Skip to main content

Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 1933Assets $141M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America advertises 0.50% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #270 of 645 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #210.

Estimate your earnings·What Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America actually pays

Key facts

Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.50% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$0 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.70% · 12 months · 1 Year Certificate of Deposit (Over $500.00)
Minimum to open$500 · 12 months CD
Against the national average1.99 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America bank facts
FDIC certificate1933 · Norwood Young America, MN
Websitewww.citizensstatebanknya.com
Branches1 branch in MN
AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Rates

Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America savings and CD rates

Personal

0.50% APY
Passbook Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.45% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $50,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $500 - $9,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.45% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.05% APY
Thrift Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.70% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

3.44% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$250 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.29%$50091 Day Certificate of Deposit
6 months3.48%$500182 Day Certificate of Deposit
12 months3.70%$5001 Year Certificate of Deposit (Over $500.00)
12 months2.73%$1001 Year Certificate of Deposit (Under $500.00)
18 months3.44%$50018 Month Certificate of Deposit
30 months3.03%$50030 Month Certificate of Deposit
48 months2.78%$5004 Year Certificate of Deposit
72 months2.78%$5006 Year Certificate of Deposit
IRA CDs
12 months3.44%$25012 Month Fixed IRA Certificate of Deposit
18 months1.46%$25018 Month Variable IRA Certificate of Deposit
30 months3.03%$25030 Month Fixed IRA Certificate of Deposit

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$187.40(1.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,187.40

Effective APY
0.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.78%
Q1 2026 ·
0.50% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America paid a higher average rate than 22% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$127M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
25.3%
Q1 2026
$141M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Passbook Savings0.50%$0$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
Health Savings Account0.45%$50$500Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Thrift Savings0.05%$50$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day Certificate of Deposit3 months3.29%$500not statednot stated
182 Day Certificate of Deposit6 months3.48%$500not statednot stated
1 Year Certificate of Deposit (Over $500.00)12 months3.70%$500not statednot stated
1 Year Certificate of Deposit (Under $500.00)12 months2.73%$100not statednot stated
18 Month Certificate of Deposit18 months3.44%$500not statednot stated
30 Month Certificate of Deposit30 months3.03%$500not statednot stated
4 Year Certificate of Deposit48 months2.78%$500not statednot stated
6 Year Certificate of Deposit72 months2.78%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month Fixed IRA Certificate of Deposit12 months3.44%$250not statednot stated
18 Month Variable IRA Certificate of Deposit18 months1.46%$250not statednot stated
30 Month Fixed IRA Certificate of Deposit30 months3.03%$250not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Footprint1 branch in MN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Rate last changed
Sep 8, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.50% APY Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,723 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America?

HeadquartersNorwood Young America, MN
Founded1914
Scale$141M assets · $127M deposits, $95M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 1933

Financial detail is in What Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America

Is Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America FDIC insured?

Yes. Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America is FDIC insured under certificate 1933, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America?

Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America requires no minimum deposit to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America have branches?

Yes. Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America2.17%1.78%$01 branch in MN
American Bank and Trust Company, National Association2.84%2.03%not stated8 branches in IA, IL
American Heritage Bank2.15%1.94%$5,00024 branches in OK
Arundel Federal Savings Bank0.80%2.18%$1,0005 branches in MD

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Citizens State Bank Norwood Young America's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates