Security Bank Minnesota savings, CD and money market rates
Security Bank Minnesota advertises 0.25% APY on its Regular Savings $100 min./below $3 s/c account. That is 0.13 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
A checking account at the bank is required.
Ranked #248 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #214. It was #145 three months ago.
Estimate your earnings·What Security Bank Minnesota actually pays
Security Bank Minnesota at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.25% · Regular Savings $100 min./below $3 s/c · checking account required |
| Minimum to open | $100 · Regular Savings $100 min./below $3 s/c |
| Against the national average | 0.13 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.71% · 19 months · 19-Month Certificates of Deposit Specials |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · 19 months CD |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 2.27% · Platinum Money Market Savings $10,000 min./below $25 s/c $.01 $19,999.99 · needs at least $250,000 · checking account required |
| Minimum to open | $10,000 · Platinum Money Market Savings $10,000 min./below $25 s/c $.01 $19,999.99 |
| Against the national average | 1.64 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 10984 · Albert Lea, MN |
|---|---|
| Website | www.securitybankmn.com |
| Branches | 3 branches in MN |
| Availability | Available in MN |
Security Bank Minnesota savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Security Bank Minnesota CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 1.91% | $1,000 | 3-Month Certificates of Deposit |
| 6 months | 2.06% | $1,000 | 6-Month Certificates of Deposit |
| 10 months | 3.61% | $1,000 | 10-Month Certificates of Deposit Specials |
| 12 months | 2.15% | $1,000 | 12-Month Certificates of Deposit |
| 18 months | 2.30% | $1,000 | 18-Month Certificates of Deposit |
| 19 months | 3.71% | $1,000 | 19-Month Certificates of Deposit Specials |
| 24 months | 2.35% | $1,000 | 24-Month Certificates of Deposit |
| 36 months | 2.40% | $1,000 | 36-Month Certificates of Deposit |
| 48 months | 2.55% | $1,000 | 48-Month Certificates of Deposit |
| 60 months | 2.65% | $1,000 | 60-Month Certificates of Deposit |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 12 months | 2.15% | $1,000 | 12 Months |
| 24 months | 2.35% | $1,000 | 24 Months |
| 36 months | 2.40% | $1,000 | 36 Months |
| 48 months | 2.55% | $1,000 | 48 Months |
| 60 months | 2.65% | $1,000 | 60 Months |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Security Bank Minnesota
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$88.80(0.6%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,088.80
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Security Bank Minnesota pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, Security Bank Minnesota paid a higher average rate than 31% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- Security Bank Minnesota, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Variable Rate HSA | 0.25% | $100 | $100 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Regular Savings $100 min./below $3 s/c | 0.25% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | Checking account · direct deposit not stated | One rate | |
| Economy Savings $25 min. | 0.25% | $25 | $0 | None | not stated | Checking account · direct deposit not stated | One rate | |
| Platinum Money Market Savings $10,000 min./below $25 s/c $.01 $19,999.99 | 2.27% | $10,000 | $0 | None | not stated | Checking account · direct deposit not stated | Tiered | |
| Money Market - Investment Savings | 1.26% | $1,000 | $0 | None | not stated | Checking account · direct deposit not stated | Tiered | |
| IRA | ||||||||
| Variable Rate IRA Savings | 1.26% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 3-Month Certificates of Deposit | 3 months | 1.91% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 6-Month Certificates of Deposit | 6 months | 2.06% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 10-Month Certificates of Deposit Specials | 10 months | 3.61% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12-Month Certificates of Deposit | 12 months | 2.15% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-Month Certificates of Deposit | 18 months | 2.30% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 19-Month Certificates of Deposit Specials | 19 months | 3.71% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 24-Month Certificates of Deposit | 24 months | 2.35% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 36-Month Certificates of Deposit | 36 months | 2.40% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 48-Month Certificates of Deposit | 48 months | 2.55% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 60-Month Certificates of Deposit | 60 months | 2.65% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 12 Months | 12 months | 2.15% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Months | 24 months | 2.35% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Months | 36 months | 2.40% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Months | 48 months | 2.55% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Months | 60 months | 2.65% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in MN |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 3 branches in MN |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Security Bank Minnesota behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Regular Savings $100 min./below $3 s/c rate in the last 12 months was 0.25% (observed through Sep 2, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
Banksparency observed no cuts to Security Bank Minnesota's advertised savings rate in the last 12 months, a period with 3 Federal Reserve cuts.
Recent rate changes, as observed
- Obs. Aug 1, 20263-Month Certificates of DepositCut:2.02%to1.91%
- Obs. Aug 1, 20266-Month Certificates of DepositCut:2.16%to2.06%
- Obs. Aug 1, 202612-Month Certificates of DepositCut:2.25%to2.15%
- Obs. Aug 1, 202618-Month Certificates of DepositCut:2.40%to2.30%
- Obs. Jun 24, 202610-Month Certificates of Deposit SpecialsRaise:3.46%to3.61%
- Regular Savings $100 min./below $3 s/c
- The same as 90 days ago.
- 19 months CD
- Up 0.15 percentage points from 90 days ago.
- Platinum Money Market Savings $10,000 min./below $25 s/c $.01 $19,999.99
- The same as 90 days ago.
$10,000 at the 0.25% APY Security Bank Minnesota advertises on Regular Savings $100 min./below $3 s/c grows to $10,025 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,699 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Security Bank Minnesota CD rates over time
Who is Security Bank Minnesota?
| Headquarters | Albert Lea, MN |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1906 |
| Scale | $152M assets · $129M deposits, $99M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 10984 |
Financial detail is in What Security Bank Minnesota pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Security Bank Minnesota
Is Security Bank Minnesota FDIC insured?
Yes. Security Bank Minnesota is FDIC insured under certificate 10984, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Security Bank Minnesota?
Security Bank Minnesota requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Regular Savings $100 min./below $3 s/c account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does Security Bank Minnesota have branches?
Yes. Security Bank Minnesota operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Security Bank Minnesota against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security Bank Minnesota | 2.27% | 1.97% | $10,000 | 3 branches in MN |
| Central Penn Bank & Trust | 1.25% | 2.15% | not stated | 14 branches in PA |
| First State Bank | 2.27% | 2.32% | $2,500 | 20 branches in IL |
| First Westroads Bank, Inc. | 0.25% | 2.48% | $100 | 2 branches in NE |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Security Bank Minnesota's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.