CIT Bank vs. FNBO Direct
CIT Bank's Platinum Savings pays 3.75% APY while FNBO Direct's High-Yield Online Savings Account pays 3.00% APY.
See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.
The Bottom Line
Who pays more interest on $10,000? CIT Bank pays $75 more than FNBO Direct annually ($375 vs $300).
Choose CIT Bank if getting the best rate matters most.
| Metric | CIT BankPlatinum Savings Sep 4, 2026 | FNBO DirectHigh-Yield Online Savings Account Sep 4, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 0.25% - 3.75% | 3.00% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$188 $10,000+$375 $25,000+$938 | $5,000+$150 $10,000+$300 $25,000+$750 |
Min. Deposit | $100 | $0 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
Terms | This is a tiered savings account, where the stated APY requires meeting the $5,000 balance requirement. Lower balances earn a lower APY. | - |
| Features | FDIC InsuredMod. MinimumGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppZelle® SupportedDaily CompoundingStable Rate | FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppZelle® SupportedStable Rate |
Market Reality Check
Both of these institutions offer rates below the top 10 savings and money market accounts we track. Those institutions all pay at least 4.01% APY.
Comparison Analysis
Comparing CIT Bank vs. FNBO Direct
Executive Summary
CIT Bank offers a competitive Platinum Savings account with an APY of 3.75% for balances of $5,000 or more, making it the standout choice for higher returns. For those seeking simplicity, the Savings Connect account provides a solid alternative with a 3.65% APY and no direct deposit requirement. In contrast, FNBO Direct's High-Yield Online Savings Account offers a lower APY of 3.00%, while its Online Money Market Account yields up to 3.55% for higher balances. Both banks are online-only and do not require a checking account, providing accessible options for savers.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why CIT Bank?
- Higher potential APY (3.65%-3.75% vs 3.00%)
- Offers 2 different high-yield savings options
Why FNBO Direct?
No distinct advantages found vs CIT Bank.
Key Feature Differences
Better Returns at $10,000
CIT BankCIT Bank's Platinum Savings earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $375 vs $300/yr).
Better Returns at $25,000
CIT BankCIT Bank's Platinum Savings pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $938 vs $750/yr).
Better for Simplicity
CIT BankCIT Bank's Savings Connect offers 3.65% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Shared Benefits
Over a 1-year period, CIT Bank's Platinum Savings pays $75 more interest on a $10,000 balance than FNBO Direct's High-Yield Online Savings Account.
*This calculation assumes current rates remain consistent for 1 year and does not include temporary bonuses.
Non-sponsored link to official site
Non-sponsored link to official site
Top Market Contenders
CIT Bank vs. FNBO Direct Savings Calculator
You earn $75 more with CIT Bank than FNBO Direct on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.
*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.
CIT Bank
Platinum Savings
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$375.00(3.6%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,375.00
FNBO Direct
High-Yield Online Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$300.00(2.9%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,300.00
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $295 a year in interest.
Both CIT Bank and FNBO Direct advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | CIT Bank | FNBO Direct |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.75% Range: 0.25% - 3.75% Observed: 9/4/2026 Stable over 90 days | 3.00% Observed: 9/4/2026 Stable over 90 days |
| Product Name | Platinum Savings | High-Yield Online Savings Account |
| Minimum Deposit | $100 | $0 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $5,000 | $0.01 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Compound Frequency | Daily | Monthly |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | None | None |
| Checking Bundle | No | No |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | YesVerify FDIC | YesVerify FDIC |
| Zelle® Support | Available Supported for eChecking users post-First Citizens merger. | Available Online division fully supports Zelle. |
| BBB Rating | A+ | A+ |
| Important Notes | This is a tiered savings account, where the stated APY requires meeting the $5,000 balance requirement. Lower balances earn a lower APY. | - |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at CIT Bank Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteVerify at FNBO Direct Non-sponsored link to official site |
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Historical Performance
| Metric | CIT Bank | FNBO Direct | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Platinum Savings | Savings Connect | High-Yield Online Savings Account | |
Current APY | 3.75% | 3.65% | 3.00% |
Trend | Stable | Stable | Stable |
Speed of change | -0.04 | -0.04 | -0.03 |
Days Since Change | 288 | 288 | 336 |
12-Month High | 4.00% | 3.90% | 3.25% |
12-Month Low | 3.75% | 3.65% | 3.00% |
Changes per month | 0.16 | 0.16 | 0.08 |
Steadiness | 0.020 | 0.020 | 0.029 |
How to read these metrics(Click to expand)
Trends and speed
- Trend: The general direction of the rate over the analyzed period. Useful for seeing whether a bank is raising its rate or letting it slip.
- Speed of change: How fast the rate moves. A high positive number means they raise rates quickly. A reading of 0.10 is a tenth of a percentage point each month.
- Changes per month: How often the rate moves. A high number means it changes constantly; a low number means it holds.
Risk & Range
- High/Low: The absolute ceiling and floor of the rate during the 364-day window.
- Steadiness: How far the rate swings around its average. A lower score means a steadier, more predictable rate.
- Days Since Change: A high number, for example above 90, means the rate rarely moves. A low number means it changed recently.
Compare Similar High-Yield Accounts
Compare CIT Bank vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
Compare FNBO Direct vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
High Rates (With Checking Bundle)
Looking for something different? Check out these top-rated alternatives.
More Comparisons
Compare CIT Bank's APY of 3.75% with other banks
Compare FNBO Direct's APY of 3.00% with other banks
| Bank Pair | Competitor APY | Min Deposit |
|---|---|---|
| FNBO Direct vs Ally Bank | 3.00% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs American Express | 3.00% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Axos Bank | 4.21% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Barclays | 3.65% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Capital One | 3.50% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Chime | 3.75% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs EverBank | 3.90% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs | 3.40% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Newtek Bank | 4.20% | $100 |
| FNBO Direct vs Openbank | 3.80% | $500 |
| FNBO Direct vs Pibank | 4.10% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs SoFi Bank | 4.00% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Synchrony Bank | 3.30% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Varo Bank | 3.75% | $0 |
| FNBO Direct vs Wealthfront | 3.95% | $0 |