Chime vs. Fitness Bank
Fitness Bank edges out Chime slightly at 3.80% vs 3.75% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the difference is just $5 per year, so other factors may matter more.
The Bottom Line
The Chime and Fitness Bank savings accounts are very similar. Choose Chime if you're an iPhone user.
Important Considerations
Both Chime High-Yield Savings Account and Fitness Elite Checking & Fitness Savings Combo pay their top rate only if you also open a checking account at the same institution.
| Metric | ChimeChime High-Yield Savings Account Sep 12, 2026 | Fitness BankFitness Elite Checking & Fitness Savings Combo Sep 14, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.75% | 3.80% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$188 $10,000+$375 $25,000+$938 | $5,000+$190 $10,000+$380 $25,000+$950 |
Min. Deposit | $0 | $100 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
Terms | - | This is a tiered account. To earn the highest tier you must track at least 12,500 avg. daily steps using the FitnessBank Step Tracker app as well as maintain a balance of $100. Failure to do so will result in a lower APY. See bank for more details and all tiers. |
| Features | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDirect Deposit ReqChecking BundleDaily Compounding | FDIC InsuredLow MinimumsChecking BundleDaily CompoundingRate Changes Often |
Market Reality Check
Both of these institutions offer rates below the top 10 savings and money market accounts we track. Those institutions all pay at least 4.20% APY.
Comparison Analysis
Comparing Chime vs. Fitness Bank
Executive Summary
Chime last changed on April 30, 2026, up 75 basis points; Fitness Bank last changed on September 8, 2026, down 25 basis points. At a balance of $10,000, Chime offers an APY of 3.75%, while Fitness Bank offers an APY of 3.80%. Fitness Bank has led since at least February 17, 2026, with a gap of 5 basis points over Chime. Both banks have a minimum balance requirement of $0 for their respective accounts.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why Chime?
- Higher rated iOS app (4.8 vs 1.7)
- Higher rated Android app (4.7 vs 0.0)
Why Fitness Bank?
- Offers 3 different high-yield savings options
Key Feature Differences
Better for Simplicity
Fitness BankFitness Bank's Fitness Savings Account offers 3.50% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Requires Banking Relationship
Chime High-Yield Savings Account and Fitness Elite Checking & Fitness Savings Combo both require a checking account bundle to pay their highest rates.
Better Mobile App Experience
ChimeChime offers an iOS app rated 4.8 (vs. 1.7) and Android app rated 4.7 (vs. 0.0)
Shared Benefits
Over a 1-year period, Fitness Bank's Fitness Elite Checking & Fitness Savings Combo pays $5 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account.
*This calculation assumes current rates remain consistent for 1 year and does not include temporary bonuses.
Non-sponsored link to official site
Non-sponsored link to official site
Top Market Contenders
Chime vs. Fitness Bank Savings Calculator
You earn $5 more with Fitness Bank than Chime on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.
*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.
Chime
Chime High-Yield Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$375.00(3.6%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,375.00
Fitness Bank
Fitness Elite Checking & Fitness Savings Combo
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$380.00(3.7%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,380.00
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $370 a year in interest.
Both Chime and Fitness Bank advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | Chime | Fitness Bank |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.75% Observed: 9/12/2026 Stable over 90 days | 3.80% Observed: 9/14/2026 0.50%90-day change |
| Product Name | Chime High-Yield Savings Account | Fitness Elite Checking & Fitness Savings Combo |
| Minimum Deposit | $0 | $100 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $0.01 | $100 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $10. Waived for average daily balances > $100 |
| Compound Frequency | Daily | Daily |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | Required | None |
| Checking Bundle | Yes | Yes |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | Yes | YesVerify FDIC |
| Zelle® Support | Not Supported | Not Supported |
| BBB Rating | A+ | A+ |
| Important Notes | - | This is a tiered account. To earn the highest tier you must track at least 12,500 avg. daily steps using the FitnessBank Step Tracker app as well as maintain a balance of $100. Failure to do so will result in a lower APY. See bank for more details and all tiers. |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at Chime Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteVerify at Fitness Bank Non-sponsored link to official site |
What each bank pays on deposits
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
Chime
Chime is not a bank and files no call report. Its deposits are held at partner banks.
Each figure is that bank's own charter-level average across its whole deposit book, so the two are shown one after the other and are not a ranking.
Fitness Bank
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q2 2026, Affinity Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 93% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Historical Performance
| Metric | Fitness Bank | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness Savings Account | Fitness Elite Checking & Fitness Savings Combo | Senior Fitness Savings Account | |
Current APY | 3.50% | 3.80% | 3.50% |
Trend | Stable | Stable | Stable |
Speed of change | -0.11 | -0.11 | -0.12 |
Days Since Change | 6 | 6 | 6 |
7-Month High | 4.00% | 4.30% | 4.20% |
7-Month Low | 3.50% | 3.80% | 3.50% |
Changes per month | 0.29 | 0.29 | 0.43 |
Steadiness | 0.056 | 0.052 | 0.073 |
How to read these metrics(Click to expand)
Trends and speed
- Trend: The general direction of the rate over the analyzed period. Useful for seeing whether a bank is raising its rate or letting it slip.
- Speed of change: How fast the rate moves. A high positive number means they raise rates quickly. A reading of 0.10 is a tenth of a percentage point each month.
- Changes per month: How often the rate moves. A high number means it changes constantly; a low number means it holds.
Risk & Range
- High/Low: The absolute ceiling and floor of the rate during the 209-day window.
- Steadiness: How far the rate swings around its average. A lower score means a steadier, more predictable rate.
- Days Since Change: A high number, for example above 90, means the rate rarely moves. A low number means it changed recently.
Compare Similar High-Yield Accounts
Compare Chime vs...
Comparing against other Bundled Accounts
Compare Fitness Bank vs...
Comparing against other Bundled Accounts
Simpler Options (No Bundles)
Looking for something different? Check out these top-rated alternatives.
More Comparisons
Compare Chime's APY of 3.75% with other banks
Compare Fitness Bank's APY of 3.80% with other banks
| Bank Pair | Competitor APY | Min Deposit |
|---|---|---|
| Fitness Bank vs Ally Bank | 3.00% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs American Express | 3.00% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs Axos Bank | 4.21% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs Barclays | 3.65% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs Capital One | 3.50% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs CIT Bank | 3.75% | $100 |
| Fitness Bank vs EverBank | 3.90% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs | 3.40% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs Newtek Bank | 4.20% | $100 |
| Fitness Bank vs Openbank | 3.80% | $500 |
| Fitness Bank vs Pibank | 4.10% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs SoFi Bank | 4.00% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs Synchrony Bank | 3.30% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs Varo Bank | 3.75% | $0 |
| Fitness Bank vs Wealthfront | 3.95% | $0 |