BrioDirect vs. Chime
BrioDirect and Chime both offer 3.75% APY on their high-yield savings accounts. With identical rates, your choice comes down to other factors like mobile app quality, branch access, or customer service reputation.
The Bottom Line
The BrioDirect and Chime savings accounts are very similar. Choose BrioDirect if you want a no-strings-attached account, or you want Zelle for quick transfers. Choose Chime if BBB rating matters to you, or you're an Android user.
Important Considerations
Chime's Chime High-Yield Savings Account pays its top rate only if you also open a checking account with Chime, while BrioDirect's High-Yield Savings Account stands alone.
| Metric | BrioDirectHigh-Yield Savings Account Sep 11, 2026 | ChimeChime High-Yield Savings Account Sep 11, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.75% | 3.75% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$188 $10,000+$375 $25,000+$938 | $5,000+$188 $10,000+$375 $25,000+$938 |
Min. Deposit | $5,000 | $0 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
| Features | FDIC InsuredMod. MinimumGreat iOS AppZelle® SupportedDaily CompoundingRate Changes Often | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDirect Deposit ReqChecking BundleDaily Compounding |
Market Reality Check
Both of these institutions offer rates below the top 10 savings and money market accounts we track. Those institutions all pay at least 4.01% APY.
Comparison Analysis
Comparing BrioDirect vs. Chime
Executive Summary
Both BrioDirect and Chime offer competitive High-Yield Savings Accounts with an APY of 3.75%. BrioDirect's account stands out for its simplicity, requiring no direct deposit and no bundling, with a minimum deposit of $500,000 and a minimum balance of $2,500. In contrast, Chime's account requires direct deposit but has a much lower minimum balance of only $1 and no minimum deposit. Chime also emphasizes a better mobile app experience, which may appeal to users looking for convenience. Both accounts are online-only and nationally available.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why BrioDirect?
- No checking account or direct deposit required
- Fast transfers via Zelle®
Why Chime?
- Higher rated Android app (4.7 vs 3.9)
Key Feature Differences
Better for Simplicity
BrioDirectBrioDirect's High-Yield Savings Account offers 3.75% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Better Mobile App Experience
ChimeChime offers an iOS app rated 4.8 (vs. 4.7) and Android app rated 4.7 (vs. 3.9)
Shared Benefits
Non-sponsored link to official site
Non-sponsored link to official site
Top Market Contenders
BrioDirect vs. Chime Savings Calculator
Both accounts earn exactly the same amount.
BrioDirect
High-Yield Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$375.00(3.6%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,375.00
Chime
Chime High-Yield Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$375.00(3.6%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,375.00
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $370 a year in interest.
Both BrioDirect and Chime advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | BrioDirect | Chime |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.75% Observed: 9/11/2026 Stable over 90 days | 3.75% Observed: 9/11/2026 Stable over 90 days |
| Product Name | High-Yield Savings Account | Chime High-Yield Savings Account |
| Minimum Deposit | $5,000 | $0 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $25 | $0.01 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Compound Frequency | Daily | Daily |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | None | Required |
| Checking Bundle | No | Yes |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | YesVerify FDIC | Yes |
| Zelle® Support | Available Accessed via the Webster Bank mobile app. | Not Supported |
| BBB Rating | B | A+ |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at BrioDirect Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteVerify at Chime Non-sponsored link to official site |
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Compare Similar Alternatives
Compare BrioDirect vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
Compare Chime vs...
Comparing against other Bundled Accounts
More Comparisons
Compare BrioDirect's APY of 3.75% with other banks
| Bank Pair | Competitor APY | Min Deposit |
|---|---|---|
| BrioDirect vs Ally Bank | 3.00% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs American Express | 3.00% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs Axos Bank | 4.21% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs Barclays | 3.65% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs Capital One | 3.50% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs CIT Bank | 3.75% | $100 |
| BrioDirect vs EverBank | 3.90% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs | 3.40% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs Newtek Bank | 4.20% | $100 |
| BrioDirect vs Openbank | 3.80% | $500 |
| BrioDirect vs Pibank | 4.10% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs SoFi Bank | 4.00% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs Synchrony Bank | 3.30% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs Varo Bank | 3.75% | $0 |
| BrioDirect vs Wealthfront | 3.95% | $0 |