Skip to main content

The Village Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 26336Assets $2.1B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

The Village Bank advertises 3.25% APY on its Village High Yield Savings account. The 3.25% applies to balances up to $4,999,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.05% on the whole amount.

That is 2.87 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #164 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #109.

Estimate your earnings·What The Village Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Village Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY3.25% · Village High Yield Savings · up to $4,999,999.99 only
Minimum to open$20 · Village High Yield Savings
Against the national average2.87 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.75% · 24 months · 2 Year CD
Minimum to open$500 · 24 months CD
Against the national average2.18 percentage points above the 1.57% FDIC 24-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.75% · Village Money Market Account · needs at least $500,000
Minimum to open$20 · Village Money Market Account
Against the national average2.12 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The Village Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate26336 · Newton, MA
Websitewww.village-bank.com
Branches11 branches in MA
AvailabilityAvailable in MA
Rates

The Village Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

3.25% APY
Village High Yield Savings
On balances up to $4,999,999.99 · 0.05% above
$20 minimum

How the rate applies

3.25% APY on balances $0 - $4,999,999.99
0.05% APY on balances $5,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to2.75% APY
Village Money Market Account
Needs at least $500,000
$20 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $25,000 - $74,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $75,000 - $149,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $150,000 - $499,999.99
2.75% APY on balances $500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Passbook Savings
$20 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Basic Banking Statement Savings
$20 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Compass Savings Account
$20 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Village Savings Account
$20 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.01% APY
eVolve Savings Account
$20 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

3.75% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Business

Up to2.75% APY
Village Business Money Market Account
Needs at least $500,000
$20 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.75% APY on balances $25,000 - $74,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $75,000 - $149,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $150,000 - $499,999.99
2.75% APY on balances $500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Village Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.25%$50091 Day CD
6 months3.50%$5006 Month CD
12 months3.75%$50012 Month CD
18 months3.75%$50018 Month CD
24 months3.75%$5002 Year CD
30 months3.75%$50030 Month CD
36 months3.75%$5003 Year CD
48 months3.50%$5004 Year CD
60 months3.50%$5005 Year CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.75%$50012 Month IRA CD
18 months3.75%$50018 Month IRA CD
24 months3.75%$5002 Year IRA CD
30 months3.75%$50030 Month IRA CD
36 months3.75%$5003 Year IRA CD
60 months3.50%$5005 Year IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Village Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 3.25% ($0 - $4,999,999.99), 0.05% ($5,000,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,261.90(8.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,261.90

Effective APY
3.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Village Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.73%
Q2 2026 ·
3.25% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 3.25% applies to balances up to $4,999,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.05% on the whole amount.

In Q2 2026, The Village Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 90% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

3.02%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.8B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
19.8%
Q2 2026
$2.1B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Village Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Village High Yield Savings3.25%$20$0$4,999,999.99not statednot statedTiered
Passbook Savings0.05%$20$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Basic Banking Statement Savings0.05%$20$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Compass Savings Account0.05%$20$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Village Savings Account0.05%$20$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
eVolve Savings Account0.01%$20$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Village Money Market Account2.75%$20$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Village Business Money Market Account2.75%$20$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month IRA CD12 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
2 Year IRA CD24 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
30 Month IRA CD30 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
3 Year IRA CD36 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
5 Year IRA CD60 months3.50%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MA
Footprint11 branches in MA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Village Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Village High Yield Savings rate in the last 12 months was 3.25% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Village High Yield Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
24 months CD
Up 0.40 percentage points from 7 days ago.
Village Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 16, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 3.25% APY The Village Bank advertises on Village High Yield Savings grows to $10,325 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,985 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Village Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is The Village Bank?

HeadquartersNewton, MA
Founded1910
Scale$2.1B assets · $1.8B deposits, $1.4B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 26336

Financial detail is in What The Village Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Village Bank

Is The Village Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Village Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 26336, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Village Bank?

The Village Bank requires a minimum deposit of $20 to open its Village High Yield Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 3.25% apply to my whole balance?

The 3.25% applies to balances up to $4,999,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.05% on the whole amount. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does The Village Bank have branches?

Yes. The Village Bank operates 11 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Village Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Village Bank3.25%2.73%$2011 branches in MA
Axiom Bank, National Association3.25%2.70%$257 branches in FL
Bluestone Bank3.25%2.35%$1011 branches in MA
First National Bank of Clarksdale3.25%1.16%$100,0005 branches in MS

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Village Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates