Skip to main content
High-Yield Savings Account Comparison

Bask Bank vs. Openbank

Openbank edges out Bask Bank slightly at 3.80% vs 3.75% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the difference is just $5 per year, so other factors may matter more.

Analysis by Aviel Fahl
Newest reading September 11, 2026

The Bottom Line

The Bask Bank and Openbank savings accounts are very similar. Choose Bask Bank if you want Zelle for quick transfers.

Comparison of Bask Bank vs Openbank savings accounts
Metric

Bask Bank

Interest Savings Account

Sep 11, 2026

Openbank

High-Yield Savings Account

Sep 11, 2026
APY3.75%3.80%
Earns in a year
$5,000+$188
$10,000+$375
$25,000+$938
$5,000+$190
$10,000+$380
$25,000+$950
Min. Deposit
$0$500

Snapshot view. Rates subject to change.

Features
FDIC InsuredNo MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppZelle® SupportedDaily CompoundingRate Changes Often
FDIC InsuredLow MinimumsGreat iOS AppGreat Android AppStable Rate

Market Reality Check

Both of these institutions offer rates below the top 10 savings and money market accounts we track. Those institutions all pay at least 4.01% APY.

See the highest rates

Comparison Analysis

Comparing Bask Bank vs. Openbank

Newest reading:

Executive Summary

Bask Bank offers an Interest Savings Account with a competitive APY of 3.75%. This account requires no minimum deposit or balance and has no maintenance fees, making it accessible for all users. In comparison, Openbank provides a High-Yield Savings Account with a slightly higher APY of 3.80%, but it requires a minimum deposit of $50,000. Both accounts are online-only and do not require direct deposit, allowing for flexibility in managing funds. Overall, while Openbank has a marginally higher APY, the accessibility of Bask Bank's account may appeal to a wider audience.

The analysis is based on current Banksparency database records

* This content is provided for informational purposes only; always verify details with the provider.

Why Bask Bank?

  • Fast transfers via Zelle®

Why Openbank?

No distinct advantages found vs Bask Bank.

Shared Benefits

Both offer monthly maintenance-free account options Available Nationwide Available to New & Existing Customers
The Bottom Line on APY (Interest Only)

Over a 1-year period, Openbank's High-Yield Savings Account pays $5 more interest on a $10,000 balance than Bask Bank's Interest Savings Account.

*This calculation assumes current rates remain consistent for 1 year and does not include temporary bonuses.

Bask BankOpenbank
Verify At
Bask Bank

Non-sponsored link to official site

Verify At
Openbank

Non-sponsored link to official site

Top Market Contenders

Ally Bank
3.00% APY
Synchrony Bank
3.30% APY
Marcus by Goldman Sachs
3.40% APY

Bask Bank vs. Openbank Savings Calculator

Calculations based on current APY for Interest Savings Account and High-Yield Savings Account
$
$

You earn $5 more with Openbank than Bask Bank on a $10,000 initial deposit for 1 year*.

*This calculation assumes that APYs remain unchanged for 1 year, and takes into account known promo rate periods, but does not factor in bonuses. You can see how often these banks have changed their rates in the Compare Savings Rates Over Time section below.

Bask Bank

Interest Savings Account

3.75% APY

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$375.00(3.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $0
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$10,375.00

Effective APY
3.75%

Openbank

High-Yield Savings Account

3.80% APY

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$380.00(3.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $0
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$10,380.00

Effective APY
3.80%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

Still at a large branch bank?

A typical branch-bank savings rate is 0.05% APY. On a $10,000 balance, the gap to these two banks is at least $370 a year in interest.

Both Bask Bank and Openbank advertise far more than that typical branch-bank rate.

0.05% APY at a typical branch bank, against 3.75%+ here
See the highest rates
FeatureBask BankOpenbank
APY
3.75%
Observed: 9/11/2026
0.25%90-day change
3.80%
Observed: 9/11/2026
Stable over 90 days
Product NameInterest Savings AccountHigh-Yield Savings Account
Minimum Deposit$0$500
Min. Balance for APY$0$0
Monthly Fee$0$0
Compound FrequencyDailyMonthly
In-Branch AccessNoNo
Account Type
Online Only
Online Only
Physical BranchesNot reportedNot reported
Direct Deposit Req.NoneNone
Checking BundleNoNo
Mobile Apps
iOS4.7
Android4.6
iOS4.7
Android4.4
FDIC or NCUA Insured
Zelle® Support
Available
Available for Interest Checking; not for standalone savings.
Not Supported
BBB RatingBNot Rated
Next Steps
Visit Site

Non-sponsored link to official site

Visit Site

Non-sponsored link to official site

Compare Savings Rates Over Time

Historical Performance

Last 12 Months Analysis
MetricBask BankOpenbank
Interest Savings AccountHigh-Yield Savings Account
Current APY
3.75%3.80%
Trend
Stable Stable
Speed of change
-0.05-0.02
Days Since Change
129100
12-Month High
4.15%4.20%
12-Month Low
3.75%3.80%
Changes per month
0.410.25
Steadiness
0.0320.013
How to read these metrics(Click to expand)

Trends and speed

  • Trend: The general direction of the rate over the analyzed period. Useful for seeing whether a bank is raising its rate or letting it slip.
  • Speed of change: How fast the rate moves. A high positive number means they raise rates quickly. A reading of 0.10 is a tenth of a percentage point each month.
  • Changes per month: How often the rate moves. A high number means it changes constantly; a low number means it holds.

Risk & Range

  • High/Low: The absolute ceiling and floor of the rate during the 364-day window.
  • Steadiness: How far the rate swings around its average. A lower score means a steadier, more predictable rate.
  • Days Since Change: A high number, for example above 90, means the rate rarely moves. A low number means it changed recently.

More Comparisons

Compare Bask Bank's APY of 3.75% with other banks
Compare Openbank's APY of 3.80% with other banks