Skip to main content
High-Yield Savings Account Comparison

Ivy Bank vs. Openbank

Ivy Bank edges out Openbank slightly at 3.85% vs 3.80% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the difference is just $5 per year, so other factors may matter more.

Analysis by Aviel Fahl
Newest reading September 14, 2026

The Bottom Line

The Ivy Bank and Openbank savings accounts are very similar. Choose Openbank if you're an Android user (no Android app for Ivy Bank).

Comparison of Ivy Bank vs Openbank savings accounts
Metric

Ivy Bank

High-Yield Savings Account

Sep 14, 2026

Openbank

High-Yield Savings Account

Sep 14, 2026
APY3.85%3.80%
Earns in a year
$5,000+$193
$10,000+$385
$25,000+$963
$5,000+$190
$10,000+$380
$25,000+$950
Min. Deposit
$2,500$500

Snapshot view. Rates subject to change.

Features
FDIC InsuredMod. MinimumGreat iOS AppDaily CompoundingStable Rate
FDIC InsuredLow MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppStable Rate

Market Reality Check

Both of these institutions offer rates below the top 10 savings and money market accounts we track. Those institutions all pay at least 4.20% APY.

See the highest rates

Comparison Analysis

Comparing Ivy Bank vs. Openbank

Newest reading:

Executive Summary

Ivy Bank last changed on February 18, 2026, down 15 basis points. Openbank last changed on June 3, 2026, down 20 basis points. Ivy Bank paid 2.77% on average on savings and money market deposits. Its savings account offers 3.85%. Openbank paid 2.62% on average on savings and money market deposits. Its savings account offers 3.80%. At a balance of $10,000, Ivy Bank leads, with a gap of 5 basis points since June 3, 2026.

The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records

* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.

Why Ivy Bank?

No distinct advantages found vs Openbank.

Why Openbank?

  • Higher rated Android app (4.3 vs 0.0)

Key Feature Differences

Better Mobile App Experience
Openbank

Openbank offers an iOS app rated 4.7 (vs. 4.6) and Android app rated 4.3 (vs. 0.0)

Shared Benefits

Both offer monthly maintenance-free account options Available Nationwide Available to New & Existing Customers
The Bottom Line on APY (Interest Only)

Over a 1-year period, Ivy Bank's High-Yield Savings Account pays $5 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Openbank's High-Yield Savings Account.

*This calculation assumes current rates remain consistent for 1 year and does not include temporary bonuses.

OpenbankIvy Bank
Verify At
Ivy Bank

Non-sponsored link to official site

Verify At
Openbank

Non-sponsored link to official site

Top Market Contenders

Ally Bank
3.00% APY
CIT Bank
3.75% APY
American Express
3.00% APY

Ivy Bank vs. Openbank Savings Calculator

Calculations based on current APY for High-Yield Savings Account and High-Yield Savings Account
$
$

You earn $5 more with Ivy Bank than Openbank on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.

*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.

Ivy Bank

High-Yield Savings Account

3.85% APY

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$385.00(3.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $0
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$10,385.00

Effective APY
3.85%

Openbank

High-Yield Savings Account

3.80% APY

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$380.00(3.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $0
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$10,380.00

Effective APY
3.80%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

Still at a large branch bank?

A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $375 a year in interest.

Both Ivy Bank and Openbank advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.

0.05% APY at a typical branch bank, against 3.80%+ here
See the highest rates
FeatureIvy BankOpenbank
APY
3.85%
Observed: 9/14/2026
Stable over 90 days
3.80%
Observed: 9/14/2026
Stable over 90 days
Product NameHigh-Yield Savings AccountHigh-Yield Savings Account
Minimum Deposit$2,500$500
Min. Balance for APY$2,500$0
Monthly Fee$0$0
Compound FrequencyDailyMonthly
In-Branch AccessNoNo
Account Type
Online Only
Online Only
Physical BranchesNot reportedNot reported
Direct Deposit Req.NoneNone
Checking BundleNoNo
Mobile Apps
iOS4.6
Android-
iOS4.7
Android4.3
FDIC or NCUA Insured
Zelle® Support
Not Supported
Not Supported
BBB RatingA-Not Rated
Next Steps
Visit Site

Non-sponsored link to official site

Visit Site

Non-sponsored link to official site

What each bank pays on deposits

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

Ivy Bank

2.77%
Q2 2026 ·
3.85% APY
As observed Sep 14, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Cambridge Savings Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 90% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.80%
Q2 2026 ·
$5.4B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
17.5%
Q2 2026

What Ivy Bank actually pays

Each figure is that bank's own charter-level average across its whole deposit book, so the two are shown one after the other and are not a ranking.

Openbank

2.62%
Q2 2026 ·
3.80% APY
As observed Sep 14, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Santander Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 87% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.64%
Q2 2026 ·
$84.4B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
21.6%
Q2 2026

What Openbank actually pays

How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

CD rates, term by term

Openbank has no CD listed on Banksparency. Ivy Bank lists 6 CD terms, from 3 to 60 months. Its highest rate is 4.05% APY on the 12-month CD. Each row below is one term, with the FDIC national average for that term beside it.

TermIvy Bank FDIC average (Aug 2026)
12 months4.05% APY$1,000 minimum1.71%
3 months4.00% APY$1,000 minimum1.14%
6 months3.75% APY$1,000 minimum1.41%
24 months3.00% APY$1,000 minimum1.57%
36 months2.75% APY$1,000 minimum1.34%
60 months2.50% APY$1,000 minimum1.36%

Openbank: no CD listed on Banksparency.

FDIC national averages

Compare Savings Rates Over Time

Historical Performance

Last 10 Months Analysis
MetricIvy BankOpenbank
High-Yield Savings AccountHigh-Yield Savings Account
Current APY
3.85%3.80%
Trend
Stable Stable
Speed of change
-0.06-0.04
Days Since Change
208103
10-Month High
4.25%4.20%
10-Month Low
3.85%3.80%
Changes per month
0.300.30
Steadiness
0.0240.017
How to read these metrics(Click to expand)

Trends and speed

  • Trend: The general direction of the rate over the analyzed period. Useful for seeing whether a bank is raising its rate or letting it slip.
  • Speed of change: How fast the rate moves. A high positive number means they raise rates quickly. A reading of 0.10 is a tenth of a percentage point each month.
  • Changes per month: How often the rate moves. A high number means it changes constantly; a low number means it holds.

Risk & Range

  • High/Low: The absolute ceiling and floor of the rate during the 305-day window.
  • Steadiness: How far the rate swings around its average. A lower score means a steadier, more predictable rate.
  • Days Since Change: A high number, for example above 90, means the rate rarely moves. A low number means it changed recently.

More Comparisons

Compare Ivy Bank's APY of 3.85% with other banks
Compare Openbank's APY of 3.80% with other banks