Skip to main content

Union Bank and Trust Company savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 13421Assets $9.2B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 10, 2026

Union Bank and Trust Company advertises 0.30% APY on its Simply Savings account. That is 0.08 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #411 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #336.

Estimate your earnings·What Union Bank and Trust Company actually pays

Key facts

Union Bank and Trust Company at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.30% · Simply Savings
Minimum to open$0 · Simply Savings
Against the national average0.08 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.90% · 24 months · 24 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 24 months CD
Against the national average2.33 percentage points above the 1.57% FDIC 24-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.83% · Value Edge Money Market · needs at least $500,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Value Edge Money Market
Against the national average2.20 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Union Bank and Trust Company bank facts
FDIC certificate13421 · Lincoln, NE
Websitewww.ubt.com
Branches37 branches in CO, KS, NE
AvailabilityAvailable in CO, KS, NE
Rates

Union Bank and Trust Company savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.83% APY
Value Edge Money Market
Needs at least $500,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.71% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
1.24% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
1.82% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.08% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.32% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
2.83% APY on balances $500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to1.46% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $25,000

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.86% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999
1.26% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
1.46% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.30% APY
Simply Savings Student
Student Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.30% APY
Simply Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.90% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

1.97% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Union Bank and Trust Company CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
6 months3.80%$1,0006 Month CD
7 months1.66%$1,0007 Month CD
8 months1.71%$1,0008 Month CD
9 months1.71%$1,0009 Month CD
10 months1.76%$1,00010 Month CD
10 months3.55%$10,00010 Month Access CD
11 months1.76%$1,00011 Month CD
12 months3.85%$1,00012 Month CD
13 months1.81%$1,00013 Month CD
15 months1.81%$1,00015 Month CD
15 months1.81%$10,00015 Month Access CD
16 months1.86%$1,00016 Month CD
17 months1.86%$1,00017 Month CD
18 months1.86%$1,00018 Month CD
19 months1.91%$1,00019 Month CD
20 months1.91%$1,00020 Month CD
23 months1.91%$1,00023 Month CD
24 months3.90%$1,00024 Month CD
27 months2.02%$1,00027 Month CD
30 months2.22%$1,00030 Month CD
36 months2.27%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months2.27%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months2.32%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
18 months1.97%$018 Month Variable IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Union Bank and Trust Company

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.10% to 1.46% APY across 4 balance tiers.
0.10% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.86% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999
1.26% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
1.46% APY on balances $25,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$392.60(2.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,392.60

Effective APY
1.04%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Union Bank and Trust Company pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.98%
Q1 2026 ·
0.30% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Union Bank and Trust Company paid a higher average rate than 84% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$7.6B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
12.6%
Q1 2026
$9.2B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Union Bank and Trust Company, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Health Savings Account1.46%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Simply Savings Student0.30%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Simply Savings0.30%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Value Edge Money Market2.83%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
6 Month CD6 months3.80%$1,000not statednot stated
7 Month CD7 months1.66%$1,000not statednot stated
8 Month CD8 months1.71%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months1.71%$1,000not statednot stated
10 Month CD10 months1.76%$1,000not statednot stated
10 Month Access CD10 months3.55%$10,000not statednot stated
11 Month CD11 months1.76%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.85%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD13 months1.81%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months1.81%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month Access CD15 months1.81%$10,000not statednot stated
16 Month CD16 months1.86%$1,000not statednot stated
17 Month CD17 months1.86%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.86%$1,000not statednot stated
19 Month CD19 months1.91%$1,000not statednot stated
20 Month CD20 months1.91%$1,000not statednot stated
23 Month CD23 months1.91%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.90%$1,000not statednot stated
27 Month CD27 months2.02%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months2.22%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months2.27%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months2.27%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months2.32%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
18 Month Variable IRA18 months1.97%$0not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CO, KS, NE
Footprint37 branches in CO, KS, NE
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Union Bank and Trust Company behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Simply Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.30% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Simply Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
24 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Value Edge Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 10, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.30% APY Union Bank and Trust Company advertises on Simply Savings grows to $10,030 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,704 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Union Bank and Trust Company CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Union Bank and Trust Company?

HeadquartersLincoln, NE
Founded1917
Scale$9.2B assets · $7.6B deposits, $6.6B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 13421

Financial detail is in What Union Bank and Trust Company pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Union Bank and Trust Company

Is Union Bank and Trust Company FDIC insured?

Yes. Union Bank and Trust Company is FDIC insured under certificate 13421, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Union Bank and Trust Company?

Union Bank and Trust Company requires no minimum deposit to open its Simply Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Union Bank and Trust Company have branches?

Yes. Union Bank and Trust Company operates 37 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Union Bank and Trust Company against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Union Bank and Trust Company2.83%2.98%$1,00037 branches in CO, KS, NE
American Bank1.50%2.98%$11 branch in PA
Citizens Bank1.50%2.15%$1,00011 branches in WI
Dundee Bank3.50%3.48%$50,0004 branches in NE

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Union Bank and Trust Company's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates