Openbank vs. UFB Direct
Openbank's High-Yield Savings Account pays 3.80% APY while UFB Direct's UFB Checking and Savings Bundle pays 3.46% APY.
Note: UFB Direct's UFB Checking and Savings Bundle also needs a checking account.
See how they compare on rate stability, mobile app ratings, and more below.
The Bottom Line
Who pays more interest on $10,000? Openbank pays $34 more than UFB Direct annually ($380 vs $346).
Choose Openbank if getting the best rate matters most, or you want a no-strings-attached account.
Important Considerations
UFB Direct's UFB Checking and Savings Bundle pays its top rate only if you also open a checking account with UFB Direct, while Openbank's High-Yield Savings Account stands alone.
| Metric | OpenbankHigh-Yield Savings Account Sep 4, 2026 | UFB DirectUFB Checking and Savings Bundle Sep 4, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.80% | 3.46% |
Earns in a year | $5,000+$190 $10,000+$380 $25,000+$950 | $5,000+$0 $10,000+$346 $25,000+$865 |
Min. Deposit | $500 | $5,000 |
Snapshot view. Rates subject to change. | ||
Terms | - | The regular savings or money market APY may be boosted by direct deposits, minimum balance of $10,000 and making 10 approved debit card transactions per statement cycle. The checking account also earns interest. See bank for full details. |
| Features | FDIC InsuredLow MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppStable Rate | FDIC InsuredHigh MinimumGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppDirect Deposit ReqChecking BundleDaily CompoundingRate Changes Often |
Market Reality Check
Both of these institutions offer rates below the top 10 savings and money market accounts we track. Those institutions all pay at least 4.01% APY.
Comparison Analysis
Comparing Openbank vs. UFB Direct
Executive Summary
Openbank offers a High-Yield Savings Account with a competitive APY of 3.80%, making it the better choice compared to UFB Direct's offerings. The UFB Portfolio Savings account provides a lower APY of 3.26%. Openbank's account requires a minimum deposit of $50,000 but has no direct deposit requirement, while UFB Direct's accounts include options that may require a checking account or direct deposits for higher rates. Both banks are online-only and have no maintenance fees, but Openbank stands out with its higher yield.
The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records
* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.
Why Openbank?
- Higher potential APY (3.80% vs 3.26%-3.46%) on all balances
Why UFB Direct?
- Offers an interest-bearing checking account in addition to the savings APY
- Access to over 90,000 fee-free ATMs
- Offers 2 different high-yield savings options
Key Feature Differences
Better Returns at $10,000
OpenbankOpenbank's High-Yield Savings Account earns more on smaller deposits (approx. $380 vs $346/yr).
Better Returns at $25,000
OpenbankOpenbank's High-Yield Savings Account pulls ahead with larger amounts (approx. $950 vs $865/yr).
Better for Simplicity
OpenbankOpenbank's High-Yield Savings Account offers 3.80% APY with no bundling, direct deposit requirement or caps.
Shared Benefits
Over a 1-year period, Openbank's High-Yield Savings Account pays $34 more interest on a $10,000 balance than UFB Direct's UFB Checking and Savings Bundle.
*This calculation assumes current rates remain consistent for 1 year and does not include temporary bonuses.
Non-sponsored link to official site
* Secure link to our partner
Top Market Contenders
Openbank vs. UFB Direct Savings Calculator
You earn $34 more with Openbank than UFB Direct on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.
*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.
Openbank
High-Yield Savings Account
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$380.00(3.7%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,380.00
UFB Direct
UFB Checking and Savings Bundle
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$346.00(3.3%)
- Total Contributions$0
- Initial Deposit$10,000
Projected Balance
$10,346.00
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
Still at a large branch bank?
A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $341 a year in interest.
Both Openbank and UFB Direct advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.
| Feature | Openbank | UFB Direct |
|---|---|---|
| APY | 3.80% Observed: 9/4/2026 Stable over 90 days | 3.46% Observed: 9/4/2026 Stable over 90 days |
| Product Name | High-Yield Savings Account | UFB Checking and Savings Bundle |
| Minimum Deposit | $500 | $5,000 |
| Min. Balance for APY | $0 | $10,000 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 | $0 |
| Compound Frequency | Monthly | Daily |
| In-Branch Access | No | No |
| Account Type | Online Only | Online Only |
| Physical Branches | Not reported | Not reported |
| Direct Deposit Req. | None | Required |
| Checking Bundle | No | Yes |
| Mobile Apps | ||
| FDIC or NCUA Insured | YesVerify FDIC | YesVerify FDIC |
| Zelle® Support | Not Supported | Not Supported |
| BBB Rating | Not Rated | A+ |
| Important Notes | - | The regular savings or money market APY may be boosted by direct deposits, minimum balance of $10,000 and making 10 approved debit card transactions per statement cycle. The checking account also earns interest. See bank for full details. |
| Next Steps | Visit SiteVerify at Openbank Non-sponsored link to official site | Visit SiteGo to UFB Direct * Secure link to our partner |
Compare Savings Rates Over Time
Historical Performance
| Metric | Openbank | UFB Direct | |
|---|---|---|---|
| High-Yield Savings Account | UFB Portfolio Savings | UFB Checking and Savings Bundle | |
Current APY | 3.80% | 3.26% | 3.46% |
Trend | Stable | Stable | Stable |
Speed of change | -0.02 | -0.11 | -0.12 |
Days Since Change | 93 | 241 | 241 |
12-Month High | 4.20% | 4.01% | 4.21% |
12-Month Low | 3.80% | 3.26% | 3.46% |
Changes per month | 0.25 | 0.41 | 0.41 |
Steadiness | 0.013 | 0.062 | 0.058 |
How to read these metrics(Click to expand)
Trends and speed
- Trend: The general direction of the rate over the analyzed period. Useful for seeing whether a bank is raising its rate or letting it slip.
- Speed of change: How fast the rate moves. A high positive number means they raise rates quickly. A reading of 0.10 is a tenth of a percentage point each month.
- Changes per month: How often the rate moves. A high number means it changes constantly; a low number means it holds.
Risk & Range
- High/Low: The absolute ceiling and floor of the rate during the 364-day window.
- Steadiness: How far the rate swings around its average. A lower score means a steadier, more predictable rate.
- Days Since Change: A high number, for example above 90, means the rate rarely moves. A low number means it changed recently.
Compare Similar Alternatives
Compare Openbank vs...
Comparing against Standard Savings
Compare UFB Direct vs...
Comparing against other Bundled Accounts
More Comparisons
Compare Openbank's APY of 3.80% with other banks
Compare UFB Direct's APY of 3.46% with other banks
| Bank Pair | Competitor APY | Min Deposit |
|---|---|---|
| UFB Direct vs Ally Bank | 3.00% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs American Express | 3.00% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Axos Bank | 4.21% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Barclays | 3.65% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Capital One | 3.50% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Chime | 3.75% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs CIT Bank | 3.75% | $100 |
| UFB Direct vs EverBank | 3.90% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Marcus by Goldman Sachs | 3.40% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Newtek Bank | 4.20% | $100 |
| UFB Direct vs Pibank | 4.10% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs SoFi Bank | 4.00% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Synchrony Bank | 3.30% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Varo Bank | 3.75% | $0 |
| UFB Direct vs Wealthfront | 3.95% | $0 |