Skip to main content

Chester National Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 30220Assets $126M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 25, 2026

Chester National Bank advertises 0.30% APY on its Savings account. That is 0.07 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1108 of 2413 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #932.

Estimate your earnings·What Chester National Bank actually pays

Key facts

Chester National Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.30% · Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Savings
Against the national average0.07 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.81% · 15 months · 15 Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 15 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.83% · Money Market Account · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Account
Against the national average1.20 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Chester National Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate30220 · Chester, IL
Websitewww.chesternationalbank.com
Branches3 branches in IL, MO
AvailabilityAvailable in IL, MO
Rates

Chester National Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.83% APY
Money Market Account
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.40% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
1.01% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.83% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 25, 2026
0.30% APY
Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 25, 2026
0.30% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 25, 2026
3.81% APY
Highest CD · 15 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 25, 2026

IRA

3.30% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 25, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Chester National Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months0.35%$50091 Day CD
6 months1.26%$500182 Day CD
12 months0.70%$5001 Year CD
15 months3.81%$50015 Month CD
18 months0.75%$50018 Month CD
30 months0.96%$50030 Month CD
36 months0.75%$50036 Month CD
48 months0.91%$5004 Year CD
IRA CDs
6 months0.71%$100182 Day IRA
12 months3.30%$1001 Year IRA
30 months1.11%$10030 Month IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Chester National Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$112.20(0.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,112.20

Effective APY
0.30%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Chester National Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.36%
Q2 2026 ·
0.30% APY
As observed Sep 25, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Chester National Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 47% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.51%
Q2 2026 ·
$118M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
11.4%
Q2 2026
$126M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Chester National Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Savings0.30%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Christmas Club0.30%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Money Market Account1.83%$2,500$2,500Nonenot statednot statedTierednot enough history

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months0.35%$500not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months1.26%$500not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months0.70%$500not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months3.81%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months0.75%$500not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months0.96%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months0.75%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months0.91%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
182 Day IRA6 months0.71%$100not statednot stated
1 Year IRA12 months3.30%$100not statednot stated
30 Month IRA30 months1.11%$100not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL, MO
Footprint3 branches in IL, MO
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Chester National Bank behaves over time

$10,000 at the 0.30% APY Chester National Bank advertises on Savings grows to $10,030 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,700 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Chester National Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Chester National Bank?

HeadquartersChester, IL
Founded1919
Scale$126M assets · $118M deposits, $105M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 30220
Charter stateIllinois · one of 325 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size3,380th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 93% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Chester National Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Chester National Bank

Is Chester National Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Chester National Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 30220, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Chester National Bank?

Chester National Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 25, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Chester National Bank have branches?

Yes. Chester National Bank operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Chester National Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Chester National Bank0.30%1.36%$1003 branches in IL, MO
Access Bank0.30%2.75%$1006 branches in NE
Ambler Savings Bank0.30%1.59%$507 branches in PA
Artisans' Bank0.30%0.91%$1,00013 branches in DE

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Chester National Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Illinois, nearest to Chester National Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Illinois.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates