Skip to main content

5Star Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 91005Assets $378M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 26, 2026

5Star Bank advertises 0.60% APY on its Basic Savings account. That is 0.23 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #758 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #576. The advertised rate has not changed in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Estimate your earnings·What 5Star Bank actually pays

Key facts

5Star Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.60% · Basic Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Basic Savings
Against the national average0.23 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY2.55% · 12 months · 1 Year CD/IRA
Minimum to open$1,000 · 12 months CD
Against the national average0.82 percentage points above the 1.73% FDIC 12-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.00% · Money Market · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Money Market
Against the national average1.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
5Star Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate91005 · Colorado Springs, CO
Websitewww.5star.bank
Branches6 branches in CO
AvailabilityAvailable in CO
Rates

5Star Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to2.00% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $1,000,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.40% APY on balances $0 - $9,999
0.60% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999
0.70% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999
1.00% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999
1.15% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999
1.30% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999
1.50% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999
2.00% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
0.60% APY
Basic Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026
2.55% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026

IRA

4.57% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$250 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

5Star Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
6 months2.45%$1,0006 Month CD
12 months2.55%$1,0001 Year CD/IRA
18 months2.45%$1,00018 Month CD/IRA
24 months2.20%$1,0002 Year CD/IRA
30 months2.10%$1,00030 Month CD/IRA
36 months2.00%$1,0003 Year CD/IRA
48 months2.00%$1,0004 Year CD/IRA
60 months2.00%$1,0005 Year CD/IRA
IRA CDs
24 months4.39%$25024 Month Variable IRA
36 months4.44%$25036 Month Variable IRA
60 months4.57%$25060 Month Variable IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for 5Star Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Basic Savings0.60% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$225.20(1.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,225.20

Effective APY
0.60%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What 5Star Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.57%
Q2 2026 ·
0.60% APY
As observed Sep 26, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, 5Star Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 86% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.56%
Q2 2026 ·
$312M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
24.5%
Q2 2026
$378M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • 5Star Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Basic Savings0.60%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market2.00%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
6 Month CD6 months2.45%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD/IRA12 months2.55%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD/IRA18 months2.45%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD/IRA24 months2.20%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD/IRA30 months2.10%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD/IRA36 months2.00%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD/IRA48 months2.00%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD/IRA60 months2.00%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
24 Month Variable IRA24 months4.39%$250not statednot stated
36 Month Variable IRA36 months4.44%$250not statednot stated
60 Month Variable IRA60 months4.57%$250not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CO
Footprint6 branches in CO
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How 5Star Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Basic Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.60% (observed through Sep 26, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

5Star Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Basic Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
12 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 13, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.60% APY 5Star Bank advertises on Basic Savings grows to $10,060 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,729 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

5Star Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is 5Star Bank?

HeadquartersColorado Springs, CO
Founded1980
Scale$378M assets · $312M deposits, $236M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 91005
Charter stateColorado · one of 63 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size2,167th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 2% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What 5Star Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about 5Star Bank

Is 5Star Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. 5Star Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 91005, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at 5Star Bank?

5Star Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Basic Savings account, as observed on Sep 26, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does 5Star Bank have branches?

Yes. 5Star Bank operates 6 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

5Star Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
5Star Bank0.60%2.57%$1006 branches in CO
Alma Bank0.60%2.42%$10,00013 branches in NJ, NY
Chelsea State Bank0.60%0.94%$14 branches in MI
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank0.60%1.36%$1018 branches in MA, RI

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to 5Star Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Colorado, nearest to 5Star Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates