BankVista savings, CD and money market rates
BankVista advertises 3.51% APY on its Kasasa Saver account. The 3.51% applies to balances up to $250,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that.
A checking account at the bank is required. That is 3.13 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #68 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #52.
BankVista at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 3.51% · Kasasa Saver · up to $250,000 only · checking account required |
| Minimum to open | $50 · Kasasa Saver |
| Against the national average | 3.13 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.01% · 11 months · 11 Month CD |
| Minimum to open | not stated · 11 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.30 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 3.04% · Money Market Savings · needs at least $100,000 |
| Minimum to open | not stated · Money Market Savings |
| Against the national average | 2.41 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 35406 · Sartell, MN |
|---|---|
| Website | www.bankvista.com |
| Branches | 3 branches in MN |
| Availability | Available in MN |
BankVista savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
BankVista CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 3.91% | not stated | 3 Month CD |
| 6 months | 3.89% | not stated | 6 Month CD |
| 11 months | 4.01% | not stated | 11 Month CD |
| 12 months | 4.00% | not stated | 12 Month CD |
| 17 months | 4.00% | not stated | 17 Month CD |
| 18 months | 4.00% | not stated | 18 Month CD |
| 24 months | 3.85% | not stated | 24 Month CD |
| 36 months | 3.80% | not stated | 36 Month CD |
| 48 months | 3.50% | not stated | 48 Month CD |
| 60 months | 3.50% | not stated | 60 Month CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 3 months | 3.91% | not stated | 3 Month IRA CD |
| 6 months | 3.89% | not stated | 6 Month IRA CD |
| 11 months | 4.01% | not stated | 11 Month IRA CD |
| 12 months | 4.00% | not stated | 12 Month IRA CD |
| 17 months | 4.00% | not stated | 17 Month IRA CD |
| 18 months | 4.00% | not stated | 18 Month IRA CD |
| 24 months | 3.85% | not stated | 24 Month IRA CD |
| 36 months | 3.85% | not stated | 36 Month IRA CD |
| 48 months | 3.50% | not stated | 48 Month IRA CD |
| 60 months | 3.50% | not stated | 60 Month IRA CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for BankVista
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$1,367.40(8.9%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$15,367.40
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What BankVista pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 3.51% applies to balances up to $250,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that.
In Q1 2026, BankVista paid a higher average rate than 94% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- BankVista, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kasasa Saver | 3.51% | $50 | $0 | $250,000 | not stated | Checking account · direct deposit not stated | One rate | not enough history |
| Investor Savings | 2.02% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | not enough history |
| Basic Savings | 1.01% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | not enough history |
| Money Market Savings | 3.04% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | not enough history |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 3 Month CD | 3 months | 3.91% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD | 6 months | 3.89% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 11 Month CD | 11 months | 4.01% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 4.00% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 17 Month CD | 17 months | 4.00% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 4.00% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 3.85% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month CD | 36 months | 3.80% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month CD | 48 months | 3.50% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month CD | 60 months | 3.50% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 3 Month IRA CD | 3 months | 3.91% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month IRA CD | 6 months | 3.89% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 11 Month IRA CD | 11 months | 4.01% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month IRA CD | 12 months | 4.00% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 17 Month IRA CD | 17 months | 4.00% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month IRA CD | 18 months | 4.00% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month IRA CD | 24 months | 3.85% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month IRA CD | 36 months | 3.85% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month IRA CD | 48 months | 3.50% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month IRA CD | 60 months | 3.50% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in MN |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 3 branches in MN |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How BankVista behaves over time
- Rate last changed
- Sep 3, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 3.51% APY BankVista advertises on Kasasa Saver grows to $10,351 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $10,015 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
BankVista CD rates over time
Who is BankVista?
| Headquarters | Sartell, MN |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2000 |
| Scale | $647M assets · $533M deposits, $420M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 35406 |
Financial detail is in What BankVista pays on deposits above.
Common questions about BankVista
Is BankVista FDIC insured?
Yes. BankVista is FDIC insured under certificate 35406, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at BankVista?
BankVista requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Kasasa Saver account, as observed on Sep 3, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 3.51% apply to my whole balance?
The 3.51% applies to balances up to $250,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that. A checking account at the bank is required. Rates are as observed on Sep 3, 2026.
Does BankVista have branches?
Yes. BankVista operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
BankVista against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BankVista | 3.51% | 3.43% | $50 | 3 branches in MN |
| Peoples State Bank of Plainview | 3.51% | 2.39% | $1,000 | 6 branches in MN, WI |
| Salem Five Direct | 3.51% | 2.87% | $10 | not stated |
| Buckeye State Bank | 3.50% | 2.66% | $50 | 6 branches in OH |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to BankVista's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.