Affirm vs. Chime
Affirm's Affirm Money Account pays 3.20% APY while Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays 3.75% APY.
Note: Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account also needs a checking account.
See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.
The Bottom Line
Who pays more interest on $10,000? Chime pays $55 more than Affirm annually ($375 vs $320).
Choose Affirm if you want a no-strings-attached account. Choose Chime if getting the best rate matters most.
Important Considerations
Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays its top rate only if you also open a checking account with Chime, while Affirm's Affirm Money Account stands alone.
| Metric | AffirmAffirm Money Account Sep 2, 2026 | ChimeChime High-Yield Savings Account Sep 7, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.20% | 3.75% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$160 $10,000+$320 $25,000+$800 | $5,000+$188 $10,000+$375 $25,000+$938 |
Min. Deposit | $0 | $0 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
Terms | While Affirm is not a bank, it is FDIC-insured through partner Cross River Bank. | - |
| Features | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDaily CompoundingRate Changes Often | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDirect Deposit ReqChecking BundleDaily Compounding |
Market Reality Check
Both of these institutions offer rates below the top 10 savings and money market accounts we track. Those institutions all pay at least 4.01% APY.
Executive Summary
Chime offers a competitive edge with its High-Yield Savings Account, providing a notable 3.75% APY, which is higher than Affirm's 3.20% APY for its Money Account. While Chime requires a checking account and direct deposit to access its APY, it proves advantageous for those looking to maximize returns on both small and large deposits. In contrast, Affirm's account is simpler, with no direct deposit requirement and no maintenance fees, making it a good option for those seeking straightforward savings. Both accounts are online-only and FDIC-insured.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why Affirm?
- No checking account or direct deposit required
Why Chime?
- Higher potential APY (3.75% vs 3.20%) on all balances
Key Feature Differences
Better Returns at $10,000
ChimeChime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $375 vs $320/yr).
Better Returns at $25,000
ChimeChime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $938 vs $800/yr).
Better for Simplicity
AffirmAffirm's Affirm Money Account offers 3.20% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Better for All-in-One Banking
ChimeChime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays a superior APY for customers who also open a checking account.
Shared Benefits
Over a 1-year period, Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays $55 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Affirm's Affirm Money Account.
*This calculation assumes current rates remain consistent for 1 year and does not include temporary bonuses.
Non-sponsored link to official site
Non-sponsored link to official site
Top Market Contenders
Affirm vs. Chime Savings Calculator
You earn $55 more with Chime than Affirm on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.
*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.
Affirm
Affirm Money Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$320.00(3.1%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,320.00
Chime
Chime High-Yield Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$375.00(3.6%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,375.00
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $315 a year in interest.
Both Affirm and Chime advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | Affirm | Chime |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.20% Observed: 9/2/2026 Stable over 90 days | 3.75% Observed: 9/7/2026 Stable over 90 days |
| Product Name | Affirm Money Account | Chime High-Yield Savings Account |
| Minimum Deposit | $0 | $0 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $0 | $0.01 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Compound Frequency | Daily | Daily |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | None | Required |
| Checking Bundle | No | Yes |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | YesVerify FDIC | Yes |
| Zelle® Support | Not Supported | Not Supported |
| BBB Rating | A+ | A+ |
| Important Notes | While Affirm is not a bank, it is FDIC-insured through partner Cross River Bank. | - |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at Affirm Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteVerify at Chime Non-sponsored link to official site |
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Compare Similar Alternatives
Compare Affirm vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
Compare Chime vs...
Comparing against other Bundled Accounts
More Comparisons
Compare Affirm's APY of 3.20% with other banks
| Bank Pair | Competitor APY | Min Deposit |
|---|---|---|
| Affirm vs Ally Bank | 3.00% | $0 |
| Affirm vs American Express | 3.00% | $0 |
| Affirm vs Axos Bank | 4.21% | $0 |
| Affirm vs Barclays | 3.65% | $0 |
| Affirm vs Capital One | 3.50% | $0 |
| Affirm vs CIT Bank | 3.75% | $100 |
| Affirm vs EverBank | 3.90% | $0 |
| Affirm vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs | 3.40% | $0 |
| Affirm vs Newtek Bank | 4.20% | $100 |
| Affirm vs Openbank | 3.80% | $500 |
| Affirm vs Pibank | 4.10% | $0 |
| Affirm vs SoFi Bank | 4.00% | $0 |
| Affirm vs Synchrony Bank | 3.30% | $0 |
| Affirm vs Varo Bank | 3.75% | $0 |
| Affirm vs Wealthfront | 3.95% | $0 |