Skip to main content

American Metro Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 34334Assets $118M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

American Metro Bank advertises 0.15% APY on its Personal Savings account. That is 0.23 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #398 of 645 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #348.

Estimate your earnings·What American Metro Bank actually pays

Key facts

American Metro Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.15% · Personal Savings
Minimum to open$250 · Personal Savings
Against the national average0.23 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.50% · 3 months · Harvest 91 Day CD
Minimum to open$10,000 · 3 months CD
Against the national average2.36 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026)
American Metro Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate34334 · Chicago, IL
Websitewww.americanmetrobank.com
Branches2 branches in IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Rates

American Metro Bank savings and CD rates

Personal

0.15% APY
Personal Savings
$250 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.50% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$10,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

0.15% APY
Business Savings
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

American Metro Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months3.50%$10,000Harvest 91 Day CD
3 months2.80%$1,0003 Month Certificate
6 months1.85%$1,0006 Month Certificate
12 months2.25%$1,00012 Month Certificate
13 months3.50%$10,000Harvest 13 Month CD
18 months2.25%$1,00018 Month Certificate
24 months2.25%$1,00024 Month Certificate
36 months2.25%$1,00036 Month Certificate
60 months2.25%$1,00060 Month Certificate

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for American Metro Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$56.00(0.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,056.00

Effective APY
0.15%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What American Metro Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

3.03%
Q1 2026 ·
0.15% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, American Metro Bank paid a higher average rate than 86% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$91M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
18.7%
Q1 2026
$118M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • American Metro Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Personal Savings0.15%$250$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
Business Savings0.15%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Harvest 91 Day CD3 months3.50%$10,000not statednot stated
3 Month Certificate3 months2.80%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month Certificate6 months1.85%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month Certificate12 months2.25%$1,000not statednot stated
Harvest 13 Month CD13 months3.50%$10,000not statednot stated
18 Month Certificate18 months2.25%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month Certificate24 months2.25%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month Certificate36 months2.25%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month Certificate60 months2.25%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Footprint2 branches in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How American Metro Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Personal Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.15% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Rate last changed
Sep 5, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.15% APY American Metro Bank advertises on Personal Savings grows to $10,015 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,689 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

American Metro Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is American Metro Bank?

HeadquartersChicago, IL
Founded1997
Scale$118M assets · $91M deposits, $74M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 34334

Financial detail is in What American Metro Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about American Metro Bank

Is American Metro Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. American Metro Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 34334, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at American Metro Bank?

American Metro Bank requires a minimum deposit of $250 to open its Personal Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does American Metro Bank have branches?

Yes. American Metro Bank operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

American Metro Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
American Metro Bank1.20%3.03%$10,0002 branches in IL
Charles Schwab Bank0.15%0.31%$01 branch in TX
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of McMinnville0.15%1.62%not stated6 branches in OR
The First National Bank of Moose Lake1.00%1.98%$10,0002 branches in MN

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to American Metro Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates