Chime vs. Pibank
Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays 3.75% APY while Pibank's Pibank Savings pays 4.10% APY.
Note: Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account also needs a checking account.
See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.
The Bottom Line
Who pays more interest on $10,000? Pibank pays $35 more than Chime annually ($410 vs $375).
Choose Chime if mobile app quality matters. Choose Pibank if getting the best rate matters most, or you want a no-strings-attached account.
Important Considerations
Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays its top rate only if you also open a checking account with Chime, while Pibank's Pibank Savings stands alone.
| Metric | ChimeChime High-Yield Savings Account Sep 7, 2026 | PibankPibank Savings Sep 5, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.75% | 4.10% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$188 $10,000+$375 $25,000+$938 | $5,000+$205 $10,000+$410 $25,000+$1,025 |
Min. Deposit | $0 | $0 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
| Features | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDirect Deposit ReqChecking BundleDaily Compounding | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsDaily CompoundingStable Rate |
Prefer In-Person Banking?
Both of these institutions are online-only. If you need in-branch access, check out our list of savings accounts with brick-and-mortar locations.
Executive Summary
Pibank offers a higher APY of 4.10% on its Pibank Savings account, making it the more attractive option compared to Chime's High-Yield Savings Account, which has an APY of 3.75%. Pibank does not require direct deposit and has no bundling, providing a simpler experience for savers. Both accounts are online-only and have no maintenance fees, but Chime requires direct deposit to access its higher yield. For those looking for higher returns, particularly at larger deposit amounts, Pibank stands out as the better choice.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why Chime?
- Higher rated iOS app (4.8 vs 2.1)
- Higher rated Android app (4.7 vs 1.8)
Why Pibank?
- Higher potential APY (4.10% vs 3.75%) on all balances
- No checking account or direct deposit required
Key Feature Differences
Better Returns at $10,000
PibankPibank's Pibank Savings earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $410 vs $375/yr).
Better Returns at $25,000
PibankPibank's Pibank Savings pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $1025 vs $938/yr).
Better for Simplicity
PibankPibank's Pibank Savings offers 4.10% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Better Mobile App Experience
ChimeChime offers an iOS app rated 4.8 (vs. 2.1) and Android app rated 4.7 (vs. 1.8)
Shared Benefits
Over a 1-year period, Pibank's Pibank Savings pays $35 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account.
*This calculation assumes current rates remain consistent for 1 year and does not include temporary bonuses.
Non-sponsored link to official site
Non-sponsored link to official site
Top Market Contenders
Chime vs. Pibank Savings Calculator
You earn $35 more with Pibank than Chime on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.
*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.
Chime
Chime High-Yield Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$375.00(3.6%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,375.00
Pibank
Pibank Savings
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$410.00(3.9%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,410.00
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $370 a year in interest.
Both Chime and Pibank advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | Chime | Pibank |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.75% Observed: 9/7/2026 Stable over 90 days | 4.10% Observed: 9/5/2026 0.30%90-day change |
| Product Name | Chime High-Yield Savings Account | Pibank Savings |
| Minimum Deposit | $0 | $0 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $0.01 | $0.01 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Compound Frequency | Daily | Daily |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | Required | None |
| Checking Bundle | Yes | No |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | Yes | YesVerify FDIC |
| Zelle® Support | Not Supported | Not Supported |
| BBB Rating | A+ | A+ |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at Chime Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteVerify at Pibank Non-sponsored link to official site |
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Compare Similar Alternatives
Compare Chime vs...
Comparing against other Bundled Accounts
Compare Pibank vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings