Skip to main content

San Luis Valley Federal Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 28208Assets $390M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

San Luis Valley Federal Bank advertises 0.30% APY on its Chipmunk Savings account. That is 0.07 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1107 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #933. The advertised rate has not changed in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Estimate your earnings·What San Luis Valley Federal Bank actually pays

Key facts

San Luis Valley Federal Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.30% · Chipmunk Savings
Minimum to open$1 · Chipmunk Savings
Against the national average0.07 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY2.29% · 3 months · 3 Months CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 3 months CD
Against the national average1.16 percentage points above the 1.13% FDIC 3-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.42% · Premium Insured Money Market · needs at least $100,000 · checking account required
Minimum to open$1,000 · Premium Insured Money Market
Against the national average0.21 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
San Luis Valley Federal Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate28208 · Alamosa, CO
Websitewww.slvfed.bank
Branches3 branches in CO
AvailabilityAvailable in CO
Rates

San Luis Valley Federal Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Up to0.42% APY
Premium Insured Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $1,000 - $99,999.99
0.42% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to0.40% APY
Insured Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $1,000 - $99,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.30% APY
Chipmunk Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.25% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.17% APY
SLVFB Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
2.29% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

San Luis Valley Federal Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months2.29%$1,0003 Months CD
6 months1.70%$1,0006 Months CD
12 months1.20%$1,0001 Year CD
24 months1.11%$1,0002 Years CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for San Luis Valley Federal Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$112.20(0.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,112.20

Effective APY
0.30%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What San Luis Valley Federal Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.03%
Q2 2026 ·
0.30% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, San Luis Valley Federal Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 34% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

0.73%
Q2 2026 ·
$318M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
23.9%
Q2 2026
$390M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • San Luis Valley Federal Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Chipmunk Savings0.30%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Health Savings Account0.25%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
SLVFB Savings0.17%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Premium Insured Money Market0.42%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statedChecking accountTiered
Insured Money Market0.40%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 Months CD3 months2.29%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Months CD6 months1.70%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months1.20%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Years CD24 months1.11%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CO
Footprint3 branches in CO
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How San Luis Valley Federal Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Chipmunk Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.30% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

San Luis Valley Federal Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Chipmunk Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
3 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premium Insured Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 0.30% APY San Luis Valley Federal Bank advertises on Chipmunk Savings grows to $10,030 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,700 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

San Luis Valley Federal Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is San Luis Valley Federal Bank?

HeadquartersAlamosa, CO
Founded1899
Scale$390M assets · $318M deposits, $242M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 28208
Charter stateColorado · one of 63 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size2,147th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 51% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What San Luis Valley Federal Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about San Luis Valley Federal Bank

Is San Luis Valley Federal Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. San Luis Valley Federal Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 28208, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at San Luis Valley Federal Bank?

San Luis Valley Federal Bank requires a minimum deposit of $1 to open its Chipmunk Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does San Luis Valley Federal Bank have branches?

Yes. San Luis Valley Federal Bank operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

San Luis Valley Federal Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
San Luis Valley Federal Bank0.30%1.03%$13 branches in CO
Access Bank0.30%2.75%$1006 branches in NE
Ambler Savings Bank0.30%1.59%$507 branches in PA
Artisans' Bank0.30%0.91%$1,00013 branches in DE

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to San Luis Valley Federal Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Colorado, nearest to San Luis Valley Federal Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates