Skip to main content
High-Yield Savings Account Comparison

Citizens Access™ vs. Wealthfront

Citizens Access™'s Citizens Access® Savings pays 2.80% APY while Wealthfront's Cash Account pays 3.95% APY.

See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.

Analysis by Aviel Fahl
Newest reading September 11, 2026

The Bottom Line

Who pays more interest on $10,000? Wealthfront pays $66 more than Citizens Access™ annually ($346 vs $280).

Choose Citizens Access™ if BBB rating matters to you, or choose Wealthfront if getting the best rate matters most.

Comparison of Citizens Access™ vs Wealthfront savings accounts
Metric

Citizens Access™

Citizens Access® Savings

Sep 9, 2026

Wealthfront

Cash Account

Sep 11, 2026
APY2.80%3.30% - 3.95%
Earns in a year
$5,000+$140
$10,000+$280
$25,000+$700
$5,000+$173
$10,000+$346
$25,000+$866
Min. Deposit
$0.01$0

Snapshot view. Rates subject to change.

Terms
-Wealthfront is not a bank but a financial services company. It is FDIC-insured through its many partner banks. New clients get the stated APY for 3 months, after which a lower APY applies. See terms at Wealthfront.
Features
FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDaily CompoundingRate Changes Often
FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDaily Compounding

Prefer In-Person Banking?

Both of these institutions are online-only. If you need in-branch access, check out our list of savings accounts with brick-and-mortar locations.

Find In-Branch Access

Comparison Analysis

Comparing Citizens Access™ vs. Wealthfront

Newest reading:

Executive Summary

Wealthfront offers a Cash Account with a promotional APY of 3.95%, significantly higher than Citizens Access™ Savings, which has a steady APY of 2.80%. Wealthfront's account provides better returns, especially for larger deposits, and does not require direct deposit or bundling. However, the higher rate from Wealthfront is time-limited, reverting to a lower base APY after three months. Citizens Access™ Savings, while having a lower APY, requires a minimum deposit of $1 and has no maintenance fees, making it a viable option for those seeking simplicity without promotional conditions.

The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records

* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.

Why Citizens Access™?

No distinct advantages found vs Wealthfront.

Why Wealthfront?

  • Higher potential APY (3.95% vs 2.80%) on all balances
  • No checking account or direct deposit required

Key Feature Differences

Better Returns at $10,000
Wealthfront

Wealthfront's Cash Account earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $346 vs $280/yr).

Better Returns at $25,000
Wealthfront

Wealthfront's Cash Account pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $866 vs $700/yr).

Better for Simplicity
Wealthfront

Wealthfront's Cash Account offers 3.95% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.

Shared Benefits

Both offer monthly maintenance-free account options Available Nationwide Available to New & Existing Customers
The Bottom Line on APY (Interest Only)PROMO DETECTED

Over a 1-year period (factoring in a 3-month promo), Wealthfront's Cash Account pays $66 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Citizens Access™'s Citizens Access® Savings.

*Wealthfront's calculation includes their 3-month introductory promotional rate and subsequent standard rate.

Citizens Access™Wealthfront
Verify At
Citizens Access™

Non-sponsored link to official site

Verify At
Wealthfront

Non-sponsored link to official site

Top Market Contenders

Citizens Access™ vs. Wealthfront Savings Calculator

Calculations based on current APY for Citizens Access® Savings and Cash Account
$
$

You earn $67.5 more with Wealthfront than Citizens Access™ on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.

*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.

Citizens Access™

Citizens Access® Savings

2.80% APY

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$280.00(2.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $0
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$10,280.00

Effective APY
2.80%

Wealthfront

Cash Account

3.95% APY
Promo Rate: 3.95% for 3 months, then 3.30%.

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$347.50(3.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $0
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$10,347.50

Effective APY
3.47%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

Still at a large branch bank?

A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $275 a year in interest.

Both Citizens Access™ and Wealthfront advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.

0.05% APY at a typical branch bank, against 2.80%+ here
See the highest rates
FeatureCitizens Access™Wealthfront
APY
2.80%
Observed: 9/9/2026
0.20%90-day change
3.95%
Range: 3.30% - 3.95%
Observed: 9/11/2026
0.05%90-day change
Product NameCitizens Access® SavingsCash Account
Minimum Deposit$0.01$0
Min. Balance for APY$0.01$0
Monthly Fee$0$0
Compound FrequencyDailyDaily
In-Branch AccessNoNo
Account Type
Online Only
Online Only
Physical BranchesNot reportedNot reported
Direct Deposit Req.NoneNone
Checking BundleNoNo
Mobile Apps
iOS4.9
Android4.8
iOS4.8
Android4.9
FDIC or NCUA Insured
Yes
Zelle® Support
Not Supported
Not Supported
BBB RatingA+F
Important Notes-Wealthfront is not a bank but a financial services company. It is FDIC-insured through its many partner banks. New clients get the stated APY for 3 months, after which a lower APY applies. See terms at Wealthfront.
Next Steps
Visit Site

Non-sponsored link to official site

Visit Site

Non-sponsored link to official site

Compare Savings Rates Over Time

No historical data available for these banks.

More Comparisons

Compare Citizens Access™'s APY of 2.80% with other banks
Compare Wealthfront's APY of 3.95% with other banks