FNBO Direct vs. Openbank
FNBO Direct's High-Yield Online Savings Account pays 3.00% APY while Openbank's High-Yield Savings Account pays 3.80% APY.
See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.
The Bottom Line
Who pays more interest on $10,000? Openbank pays $80 more than FNBO Direct annually ($380 vs $300).
Choose FNBO Direct if you want Zelle for quick transfers. Choose Openbank if getting the best rate matters most.
| Metric | FNBO DirectHigh-Yield Online Savings Account Sep 4, 2026 | OpenbankHigh-Yield Savings Account Sep 4, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.00% | 3.80% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$150 $10,000+$300 $25,000+$750 | $5,000+$190 $10,000+$380 $25,000+$950 |
Min. Deposit | $0 | $500 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
| Features | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppZelle® SupportedStable Rate | FDIC InsuredLow MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppStable Rate |
Market Reality Check
Both of these institutions offer rates below the top 10 savings and money market accounts we track. Those institutions all pay at least 4.01% APY.
Comparison Analysis
Comparing FNBO Direct vs. Openbank
Executive Summary
Openbank offers a High-Yield Savings Account with a competitive APY of 3.80%, making it the preferred choice for savers looking for higher returns. This account requires a minimum deposit of $50,000 but has no maintenance fees or direct deposit requirements, providing flexibility for account holders. In comparison, FNBO Direct's High-Yield Online Savings Account yields 3.00% APY, which is lower but does not require a minimum deposit, making it a secondary option for those seeking simplicity. Both accounts are online-only and nationally available, catering to a wide audience.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why FNBO Direct?
- Fast transfers via Zelle®
Why Openbank?
- Higher potential APY (3.80% vs 3.00%) on all balances
Key Feature Differences
Better Returns at $10,000
OpenbankOpenbank's High-Yield Savings Account earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $380 vs $300/yr).
Better Returns at $25,000
OpenbankOpenbank's High-Yield Savings Account pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $950 vs $750/yr).
Better for Simplicity
OpenbankOpenbank's High-Yield Savings Account offers 3.80% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Shared Benefits
Over a 1-year period, Openbank's High-Yield Savings Account pays $80 more interest on a $10,000 balance than FNBO Direct's High-Yield Online Savings Account.
*This calculation assumes current rates remain consistent for 1 year and does not include temporary bonuses.
Non-sponsored link to official site
Non-sponsored link to official site
Top Market Contenders
FNBO Direct vs. Openbank Savings Calculator
You earn $80 more with Openbank than FNBO Direct on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.
*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.
FNBO Direct
High-Yield Online Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$300.00(2.9%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,300.00
Openbank
High-Yield Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$380.00(3.7%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,380.00
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $295 a year in interest.
Both FNBO Direct and Openbank advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | FNBO Direct | Openbank |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.00% Observed: 9/4/2026 Stable over 90 days | 3.80% Observed: 9/4/2026 Stable over 90 days |
| Product Name | High-Yield Online Savings Account | High-Yield Savings Account |
| Minimum Deposit | $0 | $500 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $0.01 | $0 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Compound Frequency | Monthly | Monthly |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | None | None |
| Checking Bundle | No | No |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | YesVerify FDIC | YesVerify FDIC |
| Zelle® Support | Available Online division fully supports Zelle. | Not Supported |
| BBB Rating | A+ | Not Rated |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at FNBO Direct Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteVerify at Openbank Non-sponsored link to official site |
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Historical Performance
| Metric | FNBO Direct | Openbank |
|---|---|---|
| High-Yield Online Savings Account | High-Yield Savings Account | |
Current APY | 3.00% | 3.80% |
Trend | Stable | Stable |
Speed of change | -0.03 | -0.02 |
Days Since Change | 336 | 93 |
12-Month High | 3.25% | 4.20% |
12-Month Low | 3.00% | 3.80% |
Changes per month | 0.08 | 0.25 |
Steadiness | 0.029 | 0.013 |
How to read these metrics(Click to expand)
Trends and speed
- Trend: The general direction of the rate over the analyzed period. Useful for seeing whether a bank is raising its rate or letting it slip.
- Speed of change: How fast the rate moves. A high positive number means they raise rates quickly. A reading of 0.10 is a tenth of a percentage point each month.
- Changes per month: How often the rate moves. A high number means it changes constantly; a low number means it holds.
Risk & Range
- High/Low: The absolute ceiling and floor of the rate during the 364-day window.
- Steadiness: How far the rate swings around its average. A lower score means a steadier, more predictable rate.
- Days Since Change: A high number, for example above 90, means the rate rarely moves. A low number means it changed recently.
Compare Similar High-Yield Accounts
Compare FNBO Direct vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
Compare Openbank vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
High Rates (With Checking Bundle)
Looking for something different? Check out these top-rated alternatives.
More Comparisons
Compare FNBO Direct's APY of 3.00% with other banks
| Bank Pair | Competitor APY | Min Deposit |
|---|---|---|
| FNBO Direct vs Ally Bank | 3.00% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs American Express | 3.00% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Axos Bank | 4.21% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Barclays | 3.65% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Capital One | 3.50% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Chime | 3.75% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs CIT Bank | 3.75% | $100 |
| FNBO Direct vs EverBank | 3.90% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs | 3.40% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Newtek Bank | 4.20% | $100 |
| FNBO Direct vs Pibank | 4.10% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs SoFi Bank | 4.00% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Synchrony Bank | 3.30% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Varo Bank | 3.75% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Wealthfront | 3.95% | $0 |