Skip to main content
High-Yield Savings Account Comparison

Chime vs. Wealthfront

Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays 3.75% APY while Wealthfront's Cash Account pays 3.95% APY.

Note: Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account also needs a checking account.

See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.

Analysis by Aviel Fahl
Newest reading September 7, 2026

The Bottom Line

Who pays more interest on $10,000? Chime pays $29 more than Wealthfront annually ($375 vs $346).

Choose Chime if getting the best rate matters most, or BBB rating matters to you. Choose Wealthfront if you want a no-strings-attached account.

Important Considerations

Confirmed:

Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays its top rate only if you also open a checking account with Chime, while Wealthfront's Cash Account stands alone.

Comparison of Chime vs Wealthfront savings accounts
Metric

Chime

Chime High-Yield Savings Account

Sep 7, 2026

Wealthfront

Cash Account

Sep 5, 2026
APY3.75%3.30% - 3.95%
Earns in a year
$5,000+$188
$10,000+$375
$25,000+$938
$5,000+$173
$10,000+$346
$25,000+$866
Min. Deposit
$0$0

Snapshot view. Rates subject to change.

Terms
-Wealthfront is not a bank but a financial services company. It is FDIC-insured through its many partner banks. New clients get the stated APY for 3 months, after which a lower APY applies. See terms at Wealthfront.
Features
FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDirect Deposit ReqChecking BundleDaily Compounding
FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDaily Compounding

Prefer In-Person Banking?

Both of these institutions are online-only. If you need in-branch access, check out our list of savings accounts with brick-and-mortar locations.

Find In-Branch Access

Comparison Analysis

Comparing Chime vs. Wealthfront

Newest reading:

Executive Summary

Wealthfront's Cash Account offers a higher APY of 3.95%, making it the winner in this comparison. This account does not require a checking account or direct deposit, providing a straightforward option for savers. In contrast, Chime's High-Yield Savings Account offers a competitive APY of 3.75% but requires a checking account and direct deposit to maximize benefits. Both accounts are online-only and FDIC-insured, catering to a national audience. Wealthfront's promotional APY is available for new clients for three months, after which it reverts to a lower rate.

The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records

* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.

Why Chime?

No distinct advantages found vs Wealthfront.

Why Wealthfront?

  • Higher potential APY (3.95% vs 3.75%) for a duration of 3 months
  • No checking account or direct deposit required

Key Feature Differences

Better Returns at $10,000
Chime

Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $375 vs $346/yr).

Better Returns at $25,000
Chime

Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $938 vs $866/yr).

Better for Simplicity
Wealthfront

Wealthfront's Cash Account offers 3.95% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.

Better for All-in-One Banking
Chime

Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays a superior APY for customers who also open a checking account.

Shared Benefits

Both offer monthly maintenance-free account options Both banks have options with $0 opening deposit Available Nationwide Available to New & Existing Customers
The Bottom Line on APY (Interest Only)

Over a 1-year period, Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays $29 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Wealthfront's Cash Account.

*This comparison accounts for Wealthfront's introductory promotional rate, yet Chime's standard rate still yields a higher 1-year return.

WealthfrontChime
Verify At
Chime

Non-sponsored link to official site

Verify At
Wealthfront

Non-sponsored link to official site

Top Market Contenders

SoFi Bank
4.00% APY
Barclays
3.65% APY
Axos Bank
4.21% APY

Chime vs. Wealthfront Savings Calculator

Calculations based on current APY for Chime High-Yield Savings Account and Cash Account
$
$

You earn $27.5 more with Chime than Wealthfront on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.

*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.

Chime

Chime High-Yield Savings Account

3.75% APY

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$375.00(3.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $0
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$10,375.00

Effective APY
3.75%

Wealthfront

Cash Account

3.95% APY
Promo Rate: 3.95% for 3 months, then 3.30%.

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$347.50(3.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $0
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$10,347.50

Effective APY
3.47%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

Still at a large branch bank?

A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $341 a year in interest.

Both Chime and Wealthfront advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.

0.05% APY at a typical branch bank, against 3.75%+ here
See the highest rates
FeatureChimeWealthfront
APY
3.75%
Observed: 9/7/2026
Stable over 90 days
3.95%
Range: 3.30% - 3.95%
Observed: 9/5/2026
0.05%90-day change
Product NameChime High-Yield Savings AccountCash Account
Minimum Deposit$0$0
Min. Balance for APY$0.01$0
Monthly Fee$0$0
Compound FrequencyDailyDaily
In-Branch AccessNoNo
Account Type
Online Only
Online Only
Physical BranchesNot reportedNot reported
Direct Deposit Req.
Required
None
Checking Bundle YesNo
Mobile Apps
iOS4.8
Android4.7
iOS4.8
Android4.9
FDIC or NCUA Insured
Yes
Yes
Zelle® Support
Not Supported
Not Supported
BBB RatingA+F
Important Notes-Wealthfront is not a bank but a financial services company. It is FDIC-insured through its many partner banks. New clients get the stated APY for 3 months, after which a lower APY applies. See terms at Wealthfront.
Next Steps
Visit Site

Non-sponsored link to official site

Visit Site

Non-sponsored link to official site

Compare Savings Rates Over Time

No historical data available for these banks.

More Comparisons

Compare Chime's APY of 3.75% with other banks
Compare Wealthfront's APY of 3.95% with other banks