Betterment vs. CIT Bank
Betterment's Cash Reserve pays 4.00% APY while CIT Bank's Platinum Savings pays 3.75% APY.
See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.
The Bottom Line
Who pays more interest on $10,000? CIT Bank pays $31 more than Betterment annually ($375 vs $344).
Choose CIT Bank if getting the best rate matters most, or you want Zelle for quick transfers.
| Metric | BettermentCash Reserve Sep 11, 2026 | CIT BankPlatinum Savings Sep 11, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.25% - 4.00% | 0.25% - 3.75% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$172 $10,000+$344 $25,000+$859 | $5,000+$188 $10,000+$375 $25,000+$938 |
Min. Deposit | $0 | $100 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
Terms | - | This is a tiered savings account, where the stated APY requires meeting the $5,000 balance requirement. Lower balances earn a lower APY. |
| Features | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android App | FDIC InsuredMod. MinimumGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppZelle® SupportedDaily CompoundingStable Rate |
Prefer In-Person Banking?
Both of these institutions are online-only. If you need in-branch access, check out our list of savings accounts with brick-and-mortar locations.
Comparison Analysis
Comparing Betterment vs. CIT Bank
Executive Summary
Betterment offers a competitive Cash Reserve account with a 4.00% APY, requiring no minimum balance or direct deposit, making it a straightforward option for savers. In comparison, CIT Bank's Platinum Savings account provides a lower APY of 3.75%, which is contingent upon maintaining a $5,000 balance. While CIT Bank also has a Savings Connect account yielding 3.65%, the Cash Reserve's higher APY and ease of access position Betterment as the preferred choice for those seeking simplicity and higher returns.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why Betterment?
- Higher potential APY (4.00% vs 3.65%-3.75%) for a duration of 3 months
Why CIT Bank?
- Offers 2 different high-yield savings options
- Fast transfers via Zelle®
Key Feature Differences
Better Returns at $10,000
CIT BankCIT Bank's Platinum Savings earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $375 vs $344/yr).
Better Returns at $25,000
CIT BankCIT Bank's Platinum Savings pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $938 vs $859/yr).
Better for Simplicity
BettermentBetterment's Cash Reserve offers 4.00% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Shared Benefits
Over a 1-year period, CIT Bank's Platinum Savings pays $31 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Betterment's Cash Reserve.
*This comparison accounts for Betterment's introductory promotional rate, yet CIT Bank's standard rate still yields a higher 1-year return.
Non-sponsored link to official site
Non-sponsored link to official site
Top Market Contenders
Betterment vs. CIT Bank Savings Calculator
You earn $29.9 more with CIT Bank than Betterment on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.
*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.
Betterment
Cash Reserve
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$345.10(3.3%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,345.10
CIT Bank
Platinum Savings
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$375.00(3.6%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,375.00
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $339 a year in interest.
Both Betterment and CIT Bank advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | Betterment | CIT Bank |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 4.00% Range: 3.25% - 4.00% Observed: 9/11/2026 Stable over 90 days | 3.75% Range: 0.25% - 3.75% Observed: 9/11/2026 Stable over 90 days |
| Product Name | Cash Reserve | Platinum Savings |
| Minimum Deposit | $0 | $100 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $0 | $5,000 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Compound Frequency | N/A | Daily |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | None | None |
| Checking Bundle | No | No |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | Yes | YesVerify FDIC |
| Zelle® Support | Not Supported | Available Supported for eChecking users post-First Citizens merger. |
| BBB Rating | A | A+ |
| Important Notes | - | This is a tiered savings account, where the stated APY requires meeting the $5,000 balance requirement. Lower balances earn a lower APY. |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at Betterment Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteVerify at CIT Bank Non-sponsored link to official site |
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Historical Performance
| Metric | Betterment |
|---|---|
| Cash Reserve | |
Current APY | 4.00% |
Trend | Stable |
Speed of change | 0.02 |
Days Since Change | 136 |
8-Month High | 4.00% |
8-Month Low | 3.90% |
Changes per month | 0.13 |
Steadiness | 0.013 |
How to read these metrics(Click to expand)
Trends and speed
- Trend: The general direction of the rate over the analyzed period. Useful for seeing whether a bank is raising its rate or letting it slip.
- Speed of change: How fast the rate moves. A high positive number means they raise rates quickly. A reading of 0.10 is a tenth of a percentage point each month.
- Changes per month: How often the rate moves. A high number means it changes constantly; a low number means it holds.
Risk & Range
- High/Low: The absolute ceiling and floor of the rate during the 230-day window.
- Steadiness: How far the rate swings around its average. A lower score means a steadier, more predictable rate.
- Days Since Change: A high number, for example above 90, means the rate rarely moves. A low number means it changed recently.
Compare Similar High-Yield Accounts
Compare Betterment vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
Compare CIT Bank vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
High Rates (With Checking Bundle)
Looking for something different? Check out these top-rated alternatives.
More Comparisons
Compare Betterment's APY of 4.00% with other banks
| Bank Pair | Competitor APY | Min Deposit |
|---|---|---|
| Betterment vs Ally Bank | 3.00% | $0 |
| Betterment vs American Express | 3.00% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Axos Bank | 4.21% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Barclays | 3.65% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Capital One | 3.50% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Chime | 3.75% | $0 |
| Betterment vs EverBank | 3.90% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs | 3.40% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Newtek Bank | 4.20% | $100 |
| Betterment vs Openbank | 3.80% | $500 |
| Betterment vs Pibank | 4.10% | $0 |
| Betterment vs SoFi Bank | 4.00% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Synchrony Bank | 3.30% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Varo Bank | 3.75% | $0 |
| Betterment vs Wealthfront | 3.95% | $0 |