Skip to main content

Thayer County Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 11475Assets $88M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 19, 2026

Thayer County Bank advertises up to 0.52% APY on its Future Savings account. The 0.52% needs a balance of at least $75,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.16%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.24% overall, about $24 in a year, which is 0.14 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #544 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #755.

Estimate your earnings·What Thayer County Bank actually pays

Key facts

Thayer County Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.52% · Future Savings · needs at least $75,000
Minimum to open$0 · Future Savings
Against the national average0.14 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.25% · 48 months · 48 Month CD
Minimum to opennot stated · 48 months CD
Against the national average2.98 percentage points above the 1.27% FDIC 48-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.83% · Money Market - Personal · needs at least $75,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market - Personal
Against the national average0.20 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Thayer County Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate11475 · Hebron, NE
Websitewww.thayercountybank.com
Branches2 branches in NE
AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Rates

Thayer County Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.53% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $75,000
$1 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.78% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.28% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
1.44% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
1.53% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
Up to0.83% APY
Money Market - Personal
Needs at least $75,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.47% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.55% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.64% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.76% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
0.83% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
Up to0.52% APY
Future Savings
Needs at least $75,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.16% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.24% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.33% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.45% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
0.52% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
4.25% APY
Highest CD · 48 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026

IRA

Up to2.17% APY
IRA Savings
Needs at least $75,000
$1 minimum

How the rate applies

2.01% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
2.07% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
2.09% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
2.12% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
2.17% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026

Business

Up to1.64% APY
Money Market - Business and Public Funds
Needs at least $500,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.43% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.76% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
1.03% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
1.31% APY on balances $75,000 - $249,999.99
1.45% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
1.64% APY on balances $500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Thayer County Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months3.85%not stated6 Month CD
12 months3.99%not stated12 Month CD
24 months4.21%not stated24 Month CD
48 months4.25%not stated48 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Thayer County Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.25% to 1.64% APY across 7 balance tiers.
0.25% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.43% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
0.76% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
1.03% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
1.31% APY on balances $75,000 - $249,999.99
1.45% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
1.64% APY on balances $500,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$193.60(1.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $2,500

Projected Balance

$15,693.60

Effective APY
0.43%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Thayer County Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.90%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to0.52% APY
As observed Sep 19, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.52% needs a balance of at least $75,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.16%.

In Q2 2026, Thayer County Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 28% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.14%
Q2 2026 ·
$67M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
20.6%
Q2 2026
$88M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Thayer County Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account1.53%$1$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Future Savings0.52%$0$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Money Market - Personal0.83%$2,500$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
IRA
IRA Savings2.17%$1$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Business
Money Market - Business and Public Funds1.64%$2,500$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6 Month CD6 months3.85%not statednot statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.99%not statednot statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months4.21%not statednot statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months4.25%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NE
Footprint2 branches in NE
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Thayer County Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Future Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.52% (observed through Sep 19, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Future Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
48 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market - Personal
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 1, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.52% APY Thayer County Bank advertises on Future Savings grows to $10,052 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,721 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Thayer County Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Thayer County Bank?

HeadquartersHebron, NE
Founded1874
Scale$88M assets · $67M deposits, $53M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 11475

Financial detail is in What Thayer County Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Thayer County Bank

Is Thayer County Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Thayer County Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 11475, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Thayer County Bank?

Thayer County Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Future Savings account, as observed on Sep 19, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.52% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.52% needs a balance of at least $75,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.16%. Rates are as observed on Sep 19, 2026.

Does Thayer County Bank have branches?

Yes. Thayer County Bank operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Thayer County Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Thayer County Bank2.17%0.90%$12 branches in NE
Ion Bank1.65%1.19%$037 branches in CT, NJ
The First National Bank of Bemidji1.66%1.45%not stated3 branches in MN
American State Bank & Trust Company of Williston1.71%1.07%not stated2 branches in ND

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Thayer County Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates