Citizens Access™ savings and CD rates
Citizens Access™ advertises 2.80% APY on its Citizens Access® Savings account. That is 2.42 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #119 of 337 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #90. It was #103 three months ago. The bank has cut this rate 2 times in the last 12 months.
Citizens Access™ at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 2.80% · Citizens Access® Savings |
| Minimum to open | $0 · Citizens Access® Savings |
| Against the national average | 2.42 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.00% · 8 months · Citizens Access 8 Month Online CD |
| Minimum to open | $5,000 · 8 months CD |
| FDIC certificate | 57957 · Providence, RI |
|---|---|
| Website | www.secure.citizensaccess.com/Citizens/home.page |
| Availability | Nationally available |
Citizens Access™ savings and CD rates
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Citizens Access™ CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8 months | 4.00% | $5,000 | Citizens Access 8 Month Online CD |
| 12 months | 3.25% | $5,000 | Citizens Access 1 Year Online CD |
| 24 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | Citizens Access 2 Year Online CD |
| 36 months | 2.75% | $5,000 | Citizens Access 3 Year Online CD |
| 48 months | 2.75% | $5,000 | Citizens Access 4 Year Online CD |
| 60 months | 2.75% | $5,000 | Citizens Access 5 Year Online CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Citizens Access™
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$1,080.90(7.2%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$15,080.90
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Citizens Access™ pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, Citizens Access™ paid a higher average rate than 33% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- Citizens Access™, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citizens Access® Savings | 2.80% | $0 | $0 | None | $0 | None | One rate |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citizens Access 8 Month Online CD | 8 months | 4.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Citizens Access 1 Year Online CD | 12 months | 3.25% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Citizens Access 2 Year Online CD | 24 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Citizens Access 3 Year Online CD | 36 months | 2.75% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Citizens Access 4 Year Online CD | 48 months | 2.75% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Citizens Access 5 Year Online CD | 60 months | 2.75% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Nationally available |
|---|---|
| App Store rating | 4.9 out of 5 |
| Google Play rating | 4.8 out of 5 |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Citizens Access™ behaves over time
- 12-month high
- 3.50%
- 12-month low
- 2.80%
- Advertised now
- 2.80%
- 0.70 percentage points below the 12-month high
- Observed cuts, 12 months
- 2
- In a window with 3 Federal Reserve cuts
The advertised Citizens Access® Savings rate, observed through Sep 2, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
Recent rate changes, as observed
- Obs. Aug 1, 2026Citizens Access® SavingsCut:3.00%to2.80%
- Obs. Aug 1, 2026Citizens Access 8 Month Online CDRaise:3.75%to4.00%
- Obs. Jun 3, 2026Citizens Access 8 Month Online CDCut:4.00%to3.75%
- Obs. May 20, 2026Citizens Access® SavingsCut:3.15%to3.00%
- Obs. Apr 8, 2026Citizens Access 2 Year Online CDCut:3.25%to3.00%
- Citizens Access® Savings
- Down 0.20 percentage points from 90 days ago.
- 8 months CD
- Up 0.25 percentage points from 90 days ago.
At the top advertised rates we observed for Citizens Access™'s Citizens Access® Savings, $10,000 would have grown to about $10,316 over the past year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). So it buys as much as $9,981 did a year ago. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
- Citizens Access® Savings APY
- Banksparency savings index
- Consumer price index, year over year
- Fed rate cut
Citizens Access™ CD rates over time
Who is Citizens Access™?
| Headquarters | Providence, RI |
|---|---|
| Scale | $227.1B assets · $186.9B deposits, $142.6B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 57957 |
| BBB rating | A+ · BBB Accredited |
| Affiliation | Citizens Bank |
Financial detail is in What Citizens Access™ pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Citizens Access™
Is Citizens Access™ FDIC insured?
Yes. Citizens Access™ is FDIC insured under certificate 57957, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Citizens Access™?
Citizens Access™ requires a minimum deposit of $0 to open its Citizens Access® Savings account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Citizens Access™ against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citizens Access™ | 2.80% | 2.00% | $0 | not stated |
| Citibank | 2.80% | 2.65% | $0 | 955 branches across 14 states |
| Gate City Bank | 2.80% | 1.39% | $50,000 | 46 branches in MN, ND |
| FirstBank of Nebraska | 2.78% | 2.83% | $2,500 | 4 branches in NE |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Citizens Access™'s.
Compare Citizens Access™ with another bank
Each link opens a full comparison page, with the two banks side by side and their current savings rates.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.