Skip to main content

THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 6636Assets $1.6B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 2, 2026

THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK advertises 0.05% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.33 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #368 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #351.

Estimate your earnings·What THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK actually pays

Key facts

THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.05% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.33 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.70% · 17 months · 17 Month CD
Minimum to open$2,500 · 17 months CD
Money market
Top money market APY3.00% · Rate Watchers Money Market Account · needs at least $75,000
Minimum to open$25,000 · Rate Watchers Money Market Account
Against the national average2.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK bank facts
FDIC certificate6636 · Mcarthur, OH
Websitewww.vcnbfamily.bank
Branches17 branches in OH
AvailabilityAvailable in OH
Rates

THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

3.00% APY
Rate Watchers Money Market Account
Needs at least $75,000
$25,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
2.65% APY on balances $25,000 - $74,999.99
3.00% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
1.51% APY
Velocity Money Market Account
Needs at least $1,000,000
$75,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $74,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $75,000 - $249,999.99
1.26% APY on balances $250,000 - $999,999.99
1.51% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
Up to1.00% APY
Hi Fi Money Market Account
Needs at least $250,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.30% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $1,000

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.30% APY on balances $1,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.05% APY
Passbook Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.05% APY
Minor Savings
Youth Savings
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
3.70% APY
Highest CD · 17 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

IRA

0.40% APY
Savings IRA
Needs at least $10,000

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $4,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $5,000 - $9,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months3.35%$1,0006 Month CD
7 months2.50%$1,0007 Month CD
8 months2.50%$1,0008 Month CD
9 months2.50%$1,0009 Month CD
10 months2.50%$1,00010 Month CD
12 months3.70%$2,50012 Month CD
15 months2.50%$1,00015 Month CD
17 months3.70%$2,50017 Month CD
24 months3.05%$1,00024 Month CD
36 months2.50%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months2.50%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months2.50%$1,00060 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.05% ($0 - $999.99), 0.30% ($1,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$112.20(0.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,112.20

Effective APY
0.30%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.31%
Q1 2026 ·
0.05% APY
As observed Sep 2, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK paid a higher average rate than 52% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$1.4B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
18.6%
Q1 2026
$1.6B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account0.30%not stated$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Passbook Savings0.05%$100$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
Minor Savings0.05%not stated$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
Rate Watchers Money Market Account3.00%$25,000$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Velocity Money Market Account1.51%$75,000$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Hi Fi Money Market Account1.00%$1,000$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
IRA
Savings IRA0.40%not stated$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6 Month CD6 months3.35%$1,000not statednot stated
7 Month CD7 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
8 Month CD8 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
10 Month CD10 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.70%$2,500not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
17 Month CD17 months3.70%$2,500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.05%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in OH
Footprint17 branches in OH
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.05% (observed through Sep 2, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Passbook Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
17 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate Watchers Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 18, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.05% APY THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,005 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,680 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK?

HeadquartersMcarthur, OH
Founded1867
Scale$1.6B assets · $1.4B deposits, $1.1B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 6636

Financial detail is in What THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK

Is THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK FDIC insured?

Yes. THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK is FDIC insured under certificate 6636, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK?

THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK have branches?

Yes. THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK operates 17 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK3.00%2.31%$25,00017 branches in OH
First State Bank of Campbell Hill0.30%1.55%$1003 branches in IL
West Central Bank2.47%1.92%$256 branches in IL
Central Penn Bank & Trust1.25%2.15%not stated14 branches in PA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to THE VINTON COUNTY NATIONAL BANK's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates