Skip to main content

Old Second National Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 3603Assets $6.9B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Old Second National Bank advertises up to 0.05% APY on its O2 Money Builder Savings account. The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.02%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.02% overall, about $2 in a year, which is 0.35 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1702 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1808.

Estimate your earnings·What Old Second National Bank actually pays

Key facts

Old Second National Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.05% · O2 Money Builder Savings · needs at least $50,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · O2 Money Builder Savings
Against the national average0.32 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.50% · 8 months · CD Special 8 Month
Minimum to open$1,000 · 8 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.25% · O2 Money Manager Money Market · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$5,000 · O2 Money Manager Money Market
Against the national average0.38 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Old Second National Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate3603 · Aurora, IL
Websitewww.oldsecond.com
Branches57 branches in IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Rates

Old Second National Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Up to0.25% APY
O2 Money Manager Money Market
Needs at least $100,000
$5,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $5,000 - $25,000
0.20% APY on balances $25,000 - $100,000
0.25% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.05% APY
O2 Money Builder Savings
Needs at least $50,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.02% APY on balances $1,000 - $50,000
0.05% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.02% APY
Junior Savers
Youth Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.02% APY
Regular Savings
$250 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.50% APY
Highest CD · 8 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Old Second National Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3-11 months0.05%not stated3 - 11 Month CD
6 months3.50%$1,000CD Special 6 Month
8 months3.50%$1,000CD Special 8 Month
11 months3.25%$1,000CD Special 11 Month
12-29 months0.10%not stated12 - 29 Month CD
30-35 months0.15%not stated30 - 35 Month CD
36-59 months0.20%not stated36 - 59 Month CD
60 months0.25%not stated60 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Old Second National Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.02% ($1,000 - $50,000), 0.05% ($50,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$7.50(0.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,007.50

Effective APY
0.02%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Old Second National Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.28%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to0.05% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.02%.

In Q2 2026, Old Second National Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 43% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.46%
Q2 2026 ·
$5.5B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
32.4%
Q2 2026
$6.9B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Old Second National Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
O2 Money Builder Savings0.05%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Junior Savers0.02%$10$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
Regular Savings0.02%$250$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
O2 Money Manager Money Market0.25%$5,000$5,000Nonenot statedNoneTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 - 11 Month CD3-11 months0.05%not statednot statednot stated
CD Special 6 Month6 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
CD Special 8 Month8 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
CD Special 11 Month11 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
12 - 29 Month CD12-29 months0.10%not statednot statednot stated
30 - 35 Month CD30-35 months0.15%not statednot statednot stated
36 - 59 Month CD36-59 months0.20%not statednot statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months0.25%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Footprint57 branches in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Old Second National Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised O2 Money Builder Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.05% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

O2 Money Builder Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
8 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
O2 Money Manager Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 1, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.05% APY Old Second National Bank advertises on O2 Money Builder Savings grows to $10,005 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,676 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Old Second National Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Old Second National Bank?

HeadquartersAurora, IL
Founded1887
Scale$6.9B assets · $5.5B deposits, $3.7B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 3603

Financial detail is in What Old Second National Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Old Second National Bank

Is Old Second National Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Old Second National Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 3603, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Old Second National Bank?

Old Second National Bank requires a minimum deposit of $1,000 to open its O2 Money Builder Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.05% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.05% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.02%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does Old Second National Bank have branches?

Yes. Old Second National Bank operates 57 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Old Second National Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Old Second National Bank0.25%1.28%$5,00057 branches in IL
Arrow Bank National Association0.05%2.21%$50057 branches in NY
Bankesb0.30%1.34%$1,00056 branches in CT, MA, NH
Bankhometown0.30%1.06%$1,00015 branches in CT, MA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Old Second National Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates