Skip to main content

UFB Direct savings and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 35546Assets $28.2B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 3, 2026

UFB Direct advertises 3.46% APY on its UFB Checking and Savings Bundle account. That is 3.08 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required. Direct deposit is required.

Ranked #81 of 337 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #59. It was #77 three months ago. The advertised rate has not changed in the 30 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What UFB Direct actually pays

Key facts

UFB Direct at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY3.46% · UFB Checking and Savings Bundle · checking account required · requires direct deposit
Minimum to open$5,000 · UFB Checking and Savings Bundle
Against the national average3.08 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY3.26% · UFB Portfolio Money Market
Minimum to open$0 · UFB Portfolio Money Market
Against the national average2.63 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
UFB Direct bank facts
FDIC certificate35546 · San Diego, CA
Websitewww.ufbdirect.com
AvailabilityNationally available
Rates

UFB Direct savings and money market rates

3.46% APY
UFB Checking and Savings Bundle
$5,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 3, 2026
Sponsored Open account
3.26% APY
UFB Portfolio Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 3, 2026
3.26% APY
UFB Portfolio Money Market
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 3, 2026
Sponsored Open account
$10 monthly fee, waived with a $5,000 balance.

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for UFB Direct

All calculations are based on APY.

$

Minimum balance for APY: $10,000

$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$2,088.60(10.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $5,000

Projected Balance

$20,088.60

Effective APY
3.46%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What UFB Direct pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

3.08%
Q1 2026 ·
3.46% APY
As observed Sep 3, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Axos Bank paid a higher average rate than 87% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$22.7B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
15.3%
Q1 2026
$28.2B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Axos Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
UFB Checking and Savings Bundle3.46%$5,000$0None$0Direct deposit · Checking accountOne rate
UFB Portfolio Savings3.26%$0$0None$0NoneOne rate
UFB Portfolio Money Market3.26%$0$0None$10/month, waived with $5,000 balancenot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityNationally available
App Store rating4.8 out of 5
Google Play rating4.3 out of 5
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How UFB Direct behaves over time

12-month high
4.21%
12-month low
3.46%
Advertised now
3.46%
0.75 percentage points below the 12-month high

The advertised UFB Checking and Savings Bundle rate, observed through Sep 3, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

UFB Direct has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 30 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

UFB Checking and Savings Bundle
The same as 90 days ago.
UFB Portfolio Money Market
The same as 90 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 1, 2026(effective date)

At the top advertised rates we observed for UFB Direct's UFB Checking and Savings Bundle, $10,000 would have grown to about $10,359 over the past year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). So it buys as much as $10,022 did a year ago. The top rate requires direct deposit. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

  • UFB Checking and Savings Bundle APY
  • Banksparency savings index
  • Consumer price index, year over year
  • Fed rate cut
UFB Direct UFB Checking and Savings Bundle advertised APY, as observed, Sep 2025 Sep 2026, against the banksparency savings index. Shaded bands mark Federal Reserve rate cuts.
Identity

Who is UFB Direct?

HeadquartersSan Diego, CA
Founded2000
Scale$28.2B assets · $22.7B deposits, $19.2B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 35546
BBB ratingA+ · BBB Accredited
AffiliationUFB Direct is a division of Axos Bank, holding company of Axos Financial, Inc. (NYSE: AX)
Affiliated institutionAxos Bank

Financial detail is in What UFB Direct pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about UFB Direct

Is UFB Direct FDIC insured?

Yes. UFB Direct is FDIC insured under certificate 35546, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at UFB Direct?

UFB Direct requires a minimum deposit of $5,000 to open its UFB Checking and Savings Bundle account, as observed on Sep 3, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Compare

UFB Direct against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
UFB Direct3.46%3.08%$5,000not stated
Capital One3.50%3.03%$0252 branches across 9 states
E*TRADE from Morgan Stanley3.50%2.50%$01 branch in NY
Northeast Bank3.50%3.64%$2,5009 branches in ME

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to UFB Direct's.

Compare UFB Direct with another bank

Each link opens a full comparison page, with the two banks side by side and their current savings rates.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates