Skip to main content

First State Bank Nebraska savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 13868Assets $1.1B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

First State Bank Nebraska advertises 2.00% APY on its First Rate Savings account. That is 1.63 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #406 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #263. The advertised rate has not changed in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Estimate your earnings·What First State Bank Nebraska actually pays

Key facts

First State Bank Nebraska at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY2.00% · First Rate Savings
Minimum to open$100 · First Rate Savings
Against the national average1.63 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.86% · 24 months · 24-Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 24 months CD
Against the national average2.25 percentage points above the 1.61% FDIC 24-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.50% · Money Market Account · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Account
Against the national average0.87 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
First State Bank Nebraska bank facts
FDIC certificate13868 · Lincoln, NE
Websitewww.1fsb.bank
Branches18 branches in NE
AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Rates

First State Bank Nebraska savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

2.00% APY
First Rate Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to1.50% APY
Money Market Account
Needs at least $250,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
1.25% APY
HSA Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $5,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.50% APY on balances $1,000 - $4,999.99
1.25% APY on balances $5,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to0.20% APY
Savings Account
Needs at least $75,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0 - $74,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.86% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

IRA

0.75% APY
Variable Rate IRA
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First State Bank Nebraska CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
1 months0.05%$5001-Month CD
2 months0.05%$5002-Month CD
3 months0.50%$5003-Month CD
6 months3.54%$5006-Month CD
12 months3.73%$50012-Month CD
18 months3.81%$50018-Month CD
24 months3.86%$50024-Month CD
30 months1.25%$50030-Month CD
36 months2.50%$50036-Month CD
48 months2.50%$50048-Month CD
60 months2.50%$50060-Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First State Bank Nebraska

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$764.20(5.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,764.20

Effective APY
2.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First State Bank Nebraska pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

4.62%
Q2 2026 ·
2.00% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, First State Bank Nebraska paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 100% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.62%
Q2 2026 ·
$990M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
10.0%
Q2 2026
$1.1B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • First State Bank Nebraska, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
First Rate Savings2.00%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
HSA Account1.25%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Savings Account0.20%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market Account1.50%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
Variable Rate IRA0.75%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
1-Month CD1 months0.05%$500not statednot stated
2-Month CD2 months0.05%$500not statednot stated
3-Month CD3 months0.50%$500not statednot stated
6-Month CD6 months3.54%$500not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months3.73%$500not statednot stated
18-Month CD18 months3.81%$500not statednot stated
24-Month CD24 months3.86%$500not statednot stated
30-Month CD30 months1.25%$500not statednot stated
36-Month CD36 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
48-Month CD48 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months2.50%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Footprint18 branches in NE
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First State Bank Nebraska behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised First Rate Savings rate in the last 12 months was 2.00% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

First State Bank Nebraska has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

First Rate Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
24 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 4, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 2.00% APY First State Bank Nebraska advertises on First Rate Savings grows to $10,200 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,865 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First State Bank Nebraska CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is First State Bank Nebraska?

HeadquartersLincoln, NE
Founded1912
Scale$1.1B assets · $990M deposits, $891M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 13868
Charter stateNebraska · one of 139 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size907th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)

Financial detail is in What First State Bank Nebraska pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First State Bank Nebraska

Is First State Bank Nebraska FDIC insured?

Yes. First State Bank Nebraska is FDIC insured under certificate 13868, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First State Bank Nebraska?

First State Bank Nebraska requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its First Rate Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First State Bank Nebraska have branches?

Yes. First State Bank Nebraska operates 18 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First State Bank Nebraska against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
First State Bank Nebraska2.00%4.62%$10018 branches in NE
Century Bank2.00%0.77%$2,0009 branches in NM
Eagle Bank2.00%2.30%$25,0006 branches in MA, ME
Elkton Bank & Trust Company2.00%0.67%$504 branches in KY

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to First State Bank Nebraska's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Nebraska, nearest to First State Bank Nebraska in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Nebraska.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates