Skip to main content

Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 30976Assets $199M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association advertises 0.10% APY on its Passbook & Statement Savings Account. That is 0.27 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1391 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1275.

Estimate your earnings·What Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association actually pays

Key facts

Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Passbook & Statement Savings Account
Minimum to open$1 · Passbook & Statement Savings Account
Against the national average0.27 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.41% · 12 months · 12 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 12 months CD
Against the national average1.68 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.01% · Money Market Checking · needs at least $50,000.01
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Checking
Against the national average0.38 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association bank facts
FDIC certificate30976 · Gouverneur, NY
Websitewww.gouverneurbank.com
Branches4 branches in NY
AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Rates

Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to1.01% APY
Money Market Checking
Needs at least $50,000.01
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $10,000
0.75% APY on balances $10,000.01 - $50,000
1.01% APY on balances $50,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.10% APY
Passbook & Statement Savings Account
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.10% APY
Vacation Club Account
Club Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.10% APY
Holiday Club Account
Club Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.41% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

3.41% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
6 months3.20%$2,5006 Month CD
12 months3.41%$1,00012 Month CD
15 months2.02%$1,50015 Month CD
24 months1.01%$2,50024 Month CD
36 months1.77%$2,50036 Month CD
48 months0.90%$2,50048 Month CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.41%$50012 Month IRA CD
15 months2.05%$50015 Month IRA CD
24 months1.02%$50024 Month IRA CD
36 months1.80%$50036 Month IRA CD
48 months0.92%$50048 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.27%
Q2 2026 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 7% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

0.99%
Q2 2026 ·
$158M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
11.8%
Q2 2026
$199M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Passbook & Statement Savings Account0.10%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Vacation Club Account0.10%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Holiday Club Account0.10%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Checking1.01%$2,500$0NoneNo monthly service charge with $2501.00 daily balancenot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
6 Month CD6 months3.20%$2,500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.41%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months2.02%$1,500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months1.01%$2,500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.77%$2,500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months0.90%$2,500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month IRA CD12 months3.41%$500not statednot stated
15 Month IRA CD15 months2.05%$500not statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months1.02%$500not statednot stated
36 Month IRA CD36 months1.80%$500not statednot stated
48 Month IRA CD48 months0.92%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Footprint4 branches in NY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook & Statement Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Rate last changed
Sep 10, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association advertises on Passbook & Statement Savings Account grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,681 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association?

HeadquartersGouverneur, NY
Founded1892
Scale$199M assets · $158M deposits, $139M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 30976

Financial detail is in What Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association

Is Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association FDIC insured?

Yes. Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association is FDIC insured under certificate 30976, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association?

Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association requires a minimum deposit of $1 to open its Passbook & Statement Savings Account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association have branches?

Yes. Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association1.01%0.27%$2,5004 branches in NY
Alliance Bank1.00%1.33%not stated7 branches in IN
Andover State Bank0.55%2.23%not stated2 branches in KS
Bank of Lake Mills3.82%2.69%$50,0002 branches in WI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Gouverneur Savings and Loan Association's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates