PennCrest Bank savings, CD and money market rates
PennCrest Bank advertises 0.10% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.28 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #607 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #562.
PennCrest Bank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.10% · Passbook Savings |
| Minimum to open | not stated · Passbook Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.28 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.55% · 7 months · 7 Month CD Special |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · 7 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.14 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 2.00% · Money Market · needs at least $250,000 |
| Minimum to open | not stated · Money Market |
| Against the national average | 1.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 30119 · Altoona, PA |
|---|---|
| Website | www.penncrest.bank |
| Branches | 8 branches in PA |
| Availability | Available in PA |
PennCrest Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
PennCrest Bank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | 91 Day CD |
| 6 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | 182 Day CD |
| 7 months | 3.55% | $1,000 | 7 Month CD Special |
| 12 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | 12 Month CD |
| 18 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | 18 Month CD |
| 24 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | 24 Month CD |
| 24 months | 2.75% | $1,000 | 24 Month No Penalty CD |
| 30 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | 30 Month CD |
| 36 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | 36 Month CD |
| 48 months | 1.25% | $1,000 | 48 Month CD |
| 49 months | 3.30% | $1,000 | 49 Month CD Special |
| 60 months | 1.25% | $1,000 | 60 Month CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 3 months | 0.50% | $10 | 91 Day IRA |
| 6 months | 1.00% | $10 | 182 Day IRA |
| 7 months | 3.55% | $10 | 7 Month IRA Special |
| 12 months | 1.00% | $10 | 12 Month IRA |
| 18 months | 1.00% | $10 | 18 Month IRA |
| 18 months | 0.75% | $10 | 18 Month IRA (Variable Rate) |
| 24 months | 1.00% | $10 | 24 Month IRA |
| 30 months | 1.00% | $10 | 30 Month IRA |
| 36 months | 1.00% | $10 | 36 Month IRA |
| 48 months | 1.25% | $10 | 48 Month IRA |
| 49 months | 3.30% | $10 | 49 Month IRA Special |
| 60 months | 1.25% | $10 | 60 Month IRA |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for PennCrest Bank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$37.30(0.3%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,037.30
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What PennCrest Bank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, PennCrest Bank paid a higher average rate than 21% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- PennCrest Bank, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passbook Savings | 0.10% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Statement Savings | 0.10% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Christmas Club | 0.10% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Vacation Club | 0.10% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Money Market | 2.00% | not stated | $0 | None | The minimum balance to avoid a service fee is $2500.00. | not stated | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 91 Day CD | 3 months | 0.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 182 Day CD | 6 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 7 Month CD Special | 7 months | 3.55% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month No Penalty CD | 24 months | 2.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Month CD | 30 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month CD | 36 months | 1.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month CD | 48 months | 1.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 49 Month CD Special | 49 months | 3.30% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month CD | 60 months | 1.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 91 Day IRA | 3 months | 0.50% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 182 Day IRA | 6 months | 1.00% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 7 Month IRA Special | 7 months | 3.55% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month IRA | 12 months | 1.00% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month IRA | 18 months | 1.00% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month IRA (Variable Rate) | 18 months | 0.75% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month IRA | 24 months | 1.00% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Month IRA | 30 months | 1.00% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month IRA | 36 months | 1.00% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month IRA | 48 months | 1.25% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 49 Month IRA Special | 49 months | 3.30% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month IRA | 60 months | 1.25% | $10 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in PA |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 8 branches in PA |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How PennCrest Bank behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Passbook Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 7 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Money Market
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 16, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.10% APY PennCrest Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,685 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
PennCrest Bank CD rates over time
Who is PennCrest Bank?
| Headquarters | Altoona, PA |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1939 |
| Scale | $243M assets · $207M deposits, $148M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 30119 |
Financial detail is in What PennCrest Bank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about PennCrest Bank
Is PennCrest Bank FDIC insured?
Yes. PennCrest Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 30119, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
Does PennCrest Bank have branches?
Yes. PennCrest Bank operates 8 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
PennCrest Bank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PennCrest Bank | 2.00% | 1.75% | not stated | 8 branches in PA |
| Alliance Bank | 1.00% | 1.44% | not stated | 7 branches in IN |
| Andover State Bank | 0.55% | 2.62% | not stated | 2 branches in KS |
| Bank of Lake Mills | 3.82% | 3.64% | $50,000 | 2 branches in WI |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to PennCrest Bank's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.