.4%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,347.50
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $341 a year in interest.
Both CIT Bank and Wealthfront advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | CIT Bank | Wealthfront |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.75% Range: 0.25% - 3.75% Observed: 9/4/2026 Stable over 90 days | 3.95% Range: 3.30% - 3.95% Observed: 9/4/2026 0.05%90-day change |
| Product Name | Platinum Savings | Cash Account |
| Minimum Deposit | $100 | $0 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $5,000 | $0 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Compound Frequency | Daily | Daily |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | None | None |
| Checking Bundle | No | No |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | YesVerify FDIC | Yes |
| Zelle® Support | Available Supported for eChecking users post-First Citizens merger. | Not Supported |
| BBB Rating | A+ | F |
| Important Notes | This is a tiered savings account, where the stated APY requires meeting the $5,000 balance requirement. Lower balances earn a lower APY. | Wealthfront is not a bank but a financial services company. It is FDIC-insured through its many partner banks. New clients get the stated APY for 3 months, after which a lower APY applies. See terms at Wealthfront. |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at CIT Bank Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteVerify at Wealthfront Non-sponsored link to official site |
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Compare Similar High-Yield Accounts
Compare CIT Bank vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
Compare Wealthfront vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
High Rates (With Checking Bundle)
Looking for something different? Check out these top-rated alternatives.