Skip to main content

Citizens Bank Minnesota savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 8200Assets $590M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 2, 2026

Citizens Bank Minnesota advertises up to 2.02% APY on its WooHoo! Savings account. The 2.02% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.75%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.75% overall, about $75 in a year, which is 0.37 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #147 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY, and #147 of 387 for a $10,000 balance.

Estimate your earnings·What Citizens Bank Minnesota actually pays

Key facts

Citizens Bank Minnesota at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 2.02% · WooHoo! Savings · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$5,000 · WooHoo! Savings
Against the national average1.64 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.44% · 11 months · 11 Month Special CD
Minimum to open$2,500 · 11 months CD
Against the national average1.73 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Citizens Bank Minnesota bank facts
FDIC certificate8200 · New Ulm, MN
Websitewww.citizensmn.bank
Branches6 branches in MN
AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Rates

Citizens Bank Minnesota savings and CD rates

Personal

Up to3.04% APY
WooHoo! U
Youth Savings
On balances up to $4,999.99 · 1.00% above
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

3.04% APY on balances $0 - $4,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $5,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
Up to2.02% APY
WooHoo! Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$5,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.75% APY on balances $0 - $14,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $15,000 - $49,999.99
1.51% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.02% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.75% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
Up to0.35% APY
Regular Savings
Needs at least $50,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $50 - $999
0.10% APY on balances $1,000 - $14,999
0.20% APY on balances $15,000 - $49,999
0.35% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
3.44% APY
Highest CD · 11 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

IRA

3.03% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Business

Up to0.75% APY
Business Savings
Needs at least $100,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $500 - $14,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $15,000 - $49,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Citizens Bank Minnesota CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
6 months1.25%$5006 Month CD
11 months3.44%$2,50011 Month Special CD
12 months2.52%$50012 Month CD
21 months3.24%$2,50021 Month Special CD
24 months2.83%$50024 Month CD
36 months2.93%$50036 Month CD
48 months3.03%$50048 Month CD
60 months3.03%$50060 Month CD
IRA CDs
60 months3.03%$50060 Month Special IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Citizens Bank Minnesota

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 3.04% ($0 - $4,999.99), 1.00% ($5,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$469.50(3.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,469.50

Effective APY
1.24%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Citizens Bank Minnesota pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.76%
Q1 2026 ·
Up to2.02% APY
As observed Sep 2, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 2.02% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.75%.

In Q1 2026, Citizens Bank Minnesota paid a higher average rate than 21% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$506M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
4.7%
Q1 2026
$590M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Citizens Bank Minnesota, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
WooHoo! U3.04%$50$0$4,999.99not statedDirect deposit · linked account not statedTierednot enough history
WooHoo! Savings2.02%$5,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTierednot enough history
Health Savings Account0.75%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne ratenot enough history
Regular Savings0.35%$50$50Nonenot statednot statedTierednot enough history
Business
Business Savings0.75%$0$500Nonenot statednot statedTierednot enough history

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
6 Month CD6 months1.25%$500not statednot stated
11 Month Special CD11 months3.44%$2,500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months2.52%$500not statednot stated
21 Month Special CD21 months3.24%$2,500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months2.83%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months2.93%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.03%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.03%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
60 Month Special IRA CD60 months3.03%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Footprint6 branches in MN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Citizens Bank Minnesota behaves over time

Rate last changed
Sep 2, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 2.02% APY Citizens Bank Minnesota advertises on WooHoo! Savings grows to $10,202 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,870 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Citizens Bank Minnesota CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Citizens Bank Minnesota?

HeadquartersNew Ulm, MN
Founded1875
Scale$590M assets · $506M deposits, $483M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 8200

Financial detail is in What Citizens Bank Minnesota pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Citizens Bank Minnesota

Is Citizens Bank Minnesota FDIC insured?

Yes. Citizens Bank Minnesota is FDIC insured under certificate 8200, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Citizens Bank Minnesota?

Citizens Bank Minnesota requires a minimum deposit of $5,000 to open its WooHoo! Savings account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 2.02% apply to my whole balance?

The 2.02% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.75%. Rates are as observed on Sep 2, 2026.

Does Citizens Bank Minnesota have branches?

Yes. Citizens Bank Minnesota operates 6 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Citizens Bank Minnesota against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Citizens Bank Minnesota3.04%1.76%$506 branches in MN
First Federal Community Bank, National Association3.04%2.40%not stated8 branches in OH
Jonestown Bank and Trust Company, of Jonestown, Pennsylvania3.05%1.85%not stated14 branches in PA
Upgrade3.05%3.61%$0not stated

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Citizens Bank Minnesota's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates