Skip to main content

Farmers and Merchants Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 16810Assets $1.0B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Farmers and Merchants Bank advertises 0.30% APY on its Savings account. The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

That is 0.08 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #333 of 679 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #269.

Estimate your earnings·What Farmers and Merchants Bank actually pays

Key facts

Farmers and Merchants Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.30% · Savings · needs at least $10,000
Minimum to open$10 · Savings
Against the national average0.08 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.96% · 7 months · 7 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$5,000 · 7 months CD
Against the national average2.55 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.50% · Money Market · needs at least $75,000
Minimum to opennot stated · Money Market
Against the national average0.13 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Farmers and Merchants Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate16810 · Milford, NE
Websitewww.bankfmb.com
Branches12 branches in NE
AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Rates

Farmers and Merchants Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.50% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $75,000

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $25,000 - $74,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.30% APY
Savings
Needs at least $10,000
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $4,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $5,000 - $9,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
Health Savings
Health Savings (HSA)
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.96% APY
Highest CD · 7 months
$5,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

0.50% APY
Variable Rate Individual Retirement Account (IRA)
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 59 savings accounts from 57 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Farmers and Merchants Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months0.60%$1,5003 Month CD
6 months0.95%$1,5006 Month CD
7 months3.96%$5,0007 Month CD Special
12 months1.15%$1,50012 Month CD
18 months1.36%$1,50018 Month CD
24 months1.31%$1,50024 Month CD
30 months1.31%$1,50030 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Farmers and Merchants Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.10% ($0 - $4,999.99), 0.20% ($5,000 - $9,999.99), 0.30% ($10,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$88.60(0.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,088.60

Effective APY
0.24%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Farmers and Merchants Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.27%
Q1 2026 ·
0.30% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

In Q1 2026, Farmers and Merchants Bank paid a higher average rate than 50% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$878M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
6.9%
Q1 2026
$1.0B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Farmers and Merchants Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Savings0.30%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Health Savings0.10%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market0.50%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
Variable Rate Individual Retirement Account (IRA)0.50%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 Month CD3 months0.60%$1,500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months0.95%$1,500not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months3.96%$5,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.15%$1,500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.36%$1,500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months1.31%$1,500not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months1.31%$1,500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Footprint12 branches in NE
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Farmers and Merchants Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.30% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
7 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 26, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.30% APY Farmers and Merchants Bank advertises on Savings grows to $10,030 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,704 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Farmers and Merchants Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Farmers and Merchants Bank?

HeadquartersMilford, NE
Founded1949
Scale$1.0B assets · $878M deposits, $818M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 16810

Financial detail is in What Farmers and Merchants Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Farmers and Merchants Bank

Is Farmers and Merchants Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Farmers and Merchants Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 16810, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Farmers and Merchants Bank?

Farmers and Merchants Bank requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.30% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.30% needs a balance of at least $10,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.

Does Farmers and Merchants Bank have branches?

Yes. Farmers and Merchants Bank operates 12 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Farmers and Merchants Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Farmers and Merchants Bank0.50%2.27%not stated12 branches in NE
Ambler Savings Bank1.25%2.31%$507 branches in PA
Compass Savings Bank0.30%3.18%$251 branch in PA
Farmers State Bank of Western Illinois1.16%1.33%$1,0006 branches in IL

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Farmers and Merchants Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates