Clay County State Bank savings and CD rates
Clay County State Bank advertises 0.40% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.03 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).
Ranked #944 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #783.
Estimate your earnings·What Clay County State Bank actually pays
Clay County State Bank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.40% · Passbook Savings |
| Minimum to open | $100 · Passbook Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.03 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.70% · 18 months · 18 Month CD |
| Minimum to open | $500 · 18 months CD |
| FDIC certificate | 10821 · Louisville, IL |
|---|---|
| Website | www.claycobank.com |
| Branches | 1 branch in IL |
| Availability | Available in IL |
Clay County State Bank savings and CD rates
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Clay County State Bank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 months | 3.25% | $500 | 3 Month CD |
| 6 months | 3.40% | $500 | 6 Month CD |
| 7 months | 3.50% | $500 | 7 Month CD |
| 12 months | 3.50% | $500 | 12 Month CD |
| 15 months | 3.55% | $500 | 15 Month CD |
| 18 months | 3.70% | $500 | 18 Month CD |
| 21 months | 3.60% | $500 | 21 Month CD |
| 24 months | 3.60% | $500 | 24 Month CD |
| 30 months | 3.40% | $500 | 30 Month CD |
| 36 months | 3.40% | $5,000 | 36 Month CD |
| 48 months | 3.45% | $500 | 48 Month CD |
| 60 months | 3.45% | $500 | 60 Month CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Clay County State Bank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$149.80(1.1%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,149.80
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Clay County State Bank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q2 2026, Clay County State Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 14% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- Clay County State Bank, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passbook Savings | 0.40% | $100 | $0 | None | $5.00 Service Fee charged Semi-annually if Balance Falls Below $100.00 (Waived for Senior Citizens and Full-time Students) | not stated | One rate |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 Month CD | 3 months | 3.25% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD | 6 months | 3.40% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 7 Month CD | 7 months | 3.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 3.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 15 Month CD | 15 months | 3.55% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 3.70% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 21 Month CD | 21 months | 3.60% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 3.60% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Month CD | 30 months | 3.40% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month CD | 36 months | 3.40% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month CD | 48 months | 3.45% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month CD | 60 months | 3.45% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in IL |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 1 branch in IL |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Clay County State Bank behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.40% (observed through Sep 26, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
Banksparency observed no cuts to Clay County State Bank's advertised savings rate in the last 12 months, a period with 2 Federal Reserve cuts.
Recent rate changes, as observed
- Obs. Sep 26, 202615 Month CDRaise:3.00%to3.55%
- Obs. Sep 26, 202618 Month CDRaise:3.00%to3.70%
- Obs. Sep 26, 202621 Month CDRaise:2.90%to3.60%
- Obs. Sep 25, 20263 Month CDRaise:3.00%to3.25%
- Obs. Sep 25, 20266 Month CDRaise:3.10%to3.40%
- Passbook Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 18 months CD
- Up 0.70 percentage points from 7 days ago.
$10,000 at the 0.40% APY Clay County State Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,040 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,710 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Clay County State Bank CD rates over time
Who is Clay County State Bank?
| Headquarters | Louisville, IL |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1905 |
| Scale | $104M assets · $92M deposits, $78M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 10821 |
| Charter state | Illinois · one of 325 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Size | 3,595th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit growth | Higher than at 41% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC) |
Financial detail is in What Clay County State Bank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Clay County State Bank
Is Clay County State Bank FDIC insured?
Yes. Clay County State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 10821, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Clay County State Bank?
Clay County State Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 26, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does Clay County State Bank have branches?
Yes. Clay County State Bank operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Clay County State Bank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clay County State Bank | 0.40% | 0.49% | $100 | 1 branch in IL |
| Calvin B. Taylor Banking Company of Berlin, Maryland | 0.40% | 1.50% | $25 | 12 branches in DE, MD, VA |
| Classic Bank, National Association | 0.40% | 1.75% | $50 | 7 branches in TX |
| Fayette Savings Bank, SSB | 0.40% | 1.13% | $100 | 5 branches in TX |
Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Clay County State Bank's.
Similar banks and related pages
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Other banks chartered in Illinois, nearest to Clay County State Bank in deposits:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.
State pages: banks in Illinois.